We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly what we were looking for”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunny private rooftop terrace, great for sunbaking with all day sunshine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny private rooftop terrace, great for sunbaking with all day sunshine
Bedroom 1 of 2. Toilet on same level as bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Sunny private rooftop terrace, great for sunbaking with all day sunshine
Bedroom 1 of 2. Toilet on same level as bedroom
Upstairs lounge with satellite TV
Kitchen area
Bathroom. Property has 2 seperate toilet areas to bathroom
Laundry
Bedroom 2 of 2
2 x toilets seperate to main bathroom
Dishwasher in kitchen
Dining area adjacent to kitchen
Modern spiral staircase with handrail
Large Shower area
Exterior of property
Exterior of property
Quiet laneway to property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Olonzac, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bernie W
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is in a quiet rural village some three quarters of an hour by car from the city of Narbonne. It is well presented with good amenities. The area is surrounded by vineyards, wineries and has good access to the nearby mountains and the Mediterranean. Some people may find the quiet location not to their liking but it was exactly what we were looking for. The small spiral staircase would be daunting for some. We enjoyed it so much we hope to return in the bearish future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine D
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing rental house in South of France”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were very impressed with the service we received. The booking process was simple and easy and the house was everything we expected. We felt right at home at the Petit Castel. We enjoyed many walks around Olonzac and appreciated all it's amenities close by. Renting a car is a must if you want to visit the sights. Parking was not an issue, we always had a spot very close to the house. We made many day trips in the surrounding area all within 30 minutes to 1 hour drive. We definitely recommend visiting Carcassonne, Minerve, the Chateaux Lastours and Narbonne. We also enjoyed driving to Gruissan and Narbonne Plage and seeing the Mediterranean sea, the views were spectacular. The Tuesday market in Olonzac is also a must. It starts a few steps outside our front door and goes through the streets of Olonzac. A good place to stock up on vegetables, cheeses, sausages etc. All in all it was a very enjoyable experience and we want to thank Derek, Ross and Veronika for their kindness and great hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to tourist attractions, rooftop terrace
Liked least: Everything was great but if I had to pick something, it would be the staircase.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmnTho
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An exceptional 6 stars out of 5 for Le Petit Castel !”
Reviewed 6 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Bonjour Derek
I have finally got to the computer to compose an email to you. Usually after a busy day I
just collapse.

Initially we spent two weeks in Montpellier which was a great introduction to le Midi. We
stayed in the Old Quarter, then visited Nimes and the Pont du Gard: those Roman towns are the best examples of Roman architecture which I have ever seen. Ahurissant!

We had an eventful trip down to Olonzac last Saturday as "il pleuvait aux cordes"
(excuse the spelling and grammar). Larry (my husband) locked the keys in the car at the G20 supermarket on the route d'Oupia about 45 minutes before the supermarche closed. They stayed open for us which was wonderful. The car mechanic who arrived did not have an electronic opening device - however, he managed with the old flattened coathanger device....and we were off.

Le Petit Castel is everything...and more...that I had hoped for. Il est super bon....très
très très fort....charmant totalement! The location in the middle of Olonzac is very convenient. We are very comfortable and relaxed here; we have internet access and satellite TV and all the :mod cons". Thank you for the welcoming hamper and the fantastic information folder which has helped us plan some of our trips.

We have spent time just simply walking around Olonzac which has been lovely. The school is so quiet (they must drug their children!) and we said "Hello" to the two white swans and the ducks in the parc. We attended the Tuesday markets and bought diabolically good saucisson pistache, couscous, fresh fruits and a cyclamen plant for the lovely G20 staff. The tomatoes we also bought were so sweet and so tasty - I have not tasted anything so good in years!

Then we drove to Minerve. What can I say? The whole town is breathtaking! Just the sheer geographical location...at the junction of the two rivers in that deep gorge.....and the steepness and degree of preservation of the village...were all most impressive. We attended the Musée Hurepel and learnt about the extermination of the Cathars. Then we had a very interesting talk to the monsieur who runs it. Apart from walking around and seeing all the different historical remains, we then had a few words in my very bad French to the 92 year old lady who lives opposite the Hurepel and who knows the history of the town inside out.

The countryside around Olonzac is so green and peaceful and lovely...ah - it is good for the soul!

The French people, both in Paris and in the Midi, have been wonderful....very polite....very
helpful....very tolerant of my lack of French and my accent.

I give Le Petit Castel , as well as France itself, 6 stars that is, 6 out of 5 !

We are going to Homps today for a brief cruise on the Canal du Midi and again "il fait beau".

Will write again.
Regards.

Anne Maree Thomas; 5 October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location together with the excellent level of comfort.
Liked least: As with every place I have ever rented, I would not mind a few more lamps to increase the lighting for my poor eyesight.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterRJ
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great place to stay. It is modern with all appliances that we needed. A real bonus for us was the free Wi Fi and the two TV's with English speaking channels. The village offers places to eat and a supermarket which are not all that common. The weekly market is large and only 30 meters away. The roof top terrace was great place for our evening meal. The place is convenient to many historical villages most being within an hours drive away and a boat ride on the Canal du Midi was excellent and a must do. The local wine was excellent and cheap. The Aussie owners were helpful and we hope to stay longer next time..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, location, free Wi Fi and English TV channels.
Liked least: Stairs: Most of Europe has three levels.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico...
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay in the south of France”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We really had a great time at Le Petit Castel. The booking process was very easy despite the fact we made our reservation just 2 days in advance. The owner provided perfectly accurate information about the house. Once we got there we were welcomed by the owner's father who was very kind, showed us the house around and provided information about the area. They also gave as a present a good bottle of red French wine that we enjoyed on the lovely balcony on the roof (we loved it!)
The house has really everything you need to feel at home....just perfect.
The only thing you need to consider is that the house is on 3 floors connected by a narrow set of staircase: not a problem for us, but could be less suitable for people with disabilities.
The village is lovely and the overall experience is just perfect if you want to relax in the countryside of southern France enjoying a slow paced life, good food and wine. The area is also very beautiful with Carcassonne and the Mediterranean within an easy reach.
We can't recommend this place enough.

Federico & Fulvia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How it is managed
Liked least: The staircase
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing