We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Orfos Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orfos Villas
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed the last week of June 2012 in villa Jogia and it could not have been better. At arrival we were friendly welcomed by Sophia and the housekeeper couple. The villa was spacious, beautiful and cleaned every day. The pool was even cleaned several times a day. One of the best features is the view, both from the pool as from the balcony/terras. Sophia and her team do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The north of Zakynthos is very quiet and the village of Agios Nicolaos is tiny. Therefore you do need a car during your stay.
If you are looking for a nice restaurant, drive up hill to Askos and eat at The Old Windmill. A family restaurant with a stunning view and really good food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lia_and_Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

We spent 1 week in villa Yria (one of the smaller villas) in September 2012 and the whole stay was just phantastic.

Sofia (the owner) as well as Nicoletta and her husband (the housekeepers) took every effort to make our stay special and unforgettable.

Orfos Villas (in total 4 villas) are located right above the village Agios Nikolaos in the very north of Zante island. Agios Nicolaos is small village with its own harbour where boats for the blue grotto and ship wreck bay as well as ferries for Kefalonia leave.

During daytime, Agios Nicolaos (and its beach and tavernas) is very crowded due to the day visitors to the blue grotto and ship wreck bay, but in the evening it gets calm and only tourists who stay around the village or anchor in the harbour are around.

You can buy fresh bread from the two minimarkets in Agios Nicolaos every day (on Sundays only after 11:30 though), and we always used the opportunity to have a swim in the cristal clear water before breakfast.

There are a few restaurants directly in Agios Nicolaos which are easily reachable by a 10 min walk from Orfos Villas. There are a few more restaurants in the surroundings where you have to take the car to get there. Best fish is definitely served in Horizontes. :-)

The beach we liked best is Makris Gialos, just a 10 min drive away.

Now to our villa Yria:
The villa has one bedroom upstairs, one downstairs (both double beds), two bathrooms, a kitchen (well equipped though small) with dining room, a living room, a large veranda-style balcony (accessable from the kitchen/dining room) and a huge terrasse (accessable from the living room downstairs) with a pool (approx. 6x2 m), 4 sun beds, a deck chair and a hammock.

All rooms are decorated and furnished in a very personal way so that you feel at home. Needless to say that everything was spotless - not only when we arrived but every day thanks to Nicoletta and her husband. By the way: All rooms have A/C - but as it gets quite cool during the night in September we hardly used them.

Our favourite place during our stay was definitely the balcony where we had our breakfast and spent long evenings just staring at the sea, the full moon and the stars.

A perfect holiday! Don't spoil the place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belizzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

As soon as I saw Orfos Villas I knew this was a better choice than any all inclusive resort. We never tired of the views, I couldn't read my book for any length of time, as I'd find myself looking up, staring out to sea, watching the little boats pull in and out of the harbour and letting out another sigh! We ventured out to Limnionas (do it), Port Vromi for the last boat trip to Shipwreck Beach, snorkelling at Xygia Beach & Makris Gialos Beach, Cape Skinari and lots of excellent tavernas but it was always bliss to return to the lovely villa for yet another dip. At night we could see the twinkling lights of the south of the island but they did not entice me one little bit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Had a fantastic week with seven of us sharing villa Contessina, we increased our party number after booking and Sophia was very helpful in accommodating the extra numbers. Nothing was too much trouble, the villa was beautifully furnished with real attention to detail. The pool was lovely and clean, It was an absolute treat to have a daily cleaner who was very unobtrusive and friendly. Very comfortable throughout especially the beds! A quiet part of the island, very pretty with a harbour and some lovely places to eat. Would highly recommend a stay here if you want a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

These semi-detached villas are charming, immaculate and very comfortable, with beautiful views and pools. Sofia, the owner, is incredibly warm and accommodating. I highly recommend these villas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_MM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed in Villa Contessina with three friends for a week, and it was pretty much the best holiday we've had. The villa was immaculate, beautiful view, quiet setting, perfectly located within walking distance from the happily un-touristy harbour, amazing tavernas and Art Cafe. Having a daily cleaning service was great and the attention to detail was amazing, with the pool being looked after every morning as well. Sofia couldn't have been nicer and more helpful and everywhere we went the local people were absolutely lovely and endlessly helpful. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rocketsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We spent 1 week in Villa YRIA in June and we loved it.It is total relaxation with superb view.
The landlords wife- sorry I forgot your name- did everything to fulfil our wishes. During the hot hours around noon it is fantastic to use your own pool and in the morning and afternoon it is close to wonderful beaches with only a few guests.The area is totally different from the crowded places around the airport where most visitors use to stay.Inside the villa everything is perfect clean and like the fotos you see in the internet.We often stay in houses/villas because we like to prepare local food also by our own: here you can choose 2 verandahs to enjoy your meals.Go and get the catch of the day at the small harbour 500m away and use the barbecue behind the villa.Buy some Retsina at the small shops opposite the boats and
give me a ´Prost´for this recommendation.
Hermine+ Dieter,Munich-Germany

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meckremmert2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volimes
8.9 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Emerald Villas & Suites
Emerald Villas & Suites
#1 of 5 in Agios Nikolaos
75 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lithies Boutique Hotel
Lithies Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Korithi
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nobelos Boutique Hotel
Nobelos Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Agios Nikolaos
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fexulis Studios
Fexulis Studios
#1 of 1 in Varvara
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Studios
Panorama Studios
#1 of 2 in Agios Nikolaos
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orfos Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orfos Villas

Address: Agios Nikolaos, Volimes 29090, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Volimes
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Volimes
Price Range: £103 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orfos Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional stone houses ( 4 luxurious villas that can accommodate 4-6 persons).Located in Agios Nikolas and Volimes one of the most idyllic locations of the island with magical view over the crystal clear waters. The luxurious Orfos Villas offer private swimming pools and are fully equipped. The villas have been carefully decorated with a rich earnestness for detail using hand made and traditional furnishings to give a unique style and high standard of comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Orfos Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing