We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potters need to get their act together”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Potters need to get their act together”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

very expense for what you get!! our Bathroom window lock was broken which we didnt discover until the next morning, ask for someone to come and fix it twice where they put a stick in the window so it didnt completely open. Frosted window in the bathroom which you could see through, where they use a shower curtain stuck up with wirer at each end to hold it up. The carpet was dirty & for $400 a night we expected something better than this. We would not stay there again!!

Room Tip: Good luck with choosing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PottersHBR, Guest Relations Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for choosing Potters for your Hunter Valley accommodation.
We are proud of our 3 ½ star rating and aim to provide a clean, relaxing, and enjoyable experience for our guests.
We are in the process of totally reburbishing the entire property. Return guests will notice lots of positive changes on every visit.
I understand that you booked through a third party, and this explains the rather exoribtant price.Please contact us direct for the best available rate for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    133
    80
    35
    31
See reviews for
64
169
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Potters using an accommodation voucher special we bought from scoopon. The room was nice and clean and very large. Ours had a covered patio area off the back door which had a nice country view. The only complaint about the room was that you could hear everything from the room next door (including the hungover lady throwing up sunday morning!). We ate at the bistro both nights and were impressed with the quality of food, just felt it was a bit overpriced for the type of eatery. The service was questionable at times, we found the staff to be quite rude to us (mostly the females). Nothing wrong with the timing of food or drinks just the attitude in which we were spoken to. Would be a great place to go with a group of mates but overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the venue to others.

Room Tip: A room further from the bar would be best as the band on Fridays & the DJ on Saturdays can get q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donkeykong787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PottersHBR, Guest Relations Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. At Potters Hotel we are constantly aiming to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and I apologise that on this occasion we did not. I wish to assure you that these matters are being dealt with, through our evolving process of upgrading every area of the hotel’s operations.
It is through constructive feedback such as yours that practical improvements can be developed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.S.W.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Our group of 18 stayed at Potters on the weekend of the Cold Chisel concert last November. We had realistic expectations of what a 3 star resort would be like & we were quite happy with this resort. The rooms were motel style & clean. (My husband & I had room 8 which I noticed previous reviewers complaining about. A small crack on the mirror & a corner of the blind which was broken is hardly anything to get worked up about!) Buffet breakfast was included & was satisfactory. Lunchtime gets very busy & noisy, however the food was quite nice. The pool is quite basic & there is also & 6 person hot tub. The front motel rooms can be a little noisy late at night but we were here for a fun couples weekend so it really didn't bother us. However, saying that, if I was looking for somewhere to stay with my children I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room at the back; i.e. rooms 13 or 15 when booking a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PottersHBR, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for choosing Potters Hotel Brewery Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed our location and all our facilities!
We heartily embrace family groups, with our outdoor chrildren's playground and Sundays with the jumping castle. We look forward to welcoming you back to Potters when you next visit our wonderful region.
We are delighted to have your recommendation. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Rothbury NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We arrived at Potters for dinner on this Tuesday night, we found that the dining room was hotter inside than outside (over 30 degrees). Needless to say we did not stay for dinner - no air conditioning in the dining room. we have since found out that this happens often. We walked in and out within minutes. We are local and we like to support the locals, but not if they do not care about their clients or guests. The dining room far to hot to enjoy a meal.

Room Tip: Ask if the air conditioning is on in the dining room, when you go for a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PottersHBR, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Brickworks Brasserie at Potters Hotel Brewery Resort. We are fortunate to have lots of enterences to the dining room and bar areas which create a flow of fresh air throughout the building.
These are areas are also fully air conditioned and we try to make your experience as comfortable as possible in deciding between air conditioning and fresh air daily.
I will look into why the air conditioners were not operating if the temperatures were high.

Thank you for your feeback. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

For the same room rate you can stay at some better places in the hunter. Everything was fine, just old and in need of a renovation. The sower was crap and the bed was worn out.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravelbug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PottersHBR, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for choosing Potters for your Hunter Valley accommodation.
We are proud of our 3 ½ star rating and aim to provide a clean, relaxing, and enjoyable experience for our guests.
We are in the process of totally reburbishing the entire property. Return guests will notice lots of positive changes on every visit.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on future visits to wine country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We have stayed at Potters on a few occasions when there is a concert on in the vineyards. We make a weekend of it and always enjoy the friendly hospitality of this resort. It has a little of everything for everyone, be it a quiet weekend away, or a hearty lunch in the restaurant before tripping off to the vineyards for the day. We are even booking the function centre to celebrate my Mothers 80th birthday and with 5 adult children it will also be on the top of our list for the wedding receptions as they come up. We notice each time I go there that they are are undergoing some classy upgrades both internally & externally. These have never been an inconvenience and are showing some great results. My husband and I & our friends have always found the staff professional, polite and VERY willing to help if anything is required. Good on you Potters! Your Resort is a a great all rounder and we will keep coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PottersHBR, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for choosing Potters Hotel Brewery Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed our location and all our facilities!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Potters when you next visit our wonderful region.
When you are ready to book your function, please email or call us with your requirements and we will happily provide you with a quote for everything you need. We are delighted to have your recommendation. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a great night, service was fast and friendly, food was delicious, just couldn't finish it all. Good value for money. Will go there again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PottersHBR, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review!!!
At Potters we are constantly aiming to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and I am pleased to see that in this instance we have achieved our goal. It is through constructive feedback such as yours that our motivation grows to continue to strive to meet our guests’ needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nulkaba
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
7.6 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Hotel & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Hotel & Brewery

Property: Potters Hotel & Brewery
Address: Wine Country Drive, Nulkaba, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Quality Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Nulkaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Potters Hotel & Brewery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, Potters is a relaxing getaway. With new ownership since late 2008, Potters is home to the Hunter Beer Co., a fabulous Brasserie and Resort-Style Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Potters Hotel & Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Hotel And Brewery
Potters Hotel & Brewery Greater Newcastle, Australia - Nulkaba
Potters Brewery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing