We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort Style Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Resort Style Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a resort-style large property, well-laid out & neat with level sealed roads leading to the scattered ground floor brick units. Plenty of parking on-site.

Reception staff were friendly & efficient when I booked; & upon our arrival & departure.

On the property is a micro Brewery & Tasting Bar; a Brasserie & Bars; a Function Centre; Tennis Courts, Swimming Pools, Spa & Laundry located in a large covered bbq area; & a Children’s Playground is outside the restaurant.

I got a good on-line deal which included a King Villa, Breakfast for two, Bottle of wine & a 45 min Brewery Tour & Tasting for two – good value @ $129.00! We didn’t take up the offered tour as our other activities didn’t coincide with the session times.

Our air-conditioned unit was quite large & bright. It contained a tiny kitchenette with microwave, jug, toaster, fridge, & very basic cutlery, glass & crockery settings but no other kitchen utensils or cookware. Dishwashing liquid & tea towel were supplied as was tea-making supplies including 4 biscuits & small milk.

The room & paintwork was clean but there were a few light stains on the carpet, easy chair & ottoman but I’m probably being a bit ‘picky’ here. Furniture consisted of a comfortable, firm king-sized bed (my preference would be softer pillows); bedside tables & lamps; alarm clock radio & ‘phone; a large desk with chair; an easy chair with ottoman; & small wardrobe with hangers. There was also an ironing board & iron.

The modern bathroom was huge & contained a curtained shower over the large bath. Shower pressure good. Toiletries & hair-dryer were supplied.

Double sliding glass doors let in plenty of light & these led to a private, outside roofed patio with table & benches. Not all units had a patio, as many had just a small front porch with Jack & Jill seating. A minor road was quite close to our back patio but I heard no traffic (or other) noise at all during our stay on a Friday night.

Breakfast was either continental or a ‘plated’ (not buffet) hot breakfast. The served hot breakfast was 2 eggs, bacon, sausage, hash brown & ½ tomato; with unlimited toast, juice, tea & coffee – we took this option & it was fresh & cooked okay.

Room Tip: Not all units have a rear covered patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdeg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay with us. It’s fantastic to hear of guests thoroughly utilising what we have to offer and enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again with us next time you decide to stay at Potters Hotel Brewery Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    131
    78
    35
    31
See reviews for
64
167
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Although we enjoyed our stay, we have to agree with previous comment in that the rooms could be better serviced. There were hairs in the bath and on the bathroom floor and the toilet looked as though it had not been cleaned. Excellent Brewery tour and evening meal at the Brasserie.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maxaimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We value you taking the time to provide us with these details. It is with feedback such as yours we are able to address any issues and utilise your comments to make ongoing improvements to our business processes. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Potters Hotel Brewery Resort next time you are in the Hunter Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Would definitely stay at Potters again. $140 p/night, but I hear you can get Scoopon's and stuff with better deals. $140 a night is pretty standard in The Hunter Valley. Our room was massive, big king bed and bathroom with shower over bath. Had a sink, fridge etc. Very quiet at night, good curtains so it was dark...our room had a little picnic table in a private outdoor area so would be great for a family if you can get extra beds in there. The restaurant had good food, the pizzas were yummy...the beer is good :) $12 for a tasting you get 4 good sized beers.

If you book here, make sure you book with Vineyard Shuttle Service for a very affordable and awesome bus or horse and cart tour - you can see my review for this under my profile. They will pick you up and drop you back to potters each day, and if you don't want a tour they do return trip $15 pick up and drop off to a winery or where ever you want.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Villa, which was almost like your own private little unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwinelover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is fabulous to read positive experiences whilst staying at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you decide to stay in the Hunter Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

As much as we loved the brewery with its great beer and good food, the accommodation was really bad. The rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. The floors and bathroom were filthy. During our three night stay, housekeeping did not bother to vacuum clean the floors etc. A shame really since the setting and the friendliness of all staff wad great. Will only come back for food and drink.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Otti O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Hi Otti! Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for not meeting your expectations. We do strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and apologise on this occasion we did not. Housekeepers are required to vacuum during servicing of rooms. I am unsure on why this did not occur during your stay and will certainly address it with that department. Our rooms are constantly undergoing renovations and we hope next time you consider staying in the Hunter Valley you may return to enjoy our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nulkaba hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stopped at the brewery for lunch in April and while we enjoyed the overall feel of the place, the food was a bit disappointing. This time the food was much better. It was well presented and tasty pub food. The kids (our girls are eight and four) enjoyed their meals too although they probably could have shared one between them.

This was a lunch stop for us but we had such a good time, with the playground, bouncy castle and live music that we ended up staying longer than intended so it must have been good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you Lain for providing such a positive review of your experience with us at Potters Hotel Brewery Resort. We value all feedback provided however it is lovely to hear of guests enjoying their time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit the Hunter Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Good.
Just got back from my daughter's wedding in the Hunter Valley. The wedding was at the Hunter Valley Gardens - beautiful. The reception was at Peterson's Champagne House - Pokolbin - beautiful.
We stayed at Potter's Brewery which was close by.
My job was to find us affordable accommodation for 15 people (three families), two families of 4 and 6 from Brisbane and 5 from Sydney. Looking at the website I could see that there was a cabin with a queen sized bed and double bunks to sleep four. I took it that the "6 people" cabins would be a queen sized bed and two double bunks. $60 per head per night.....bargain !!
We arrived on the Thursday afternoon, wedding on Friday, family wine tour Saturday then home Sunday.
The Bad.
Upon arrival it was clear that my perception of the cabins was wrong. The 6 berth cabins had three double bunks. I had selected the "backpackers" cabins.
OK, let's make the most of it, after all it is only for three days.
The double bunks squeaked when you turned over...
The continental breakfast was great ( a choice of hot or cold).
The Ugly.
We woke up on Sunday morning to find one of our vehicles had been broken in to.
It was a work truck and they had stolen a drill set and a computer. We later heard that they had worked their was through the entire place and had even stolen a car to take all of the stuff that was stolen. (I am told this is a regular occurrence in the local area by "the Cessnock kids").
It was reported. We can only hope that something eventuates.
Other than that it was a great weekend.
My daughter looked beautiful.
The wines in the area are fantastic.
We will definitely go again, and will definitely stay at Potters Brewery as long as we can upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi Jim, Thank you for taking the time to compile a review on our resort, we value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to advise other travellers of your stay. Just to clarify we do not have "backpackers" accommodation so I am unsure what that is with reference to. We do have budget style bunk bed accommodation which is the room option you had taken up. This style of accommodation is dormitory type rooms. These rooms are design for bookings requiring basic facilities as they are very modest style yet affordable accommodation and have been priced accordingly. I would like to take this opportunity to profusely apologise for the unfortunate event of your vehicle being broken into. I can assure you this is very much an isolated incident for Potters Hotel Brewery Resort and in no way a reflection of our resort. This matter is being fully investigated by the local police and we hope they can resolve the matter in due course. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Beer at the Brewery was excellent and the tour guide (Billie) was just delightful. All the beers have excellent flavor and the staff is proud of their product. Room was nice, but not great. We took a king size bedroom that was comfortable. An occasional ant or cricket is to be expected due to the location far out in the country and the fact that these rooms are built on cement slabes. Neither my wife or I found this to be a objectionable. The shower was hot and had plenty of water pressure. The TV & air conditioner worked fine. I did appreciate the guest laundry although it could do with some updating. The hot tub was luke warm and the pool cold. Dinner at the hotel was excellent; it provided lots of great variety and was fairly priced. The continental breakfast was a bit disappointing and somewhat expensive given the limited choices. (No option for a full breakfast) It stuck me a bit strange that they do such a great job with dinner and a mediocre
job with breakfast?
So if you are out in the middle of a strange country, and want to look for alternate places to eat or visit, the internet becomes pretty important. One of the attractive features of this hotel was free high speed WiFi. Unfortunetly, this was not working during our stay, and I was very dissappointed. The front office said it was a "one off" and I have no reason to doubt this was the case.
I would return primarly for the brewery, we also shared some conversation time with another couple during this visit.

Room Tip: I'm not sure it matters, you pick your room based on mattress size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi Michael, thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to advise other travellers of your stay. We note your comments and will take them on board to make continuous improvements to our resort. I do apologise that during your stay with us you experienced technical issue with our WIFI. We cannot always predict when technical malfunctions can happen. Once we were made aware of the issue it was resolved quickly, therefore I do not expect that issue to happen again should you wish to return next time you are in the area. We hope to welcome you again sometime soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nulkaba
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
7.6 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Hotel & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Hotel & Brewery

Property: Potters Hotel & Brewery
Address: Wine Country Drive, Nulkaba, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Quality Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Nulkaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Potters Hotel & Brewery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, Potters is a relaxing getaway. With new ownership since late 2008, Potters is home to the Hunter Beer Co., a fabulous Brasserie and Resort-Style Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Potters Hotel & Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Hotel And Brewery
Potters Hotel & Brewery Greater Newcastle, Australia - Nulkaba
Potters Brewery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing