We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem in Somerset”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to Courtyard Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Courtyard Barn
A private south facing garden with plenty of garden furniture Peaceful rural location with lovely views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Entrance to Courtyard Barn
A private south facing garden with plenty of garden furniture
Peaceful rural location with lovely views
Patio ideal for al fresco dining
Lois farm in the evening sunshine
Dining in style - inside or out
Modern kitchen with granite surfaces and slate flooring.
Log burner, all logs provided
Living room is a good size seating 6 with ease.
Living room.
Large kitchen diner
All bedrooms are stylishly presented.
Fresh flowers in all rooms
Large games room with table tennis and table football
Games room
Lovely rural location
Meet the neighbours
The entrance to Lois Farm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Horsington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anne b
1 review
“Hidden Gem in Somerset”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband and I rented Lois Farms Cottage for our six week stay in Somerset. Coming from the U.S.A., everything exceeded our expectations. Tanya and Chris were wonderful hosts, especially helpful for things to do and checking in that we had everything we needed. The cottage was so comfortable, clean and well appointed. It really became out home away from home. We had several work associates join us throughout our stay, and each time the beds were re-made and new towels and robes were provided, luxury at its best. The internet was great and we were able to work from home, relaxing by the wood stove in the livingroom. We truly felt warm and welcomed and would highly recommend staying at Lois Farms on any occasion. There is so much to see and do in and around Wincanton, beautiful area! We can't wait to visit again, thank you again! Anne and Andrew

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thank you Anne and Andrew for your very kind comments, It was truly a pleasure to have you stay with us at Lois we enjoyed your company very much. All your associates that stayed were lovely people. We look forward to welcoming you back. Chris and Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshmall...
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury barn in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We hit the jackpot with Courtyard Barn - it is a genuine lucky find! Having spent 5 weeks there on an extended holiday, we left - reluctantly - feeling totally relaxed. Tanya and Chris made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay, ensuring we were comfortable and encouraging us to make the place our own.
The interior of Courtyard Barn is super - stylish furnishings, supremely comfy beds that ensure a peaceful night's sleep, a deep bath and all spotlessly clean. The kitchen has all you'd need and more besides and the whole place felt spacious and bright. We often sat in the very pretty garden, enjoying the peace and quiet and feeling the benefits of being surrounded by countryside. The Games Barn is an excellent additional bonus - table tennis every evening sure does improve your skills!
The location is really good, being an easy drive to town. The lane into the village is level, quiet (and lined with blackberries!) and it is just one of a number of options to walk and explore the surroundings.
If you have ever been disappointed with a holiday cottage, then count yourself lucky that you have come across one that will more than restore the balance! Tanya and Chris know exactly how to make a holiday home all that you could wish for. I recommend Courtyard Barn wholeheartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games barn
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for all your kind comments. It was a real pleasure sharing Lois with you all and I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back if you ever need to touch up those table tennis skills. Tanya and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxmckell...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful family holiday, 5 Star cottage, lovely people and a peaceful stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I brought our 2 boys (6yrs and 4yrs) to stay in the cottage for 11 nights in August this year and we all had a lovely stay, I could not recommend it enough!

The location is very rural and peaceful but with Wincanton only 5mins drive away and plenty of places to entertain our boys within 20-60mins drive. The cottage was perfectly presented, very high quality finish and furnishing with all the mod cons and a great private garden space and views across the fields. Not to mention the play room where myself and the boys enjoyed table football most evenings.

Tanya, Chris and Leah were the perfect hosts, very welcoming and nothing was too much to ask to make our stay perfect. Our boys were lucky enough to be invited to see some of the horses on the farm being shod and play on the tractor!

Genuinely warm and kind people who clearly know how to present a lovely holiday home. I have already recommended to friends and family and we hope to return next summer with our new baby.

McKellar family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your very kind review. You were lovely guests and it was a real pleasure to have the McKellar family stay with us. We hopefully look forward to being able to welcome you all back to Lois Farm in the future and seeing the newest member.of the family..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing