We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms very tired”
Review of The Half Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Half Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Horsington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, for friends wedding, Room not ready for when I arrived, Not terribly clean very dusty, odd smell, carpet looked very old, (hate carpet in bathroom),!! Bed very narrow and hard, Breakfast ok, but not asked if liked eggs any other way but fried. Having just spent a month in the States, very good rooms for the same price. Hosts very nice , just think need an uplift.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleveland16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for The Half Moon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed for one night only, visiting for a birthday party... Our room was large and airy, very nice, breakfast in the morning was okay, sausage, egg and bacon. Cereal was available and bread for making toast, Orange Juice. No jam or marmalade. Beautiful surroundings and very peaceful..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceres42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed for 2 nights this week.
This was so much better than holiday inns and any of the other impersonal chain hotels. It offered fantastic value for money. The hosts were welcoming and helpful. My room was in a quiet building, adjacent to the pub. It was much larger than most hotels and dogs were welcomed. The position was great - in a pretty peaceful Somerset village with lots of lovely walks nearby, whilst being close to major roads & sights of Somerset. There was safe off-road parking with easy access to the accommodation and to gardens - great for the dogs.
I had a wonderful supper in the pub - really excellent large, perfectly cooked steak and cheesecake with a wide choice of real beers and cider on tap. The atmosphere was cosy and friendly with a lovely log fire. The Landlady was very helpful and gave me useful info re shopping and best routes.
The room had all amenities such as fresh milk, drinks, sweets, bottled water and free toiletries and breakfast was very good. Highly recommended for b and b or for a great pub meal.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and well appointed. Ground and first floor rooms available
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst on a cycling holiday. We were welcomed and had a cycles stored safely. The accommodation was ok, We stayed in converted horse stables. We had a evening meal which was good and good value. And breakast was good too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Myself and 5 friends recently kayaked down the Wye, stopping off overnight at the camp site in Lucksall. After an easy (!)20 min walk from the campsite we found the welcome at the pub quite warm & friendly.

There were several local bitters on offer which were were all very nice & hit the spot. The food was very good pub food and was reasonably priced. The thing that we were all impressed with was the lift back to the campsite from the landlord at the end of the evening. There was no cost for this & enabled us to have another couple of pints!

An excellent pub with a warm welcome, friendly & helpful land lord & land lady, good food & good beer.

Give it a try, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

great place, stayed there a lot in the last few years, nice food and nice annexe, friendly people

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damienrg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed for two nights for a nearby friends wedding and loved it, our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a lovely bathroom. We had our 11 month old with us and a cot was provided, as well as high chairs at breakfast (which was tasty) and for the one night we ate in the pub. Food in the pub was delicious, and huge portions, clientele friendly and no problem having our baby in the pub with us. Overall recommended as a lovely base.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drslapdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsington
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
264 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
626 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
456 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Charlton Horethorne
229 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Wincanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Half Moon Inn

Address: Horsington Grange Nr Wincanton | Templecombe, Horsington BA8 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Horsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horsington
Price Range: £70 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Half Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Half Moon Inn Horsington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing