We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food”
Review of The Half Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Half Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Horsington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice food”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

this is a pub eatery with rooms to stay at at the rear in a courtyard. cannot comment on those as we only went for a meal and drink .the place was very welcoming and a very good selection of ales.very good selection on the menu and the 4 of us had nothing but praises for the food served. service not faulted, a very good night had by all .prices very reasonable cannot fault.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    17
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
16
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The terraced rooms are comfortable. The shower wasn't brilliant and an upgrade to the bathroom would be a good idea.
The pub sells good beers cut again would benefit from some investment.
Overall it's a good pub and an easy stay for a night.

Room Tip: There appears a difference in some rooms...worth a call
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, for friends wedding, Room not ready for when I arrived, Not terribly clean very dusty, odd smell, carpet looked very old, (hate carpet in bathroom),!! Bed very narrow and hard, Breakfast ok, but not asked if liked eggs any other way but fried. Having just spent a month in the States, very good rooms for the same price. Hosts very nice , just think need an uplift.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleveland16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrine
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed for one night only, visiting for a birthday party... Our room was large and airy, very nice, breakfast in the morning was okay, sausage, egg and bacon. Cereal was available and bread for making toast, Orange Juice. No jam or marmalade. Beautiful surroundings and very peaceful..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceres42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed for 2 nights this week.
This was so much better than holiday inns and any of the other impersonal chain hotels. It offered fantastic value for money. The hosts were welcoming and helpful. My room was in a quiet building, adjacent to the pub. It was much larger than most hotels and dogs were welcomed. The position was great - in a pretty peaceful Somerset village with lots of lovely walks nearby, whilst being close to major roads & sights of Somerset. There was safe off-road parking with easy access to the accommodation and to gardens - great for the dogs.
I had a wonderful supper in the pub - really excellent large, perfectly cooked steak and cheesecake with a wide choice of real beers and cider on tap. The atmosphere was cosy and friendly with a lovely log fire. The Landlady was very helpful and gave me useful info re shopping and best routes.
The room had all amenities such as fresh milk, drinks, sweets, bottled water and free toiletries and breakfast was very good. Highly recommended for b and b or for a great pub meal.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and well appointed. Ground and first floor rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst on a cycling holiday. We were welcomed and had a cycles stored safely. The accommodation was ok, We stayed in converted horse stables. We had a evening meal which was good and good value. And breakast was good too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Myself and 5 friends recently kayaked down the Wye, stopping off overnight at the camp site in Lucksall. After an easy (!)20 min walk from the campsite we found the welcome at the pub quite warm & friendly.

There were several local bitters on offer which were were all very nice & hit the spot. The food was very good pub food and was reasonably priced. The thing that we were all impressed with was the lift back to the campsite from the landlord at the end of the evening. There was no cost for this & enabled us to have another couple of pints!

An excellent pub with a warm welcome, friendly & helpful land lord & land lady, good food & good beer.

Give it a try, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsington
4.4 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
615 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 2 in Charlton Horethorne
226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Toomer Farm
Toomer Farm
#1 of 1 in Templecombe
44 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Half Moon Inn

Property: The Half Moon Inn
Address: Horsington Grange Nr Wincanton | Templecombe, Horsington BA8 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Horsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Half Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Half Moon Inn Horsington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing