We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of Red Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walmersley
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Went for champagne afternoon tea and it was lovely four finger sandwiches with different fillings then six cakes we were totally full up the waitress was very friendly the restaurant lovely and clean will defo go again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KarenB0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedHall B, Director of Sales at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us.

We are very proud of the new selection our chefs have created.

I hope you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    122
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
127
145
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel as we were attending a family event on the Saturday.
Booking was easily done over the phone and my request for a quiet room was no problem. Our room was clean if a little small but had everything you might want. The breakfast was nice but at £80 for the room, they could have been a little more generous with their portions.
The hotel is nicely placed for Ramsbottom with it's steam railway and many quaint shops.
It's not a hotel you'd want to spend any more than a few days in, but for a short stay it a good little find.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevego72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Good Afternoon Steve,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us, it is very much appreciated.

I shall pass your comments onto our team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Visited friends and family for Christmas and stayed here as a base for three nights. Christmas Eve dinner was excellent with a friendly atmosphere and staff. The tables had been decorated to add to the Christmas spirit - all very nice. Breakfast was full English, well cooked and very enjoyable. The rooms were spacious and the car parking plentiful. We had stayed here once before when the winter snows and frost caused the outside temperature to fall to -12degC. The hotel however was warm and cosy which is why we stayed here again. Well done to the staff and management. We will be staying there this Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Oh we all love Christmas here at the Red Hall, which is why it was lovely to read your story about staying with us over the Festive period.

Thank you for your kind words, i will of course pass them onto our dedicated team.

Although the sun is splitting the trees it really will not be long before Christmas comes round again and we get to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were fortunate to stay at The Red Hall on a recent visit to Manchester, very convenient location, only 20 minutess from the city without all the fuss, great bus and tram service from right outside the front door.
We stayed with our little one and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, with our daughter enjoying a great deal of fuss! Everything from the check in to the check out was faultless.
Great food in the Legends restaurant, clean rooms & Amazing Showers! will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank so you much for your kind words.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hotel with your family.

I will be sure to pass on your words to our dedicated team.

We will hopefully get the chance to welcome you all back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. The hotel is functional, the food is relatively good (but avoid the sausages) for a hotel and the staff are excellent. However the walls in the bedrooms are paper thin (stud work), I could hear the person in the next room having a normal telephone conversation as if they were in the same room, other rooms showers going and toilets flushing.

Room Tip: Tap on the walls of the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Good Evening John,

Thank you for sparing your experience of your time with us at the Red Hall.

I was sorry to hear that you did not get a good nights sleep with us. We would advise that if our guests do hear excessive noise that they make our team aware so that we may investigate straight away.

Could you please email me directly on richard@red-hall.co.uk letting me know the bedroom you stayed in so that we can check our sound proofing in this room as it is usually not an issue with our guests.

I do hope you will take the opportunity to stay with us again, please make your reservation directly with me and I will deal personally with your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We went to a wedding reception at the Red Hall Hotel, the staff are all very friendly & polite, the meal we had in Legends restaurant was excellent & agreed by all in the party and the service was excellent too, I will definitely be returning for more meals in the future.
I've forgotten the name of the Spanish waiter who looked after us,but I would like to thank him & his team for looking after us so well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mark20100102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us celebrating the your friends Wedding.

I shall of course pass on your kind comments to our team and look forward to you dining with again in Legends Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Red Hall Hotel is not advertised as a stand alone restaurant. I was lucky to be invited to have lunch there, at the Legends Restaurant, on Sunday. The food was excellent, service was brilliant but I was surprised to find out that they do not widely advertise this restaurant as a separate part of their hotel where the general public can enjoy a wonderful meal at a very reasonable price. I would advise anyone looking for a restaurant in the Bury/Ramsbottom area to visit and try their wonderful food and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valerie,

Thank you for your review of Legends Restaurant and Bar. We appreciate that you have taken the time to spread the word.

I am happy you enjoyed Your meal with us, we are very proud of our Restaurant and we have exciting times ahead with a new Head Chef launching a wonderful menu in the near future.

I hope to see you back with us in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walmersley
2.6 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
1.3 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Bury
Travelodge Bury
#7 of 7 in Bury
195 reviews
5.0 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hall Hotel

Property: Red Hall Hotel
Address: 319 Manchester Road, Walmersley, Bury BL9 5NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury > Walmersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walmersley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was originally a farmhouse and converted into a hotel over 40 years ago. From 1978 up until 2008 it was owned by the Wright family. In early 2008 the hotel was put up for sale and bought by the present owners who took over the hotel and submitted their improvement plans for the existing building. Then in April 2009 the ‘new’ Red Hall Hotel was officially opened by Sir Alex Ferguson. Sir Alex is a good family friend of the owners who was more than happy to nip down one Saturday morning, to cut the ribbon before making his way to Old Trafford for the game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hall Hotel Walmersley, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing