We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home with endless surf”
other traveller has booked this property
Backyard has the sun from 0800 - 16:30 each day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Backyard has the sun from 0800 - 16:30 each day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Backyard has the sun from 0800 - 16:30 each day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Atouguia da Baleia, Peniche, Leiria District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stuart h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home with endless surf”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Getting to the property late at night on our first day didnt cause us any problems. I was given details of keys being left in a key locker and we were in and ready to relax. This house has everything we needed as a couple. A sun trap back yard with all garden furniture you would ever need. Board racks for your surf board if you need them and plenty of storage space under the house if you want to lock things away. So with the missus sorted with the sun trap what do I do. Well a 5 min walk and I have a beach plus waves, a 8 min drive I have more waves 10 min drive more waves and so on, this is just where all the waves meet to have a party.

There are some great restaurants nearby and 3 supermarkets if like us and you wanted to just chill in the evenings, also having nextflix and a dvd collection on tap helps here too.

This house has enough space for 6 adults making it a very cheap get away if you came over in a group.

Parking right outside and just very peaceful.

The house has been done out very well and you get to see what tom is passionate about with in the house making it a very homely atmosphere throughout the house.

Cheers tom for letting us stay in your house I hope to get back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaMcJ
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab and funky holiday pad!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing stay here. The location was perfect for everything we wanted to do... surfing, walking, eating fabulous food, exploring the local Portuguese culture and of course relaxing.
The accomodation was top notch and a beautiful place to return to after a day of activities. It was very well equipped with absolutely everything we needed, clean, very comfortable and we loved all the photography, magazines and Netflix!
Tom gave us fabulous recommendations of local restaurants- we recommend them too. He was extremely approachable and keen to help us enjoy our holiday.
This is a real gem and my kids told me it felt like a home away from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for the review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewesatro...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You need to stay here....”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in Tom's Supertubis Beach House in April whilst I was over on a Surf Trip. The place is great and not only has everything you'd ever need, but there's some great personal touches that Tom has added with vintage cameras, books, paintings and the addition of Netflix when you want to chill after a hard day surfing is perfect!

Tom is a great host and helped with restaurant, pub and surf spot recommendations which made our stay a lot easier!

Great pad, great host, great central location....we'll definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FleddyFun...
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place in great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week in Peniche, lots to do and eat...

Tom's place was very comfortable and homely, it really felt like a home from home. We found everything we needed and didn't want to leave... I wondered if they'd notice me hiding in the basement ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: BBQ with squid on it
Liked least: BBQ when said had gone
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L0uis3x
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect house in a great location”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in April with my partner and a few friends and there was room for everyone very comfortably especially that it has a bathroom downstairs and upstairs. The house is immaculate and had a great feel to it. Love the fact it has Netflix so you can watch movies. The beach is opposite and a lovely walk along to the bakery which sell amazing fresh cakes and pastries. Love the fact it has a BBQ in the garden which was a perfect in the evening after a day at the beach.

Close to the supermarket and loads of great restaurants Also not even a minutes walk to the local surf school who take you to the local beach For a surf lesson which was great.

Tom was very friendly and could not do enough for us. Beds were extremely comfortable and duvets were amazing!!

Defo recommend to anyone great place and would not hesitate to come back. Cannot wait to come back again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline0...
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The most perfect House in a perfect location”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived and were met by our super friendly contact at the house, everything was perfect. The house itself is immaculate with every possible amenity you could ask for, from the fridge freezer to all the cutlery, plates, glasses - just everything!

The house itself has a very warm and friendly feel about it, the host has created a cool, contemporary feel with personal photographs on the wall and a collection of surf books and coffee table books.

There are three bedrooms all with very generous storage areas and obviously brand new beds, mattresses and bedding. The beds are a big deal for me, travelling with my partner who is 6'4" tall, sleeping has always been a problem with beds either being too short / too narrow / too soft or just uncomfortable.

The bed in the second bedroom was definitely a king size bed and the one in the master bedroom really felt like a super king - so we were very happy. A good night sleep in a huge bed with a firm mattress, expensive bedding and a duvet that felt like you were sleeping wrapped up in a marshmallow. Wish I could afford bedding like that!!

The host also left fabulously detailed notes about where to eat, drink, walk, surf and visit all in a set of maps, and I have to say that every recommendation was worthwhile, from the local bakery which was a lovely walk along the beach in the morning and sold fresh bread, pastries, cakes and sausage rolls (very nice) and wonderfully strong coffee (oh and beer) to the cool bars on the beach and the inland trip to Obidos where there is an old Roman settlement and a well preserved castle walls that you can walk all the way around (no handrails - sounds tame but is very exciting).

The house is less than a ten minute drive from Peniche, Portugal's capital of seafood with all the fine (and cheap) fish restaurants you could ask for including an all you can eat Sushi restaurant.

Peniche and the beaches reaching up to the house are known as the best surfing beaches in Europe, and the waves are awesome. Sadly I don't surf but I would go back and stay in this house in a heartbeat - in fact I could move in, put the wine in the fridge and just stay...

It was just lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of everything in the house and it's relaxed feel.
Liked least: Coming home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph D
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate surfers paradise”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house has recently been refurbished and has everything that you need for an enjoyable stay in Peniche - fully stocked kitchen, bbq, towels, wifi, Netflix etc. Tom was an extremely accommodating host and was able to offer great recommendations for local restaurants, surf school and board hire.

The house is a two minute walk over the sand dunes to Supertubos surf beach and a five minute drive to the main town of Peniche and Baleal,

I would definitely recommend this place and would stay again in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing