We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

With a comfortable room overlooking a very fine medieval castle there are few finer places to stay in this part of the world. The hotel is easy to find and within its small town there are at least three fine places to dine, although the hotel itself lacks a restaurant. The pool is large and well maintained but the bar had run out of Tonic and Pastis/Ricard, of all things! The rooms are a good size but lack small fridges, which would be useful when its hot.
The town is well located for tourism and wine tasting but just off the main track which makes it lot more pleasant than the bigger towns and cities

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    73
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
100
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for one hot June day/night having driven for some hours.
It has many of the things that you might want for a stopover:-
easy to get to, in the centre of a great little village/town, plenty of parking, a nice terrace for drinks, a lovely well maintained pool (a big plus in a 3 star hotel), great view over a chateau, good sized room with modern amenities, good wifi, good if firm bed, willing, knowledgeable staff and manager, cold beer, good wine, easy walk to three or four restaurants and bars, nice stroll by the river, quiet at night, good value.
Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorsetblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a hidden gem, I almost hate to share it, but share it I must. We found this by chance, just drove off the D road and rode around the little town, signed on for one night and stayed four. We were so glad we did! It is quietly elegant, with an outdoor patio and indoor bar. The fellow at the desk has become a friend, we met amazing locals at the bar, had great breakfasts, and treated ourselves to a room with a view of the chateau and church. Utterly, totally charmed by the entire town. The chateau makes its own wine, which is how we made friends with some locals at the Relais, drinking and talking. There are several excellent restaurants in town; it's a small town with little to do but relax, which suited us just fine. Our room was delightful--the bed was a fabulous king-sized one and the windows opened out to the view--there's a pool and gym/spa, which we didn't get to use because we didn't bring swim suits, but hey, next time! We're going back.

Room Tip: Splurge on the ones with the view. They were only 100 Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiki_04414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston upon thames
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have just spent three nights in this delightful hotel. Cosy and clean, elegantly decorated room with wonderful views of the chateau. Good breakfast buffet with cereal, boiled eggs, croissants etc. welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in the Relais seven times over the years... And yes it has had its ups and downs. Last year we stayed twice. Hotel absolutely spotless and the rooms very comfortable. The ones at the back which overlook the pool and the chateau are wonderful for the view alone. The staff are welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast only at the hotel but restaurants in the village are varied and some very good. All within walking distance. It is so easy to visit the wonderful towns and a chateaux a day if so inclined. Or as we did sit by the pool swim, read, a few glasses of local wine and eat well.
We will be back

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in mid August. We decided to treat ourselves to one of the best rooms- this had a breathtaking view of the chateau opposite.the room was very comfortable, with a great sized bathroom and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was good, and the service was very good without being too in your face. There was a good sized swimming pool but this had no shade- we could have done with some parasols, I think, as when we were there, it was very hot.
The hotel doesn't do evening meals but there are plenty of places to eat- try the Hotel Splendide up the road, which was great.
A great find in a wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a friend in July, for 5 nights. The hotel is located in the centre of the charming town of Montreuil Bellay, and in fact you can see the Chateau and the Chateau's Abbey from the swimming pool!

Car Parking - the Hotel has a spacious private car park

Bar Restaurant - The bar is open all day, and is manned by whichever member of staff is looking after reception that day. The prices are very reasonable, and you can sit on the terrace overlooking a grassy lawn with a view of the Chateau. The hotel doesn't seem to do food (although there was mention in the brochure that you could arrange for dinner in advance) but there are a couple of restaurants within a stones throw of the hotel, so that wasn't a problem.

Swimming Pool - Very clean, heated pool (although still a little on the nippy side!), again with the great view of the Chateau on one side, and the back drop of the impressive looking hotel building on the other.

Rooms - We stayed in the 17th Century building (there are two buildings owned by the hotel, one more modern, and one older). The rooms were pretty basic, but very spacious. The bathroom again was quite large, with a full sized bath and a bidet. Everything was very clean, and he only downside was that there was no air con, which made for slightly uncomfortable nights when it got to 34 degrees during the day!

Spa facilities - The hotel has a gym, billiards room, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. It costs 7.50 Euros per person per day to use these facilities, but its worth it for a bit of relaxation!


Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel and town were lovely, the staff friendly and efficient, and the cost more than reasonable. It's a great place to base a visit to the Loire, and I would definitely return if I was in the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare_ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-Bellay
4.0 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
9.8 mi away
Rocaminori Hotel
Rocaminori Hotel
#1 of 1 in Louresse-Rochemenier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel de la Saulaie
Hotel de la Saulaie
#1 of 3 in Doue-la-Fontaine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
9.2 mi away
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Les Terrasses de Saumur
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
6.4 mi away
Domaine de Presle
Domaine de Presle
#15 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay

Property: Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay
Address: 96 rue Nationale, 49260 Montreuil-Bellay, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Montreuil-Bellay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montreuil-Bellay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing