We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The White Heron”
Review of The White Heron

The White Heron
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polzeath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Heron
Ranked #1 of 2 Polzeath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Looking on the computer for places to stay in the Polzeath area we found the White Heron. Very glad we did. Accommodation, food and very friendly owners , made our six day stay very enjoyable in spite of the changeable weather!! The White Heron is well situated for walking on the cliff coast path or just watching the surfers down on the beach. Hope to visit again next year
and maybe the weather might be better. Although we must say that our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcandbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M111PMJ, Owner at The White Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Paul, Jodie and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for The White Heron
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at The White Heron at the end of September 2011 and loved it. Rooms were very clean and tidy, owners very polite and approachable (I was even given chocolate ice cream at 11pm to cure my craving one night) We travel to Cornwall many times a year and would definitely stay here each time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M111PMJ, Owner at The White Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and to be able to indulge your craving for chocolate, even if it was ice cream (free of charge). We hope to see you again the next time you are in Polzeath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Our arrival was welcoming and informative,our room and ensuite were clean and well stocked.The menu;s were varied and catered for all tastes,the food was delicious and served in a warm and friendly manner. We would recommend the White Heron for quality of sevice along with being well situated for visiting nearby beaches.We look forward to a further visit in the future.Many thanks D&L N

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M111PMJ, Owner at The White Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

We thank you for your kind words and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have been visiting the White Heron for several years, and have always been totally satisfied. The food is excellent, once you have decided what to eat,from the extensive menu. The place is spotlessly clean, and would recommend with out hesitation!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Oddjob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The room was comfortable - the bed enabled a good nights sleep. the on suite was a good size - but the shower was by far the worst shower i have ever had.

Breakfast was between 9 and 9.30 - quite limiting. Too early for our plans as we had to be on the beach for 7.45am. We were offered bacon sandwhiches as an alternative - they were made the night before and left in a cool box!!

Appart from the shower it was reasonable value for money and close to the beach with good parking.

I would not stay hear again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarebmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M111PMJ, Owner at The White Heron, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2011

Guest details: One night Dbl room/two females/£68

Thank you for your critique. I am pleased that you found our establishment comfortable in almost all aspects. I do however apologise unreservedly for your showering experience.
Unfortunately with the new builds around us, we occasionally experience discoloured water. The thermostatic shower in your room has an ultra fine filter fitted internally and this had become partially blocked. Action to rectify this situation was taken immediately once we were made aware of it.
We are not a large hotel chain, just a small family run B&B and very approachable. Which is why it astounds us that you didn't tell us you had a problem that evening. Such action would have been the mature route to have taken, rather than making spiteful remarks on this site to try and hurt us. Your experience would also have become a more positive one, enabling you to offer praise for our swift intervention.
Furthermore, your comments regarding breakfast lack detail and present an inaccurate account. It was yourself that told us you would not be in for Breakfast, and as a consequence we then offered you bacon sandwiches rather than seeing you go without, which you accepted. You equally could have had brunch if you had so wished.
Whether you stay with us again in the future or not that's your call but, I cannot see any hotel in this area cooking breakfast between 6.00 & 7.00am or offering you the excellent care that we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polzeath
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
957 reviews
1.7 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,472 reviews
4.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
528 reviews
5.1 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Heron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Heron

Address: Trebetherick Road, Polzeath PL276TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polzeath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Polzeath
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Heron is a small family run 4 star hotel/B&B in Polzeath. All rooms are fully en-suite and include wide screen Digital LCD TVs with DVD players, free wireless broadband, tea/coffee making facilities, safes, touch lamps, soaps, lotions etc. We also have a licensed restaurant serving fantastic home-cooked meals and a newly-refurbished lounge for guests to relax in, with a 42” Sky TV and blu-ray player. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Heron Polzeath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing