We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb stay in Sunny Normandy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Roses

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Vimoutiers, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Flyer6618...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb stay in Sunny Normandy”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just enjoyed a wonderful week in the best accommodation we've ever expereinced in France. Our cottage at Les Panis was spacious and bright with comfortable furnishings-great kitchen and living area and a really comfortable bedroom and bathroom facilities.
Outside the pool is perfect especially given the hot weather we just enjoyed and the whole setting is tranquil and beautiful. There are tenisi courts and table tennis along with a fishing lake so you can never get bored.
The local town is quite sweet with lovely boulangeries and cafes.
The hosts Pat and Tony are extremely welcoming and work very hard to make guests feel very home and comfortable-nothing is too much trouble. We would highly recommend a stay there and will definitely be back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
p1nkLH
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous family break ”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful 7days here! We were a group of 10 taking up two of the cottages. We all loved it! The new owners Tony and Pat were so friendly and were always around should we have any problems. We had a couple of issues and these were taken care of immediately and didn't appear to be any hardship whatsoever. The pool was a little cold on first day, but by the following day the heater must have been on and it was perfect, obviously little cool when you get in but lovely once in. The children spent pretty much the whole time we were onsite in the pool! The lake is full of fish and my son and daughter had great fun with their uncle learning to fish and caught quite a few...I was not so lucky!

The house itself is just how I expected it to be...rustic French. I understand that the owners are gradually updating each cottage so I imagine this one will change a little when we return...which we will without a doubt. One feature that would make its easier for a family is the addition of a bath to this one with it being the largest would be a massive benefit, we did struggle having two little ones under two to shower although lucky for us we could use the bath in the other cottage we had

The grounds feel very safe and children played on the grass until the sun went down, with other families there also grown ups could sit on their decking areas and watch them safely

The facilities are great two washing machines meant I didn't have to come home with 5 peoples washing for a week

The local village is very pretty and the restaurant we were recommended was amazing. Be warned though France closes for the afternoon!!! 3-7!

We will return here for sure its a wonderful place very relaxed and very beautiful

Tony and pat are very helpful, and friendly and made everything just right for our week away

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natacha M
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful surrounds”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We actually stayed in one Of the owner's other gites which was well presented, clean and tidy and was everything that our small family needed. I couldn't review that property since the owners are having a change round from September. I wanted to mention how peaceful the whole place is. Surrounded by numerous trees in the bottom of a valley you can easily find. A corner to go and read a book....that's if you are not watching your kids having lots of fun in the heated pool, 15x 6m long. You could of course watch them from the jacuzzi which sits at one end, and that is certainly a good place to go after dinner for a chat with hubby or other gite occupants. If you fancy a bash around on the tennis court you can do that and even if no one wants to play against you, there is a wall at one end of the courtt who makes a reliable partner. Table tennis is available and bikes are there to use if you fancy peddling up a hill to get into Vimoutiers. Owners Tony and Pat are very friendly and are full of advice on where to visit and where to eat. Just wish we had booked for two weeks instead of one. Perfect place to forget about work and for the kids to be occupied without us having to motivate them!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation in the woods and gite felt like home
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel M
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful time... very relaxed , kids loved the fishing that is very safe ( and easy to catch!)
hot tub for each house which is a bonus!
we stayed in the 3 bedroom house - load of space- there were 7 of us but could fit more .
owners very helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekbjoh...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Location Location...............”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a return visit for a family party of nine and we were met by the new owners Tony and Pat, they took great pride in showing us the latest additions to the grounds. The grounds have been opened up and are a credit to their hard work. The location of Les Roses is idyllic, with a well stocked lake, if you like fishing.
The table tennis ,tennis court, swimming pool and hot tub were great amenities for young and old alike.
Our accommodation was clean and tidy on our arrival, with a bottle of the local tipple on the table!
The facilities inside were more than adequate particularly the large range type oven.
All in all we had a great holiday in a terrific location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Facilities
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing