We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing long weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Chenes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Vimoutiers, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gonkie
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing long weekend”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We (4 adults) drove over for three nights from England, and could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation. Debs and her team ( thanks again to Nick for all his fabulous recommendations!) did absolutely everything to make our trip enjoyable. The house, situated on the lake, was spacious and comfortable. Sitting out on the balcony in the evening, eating cheese and drinking wine while watching the wild life, was an amazing end to each day. The town is a 20 min walk away, with everything you could need (try the squid from the fish shop - best we've ever eaten!). The pool at the property is huge and perfectly located for all day sunshine. We also managed a trip to Honfleur which was only an hours drive away. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauriceSw...
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delighted as return visitors”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was our second visit to Les Patis and we have stayed in two different properties. We are very regular travellers to France. One has to understand at the outset that the setting is rural and in the countryside and, strangely, mice may exist here (obviously not in the Huntingdonshire countryside) and the grass may grow - but this is rural, gite-style, France, not the manicured gardens and bedding plants of the home counties (see previous review).
We had a great time - again. Les Bambous is spacious and well-equipped, the welcome is warm and friendly. Any reasonable request is provided for. Excellent local walking and cheese, cider and Calvados - what more could one want - oh, beer was OK too. The village of Camembert within walking distance and Livarot a short drive - put the cheese in the roof-box on the way home, it is particularly pungent but unparalleled taste.
We played golf at Pont l'Eveque (St Julien), Clecy and Houlgate - all excellent -and drank Calvados at Pere Magloire. Superb local restaurant at Le Camembertiere where the chef and his daughter entertained us with singing and squeeze-box, guitar and accordian late into the evening. Local village of Vimoutiers supplies every need.
So, from busy lives, take a chill-pill, a book and a glass - tolerate the field mouse, tickle the trout, smell the wildflowers, and, after dinner, with a glass and a slice of Livarot, have conversation (and leave your TV/DVD and MP4 at home - see previous review, where they belong), and listen to the wise owl - he knows a good place when he sees one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting.
Liked least: The staircase - so I destroyed it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen9027
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It may have been nice once, but it isn't now!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in September 2012
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a fortnight last September and were very disappointed by the property itself and the gardens.
The location of the four properties is very pleasant but the gardens are very unkempt and overgrown and the fishing lake needs the banks cleared. Cutting the grass and the bushes back would have made a difference.
The communal indoor areas were damp smelling and did have considerable amounts of mouse droppings. The pressoir is a fantastic thing but I didn't like the grubby appearance of the sofas or the smell, so wouldn't have felt comfortable using them. I also would not use the utility room because of the mouse droppings.
We were disappointed that clean sheets were not provided unless we paid extra, luckily we had two bedrooms so moved to the second bedroom for our second week.
The very worst thing was the cold and the damp smell that you notice as you open the front door of Les Bambous and go inside. The property is spacious but the extra charge for heating was, we felt, extortionate. We borrowed two paraffin heaters from the owner which took the chill off the property but made it smell even worse.The windows were dirty inside and out and the heaters caused condensation. I would not think that these heaters would be appropriate for use with children.
We took our own radio, ipod and TV/DVD as there isn't anything in the property.
The owner offered us a different property for the second week of our stay but we refused as we knew that the oven door was broken in the other property and we would still have had to buy firewood.
I appreciate the owner had a broken ankle at the time of our stay, but the grounds were so unkempt and overgrown, this hadn't happened in a few weeks. The bamboo needed attention as did the Japanese water garden.and you could barely get near the river it was so overgrown.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Fishing lake
Liked least: The fact that everything came with an extra charge- heating, clean sheets, wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place for a large group or extended family in beautiful mature gardens”
Reviewed 17 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We had a large family holiday here in July 2011 and have booked again for 2012.

The grounds are extensive and delightful with many mature trees of differet varieties with a running stream, ponds and an atmospheric fishing lake.

The accommodation is comfortable and pleasant without being fussy or precious. There is plenty of room for large groups to eat and play games etc in Les Frenes.

The owner is very nice and was extremely helpful during our stay. It is easy to shop in Vimoutiers, which is comfortably walkable.

All the children and many of the adults enjoyed fishing in the lake and lots of tennis, table-tennis (outdoor and bring your own bats & balls), and badminton (bring your own net etc but there is the space and it's sheltered) was played. The pool is beautifully positioned in a suntrap but without the sun, the water was cold.

If you are serious tennis players, be warned that the surface is not the best - but it does play a lot better than it looks and (unusually) there is a practice wall.

We made a few expeditions (to Bayeux and Deauville) which were each about an hour away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mature gardens,fishing lake,tennis & table-tennis
Liked least: The pool was a bit cold when the sun was not strong.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2012
I am so glad you all enjoyed your holiday at our lovely property. Unfortunately we had intermittent problems with the pool thermostat last summer which resulted in the pool being cooler than we would have wished at times. This has now been rectified. We look forward to seeing you all again in August!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing