We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Stay, second time even better than the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Patio
Upstairs twin bedroom
gameroom
Table tennis and darts in the barn
Nosy cow
Felix
(y)our horses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fauquembergues, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Talia H
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Stay, second time even better than the first”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I tend to avoid staying at the same place two years in a row however this time the choice to come back to Le Grand Marais couldn't have been more rewarding.

Ann and Graham, the owners, have clearly invested a lot of love and care in updating the Gites and maintaining the outside area. We stayed in Emerald again which was spotlessly clean with all mod cons and even had a brand new shower installed . Our three year old absolutely loved playing outside on the large grassy area with the trampoline and the mini soccer goal. For those evenings when the weather wasn't that kind we had the well equipped games room to keep him occupied.

As this was our second stay we were slightly more adventurous in exploring the surrounding area but we really didn't have to go very far. Whilst you have a small brasserie a short walk away in Fauquembourgs, if you go 5 minutes down the road to Thiembronne there are a couple of fantastic restaurants, classic French bakery and two supermarkets and lots more.

We would highly recommend a stay at the Le Grand Marais to anyone who was planning to holiday in the area, we'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments, and you are welcome to come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuninhoLe...
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chillax to the max!”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned home from one of the most relaxing holidays I've had in a long time.

Spotless on arrival and welcomed with some fresh eggs from the farm hens, the Gite provided the perfect break from city life for my wife and I.

The local town and supermarket are a 5 minute drive away but the rural setting and the peace & quiet made it the perfect setting for us.

We will definitely come back at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel G
1 review
“Great time, thanks to Ann and Graham for a wonderful stay.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great location, good facilities, wonderful time had by the whole family. We had some great weather but a couple of damp days. The play room for the kids worth its weight in gold.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gaznholz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, lovely people, lovey stay :-)”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a lovely week in this cottage even with 4 very excited little girls!
It really felt like home, we loved the views and the ease of travel. Close to everything we wanted.
Comfy beds with space for everyone. Our children loved it! Thank you so much for letting us stay in emerald... We will Defiantly stay again I hope!!
Gaz and Hollie

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talia H
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic accommodation,perfect location”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We've just returned after a magnificent four day break staying in the Emerald Gite at la Grand Marais.

The location is perfect, real farm surroundings but within easy walking distance of the local village with that all important family friendly bistro. Supermarket is just 5 mins drive as are local shops. Our two year old absolutely loved playing in the very child friendly grounds with the swings, slide and neighbouring cows to amuse him. On the one day we had rain we used the well equipped games rooms which has ping pong , a pool table,bar football plus endless books and toys for smaller kids.

We couldn't believe how well situated we were for day trips. In the four days we were there we visited St Omer,Monriuex, Boulogne (Nausica, sea world was fantastic) and even managed to squeeze in a day trip to Bruges ( just 1hr 45 drive).

The Gite itself was very clean with everything we needed including a decent WiFi connection which pleased my husband. There is a second Gite next door which would be ideal if you are travelling in a large group.

Definately a 5 star experience, highly reccomended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and well equipped family friendly accomodation
Liked least: having to leave at the end of our stay
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing