We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has the potential to be great, but currently a little run down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Auberge du Moulin d'Audenfort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clerques
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It has the potential to be great, but currently a little run down.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 night stay and overall it was pleasant. The hotel is in a good location for doing day trips out to the surrounding areas and it was clean but a little tired and shabby. It is a converted mill so it is unique and we loved the old furniture and beamed ceilings. I particularly liked falling asleep to the sound of running water from the stream outside, very relaxing. Some points which the owners could improve on: The mattress had no protector on- just the sheet straight on the mattress. The tiles in the bathroom were in need of re-grouting and there was no shower curtain or shower holder (it was a handheld shower). One morning we woke up late and found there was no hot water so we had to have a cold shower. They didn't provide any water glasses or drink making facilities in the rooms. The wifi was only in the hotel reception area, it didn't stretch as far as the rooms and even in the reception area it was patchy, The towels were replaced daily but they did seem threadbare and the bins were never emptied. The rooms were not very soundproof but as it's only a small hotel it isn't much of a problem as everybody was quiet and respectful. We had breakfast on the first morning. It consisted of coffee, orange juice, a croissant, jam, baguette and cheese. We felt it needed at least some fruit or cereal.. Nobody knew what to put in their breakfast bowl- why were these put on the table when only plates were needed? The evening meal was ok but nothing special however the house wine was good. The price is reasonable and we would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazzarini007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    66
    35
    24
    22
See reviews for
24
124
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been regular visitors to L'Auberge du Moulin in Audenfort. We loved the location, the service and the peaceful atmosphere. Last year it changed hands and what a change.
We spent 3 nights and during that time our room was never cleaned, nor the waste bins emptied.
The towels were frayed, threadbare and had seen better days.
You could not return to the hotel during the day as it was locked-up and not manned. Although it was billed as a hotel and charged on that basis, it was run like a cheap hostel or a third rate boarding house.
The breakfast was sparse and the food was below par and repetitive.
It's a shame as we loved the place when the previous owners ran it. We shall not be returning again.

Room Tip: Choose a upper florr room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Personnel was not friendly, the walls were so thin that you heard everything from the whole floor, the watermill at the reception and all the noices from everywhere.
We didn't get the little liqor bottle, nor chocolates and when we asked for them we got the answer: as you didn't have dinner here, you don't get the free presents.
I already visited a lot of hotels, but this was the worst ever. Breakfast was very sober, 1 croissant a person, only white baguette, warm yoghurt and coffee and milk. no eggs, no fruit juice and when we asked for the eggs we got an angry look and the answer NO, there are no eggs.
I would not recommend this hotel at all!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clerques hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I have been visiting L'Auberge du Moulin for over 10 years, during which time we have seen the ownership change once, back in the early 2000s. Apart from the peaceful location, one of the main attractions has always been the fabulous, inventive food - all local, and always exciting and delicious. This has always more than made up for the somewhat basic accommodation - which is reflected in the low price. We have just returned from a weekend at Moulin d'Audenfort, and unfortunately it will be our last visit. We didn't know it had changed hands again, and unfortunately the new owners do not have a passion for running this establishment. There was no welcome and the rooms are in sore need of some TLC. Our room was not even opened, let alone cleaned, during our stay and there is nowhere to hang or dry towels - so damp towels were what we had. Most disappointing though, was the restaurant. We have always looked forward to the food here - both Catherine Cadet and the previous owner shared a love of food - but this was little better than mediocre, with just boiled potatoes and carrots accompanying every dish. This is not what we have come to expect, and if there had been another restaurant nearby, we would have gone there the 2nd night. I feel it's the end of an era for us. The new owners really need to put some effort into caring for their hotel/restaurant/guests in order to encourage customers to return. They need to recognise the lengths Philip & Catherine Cadet went to in order to make us all want to come back year after year, as an actual destination rather than just a stop over en route to/from the Chunnel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladysnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I am reviewing the restaurant as we have not stayed in the hotel. We ate here a couple of times several years ago and decided to try it again. There was no welcome - no staff members in reception or in the bar. We wandered into the dining room where we had booked a table but had to stand around before catching the waiter's eye. Actually the two waiters worked very hard but there wasn't anyone in charge. The food was average....my husband cannot stand cold plates! There was no convivial atmosphere.....all very hushed in tone. We will not be eating here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It's a pity Philip and Catherine Cadet sold the Auberge three months ago. The brilliant service, hospitality and atmosphere have gone with them.

Four of us booked four single occupancy rooms for two nights three weeks before we arrived to be told when we got there that only three rooms were available. After a long argument where the new owner appeared to be uninterested in our concerns, two of us went to the car to find another hotel. When the owner saw us about to leave he ran out and said that there had been a last minute cancellation and that he could now accommodate us! We stayed for one night and decided because it was late that we would eat at the Auberge. We booked for 7pm and arrived at the dining room at 6.50pm to find it locked. We waited for 40minutes but no-one came to give us a menu or let us or the three other waiting couples into the dining room. The lounge area was freezing cold and when we asked if the owner could light the wood burning stove he made it very clear that he would not. We left to find another restaurant with one of the other couples. When we returned quite late we noticed that there were 5 keys hanging at reception - did this mean that there were 5 empty rooms all along?!

I have been staying at the Auberge for almost 20 years and all of the previous 4 owners have offered good service and hospitality. The new owner lacked even basic customer service skills so was probably trained at the Faulty Towers school of hotel management!!

This is the first Trip Advisor review I have completed and I believe my rating is accurate. There may have been a very good reason for all the events that we experienced, but I am sad that this little gem of a cheap hotel has suffered such a demise. A great disappointment.

Room Tip: Try a hotel nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I and three friends booked for two nights with confidence as one of them had visited the Auberge several times. We were not greeted at all. When we found someone, he was not at all welcoming. The hotel claimed we only wanted three rooms. When someone senior arrived, I was able to see the hotel register which had been changed although the following night still showed us with four rooms. Two of us went to the car to drop me at another hotel .... the senior person cam to the car and said that Mr & Mrs XXX had just cancelled and therefore we could have four rooms. The rooms are basic - very basic - and cold. We meet up in the reception area, also unheated, and finally got a drink brought to us. There we chatted to some other guests who were all complaining. The dining door was unlocked at 7.00pm but we were not invited to dine. When I knocked on the kitchen door and asked whether they would like us to eat, the junior man shrugged his shoulders and pointed at a table for four. The menu was extensive - far too many items to maintain a decent standard, I suspect. I say suspect because, after a refusal from the staff to resuscitate the fire, we left to eat at another restaurant.... as did at least one other party. We returned after our meal, sloped off to our cold rooms. After a decent breakfast, I collared the senior man and asked to speak to the owner. He claimed he was to which I said "bon chance" and we checked out.... he didn't seem to care. The place was by no means full so I fear the story about not having four rooms was a little inventive. The chap in our party who had been before was due to take 15 golfers there next April - he will not now.

Room Tip: Please read recent reviews to find if things have improved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulNCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clerques
5.6 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
474 reviews
8.0 mi away
Le Moulin de Mombreux
Le Moulin de Mombreux
#2 of 2 in Lumbres
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Manoir Bonningues-les-Ardres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Logis Hotel du Beffroi
Logis Hotel du Beffroi
#1 of 1 in Gravelines
138 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
312 reviews
12.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge du Moulin d'Audenfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge du Moulin d'Audenfort

Property: L'Auberge du Moulin d'Audenfort
Address: 16 impasse du Gue, 62890 Clerques, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Clerques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clerques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — L'Auberge du Moulin d'Audenfort 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your L'Auberge du Moulin d'Audenfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Du Moulin d`Audenfort Hotel Clerques
L'Auberge Du Moulin D'Audenfort France/Clerques, Pas-De-Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing