We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Auberge du Moulin d'Audenfort
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Le Chateau de Cocove(Recques-sur-Hem)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Golf(Lumbres)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Moulin de Mombreux(Lumbres)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Sapiniere(Saint-Omer)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Ferme du Vert(Wierre-Effroy)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
49
71
40
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
71
40
28
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Easy to find when you stop and ask! Handy for the motorway, but in the peace and tranquility of a small riverside village.
The Auberge is run by the chef de cuisine and his two sons. We were received in cheerful and friendly manner, though my request for a ground floor room hadn't got through.There was a ground-floor room available though...not enormous, nor was the bathroom, but the bed was very comfortable and we had a view over the garden from one window and the small weir from the other. The heating was very efficient too - we were there is April .We really felt as if we had a room over the river and were charmed by the setting.

The Auberge is a converted mill (Moulin) and the bar/sitting room is so fashioned that the river visibly runs through/underneath it. Brilliant! (It has a fairly high wood palisade running round the river viewing aret, and is this safe for children). However, access to the upper bedrooms is by a fairly narrow and 'steepish' staircase. One of us is slightly disabled and would have gone upstairs with a little difficulty. The staircase is the result of preserving the old mill and its polished machnery, with the river visibly running underneath the sitting room.

The evening menu starts at 22 euros, which we found a little expensive, but we live in France so have access to less costly menus. The service at table was extremely helpful (some small dietary requirements and questions were answered, and cheerfully accommodated). We left with a hand-written recipe from the chef, of one of the dishes served! We'll stay again.

Room Tip: There is always the sound of running water, which lulled us to sleep, but might be disturbing for others.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 night stay and overall it was pleasant. The hotel is in a good location for doing day trips out to the surrounding areas and it was clean but a little tired and shabby. It is a converted mill so it is unique and we loved the old furniture and beamed ceilings. I particularly liked falling asleep to the sound of running water from the stream outside, very relaxing. Some points which the owners could improve on: The mattress had no protector on- just the sheet straight on the mattress. The tiles in the bathroom were in need of re-grouting and there was no shower curtain or shower holder (it was a handheld shower). One morning we woke up late and found there was no hot water so we had to have a cold shower. They didn't provide any water glasses or drink making facilities in the rooms. The wifi was only in the hotel reception area, it didn't stretch as far as the rooms and even in the reception area it was patchy, The towels were replaced daily but they did seem threadbare and the bins were never emptied. The rooms were not very soundproof but as it's only a small hotel it isn't much of a problem as everybody was quiet and respectful. We had breakfast on the first morning. It consisted of coffee, orange juice, a croissant, jam, baguette and cheese. We felt it needed at least some fruit or cereal.. Nobody knew what to put in their breakfast bowl- why were these put on the table when only plates were needed? The evening meal was ok but nothing special however the house wine was good. The price is reasonable and we would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazzarini007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been regular visitors to L'Auberge du Moulin in Audenfort. We loved the location, the service and the peaceful atmosphere. Last year it changed hands and what a change.
We spent 3 nights and during that time our room was never cleaned, nor the waste bins emptied.
The towels were frayed, threadbare and had seen better days.
You could not return to the hotel during the day as it was locked-up and not manned. Although it was billed as a hotel and charged on that basis, it was run like a cheap hostel or a third rate boarding house.
The breakfast was sparse and the food was below par and repetitive.
It's a shame as we loved the place when the previous owners ran it. We shall not be returning again.

Room Tip: Choose a upper florr room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Personnel was not friendly, the walls were so thin that you heard everything from the whole floor, the watermill at the reception and all the noices from everywhere.
We didn't get the little liqor bottle, nor chocolates and when we asked for them we got the answer: as you didn't have dinner here, you don't get the free presents.
I already visited a lot of hotels, but this was the worst ever. Breakfast was very sober, 1 croissant a person, only white baguette, warm yoghurt and coffee and milk. no eggs, no fruit juice and when we asked for the eggs we got an angry look and the answer NO, there are no eggs.
I would not recommend this hotel at all!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sofie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I have been visiting L'Auberge du Moulin for over 10 years, during which time we have seen the ownership change once, back in the early 2000s. Apart from the peaceful location, one of the main attractions has always been the fabulous, inventive food - all local, and always exciting and delicious. This has always more than made up for the somewhat basic accommodation - which is reflected in the low price. We have just returned from a weekend at Moulin d'Audenfort, and unfortunately it will be our last visit. We didn't know it had changed hands again, and unfortunately the new owners do not have a passion for running this establishment. There was no welcome and the rooms are in sore need of some TLC. Our room was not even opened, let alone cleaned, during our stay and there is nowhere to hang or dry towels - so damp towels were what we had. Most disappointing though, was the restaurant. We have always looked forward to the food here - both Catherine Cadet and the previous owner shared a love of food - but this was little better than mediocre, with just boiled potatoes and carrots accompanying every dish. This is not what we have come to expect, and if there had been another restaurant nearby, we would have gone there the 2nd night. I feel it's the end of an era for us. The new owners really need to put some effort into caring for their hotel/restaurant/guests in order to encourage customers to return. They need to recognise the lengths Philip & Catherine Cadet went to in order to make us all want to come back year after year, as an actual destination rather than just a stop over en route to/from the Chunnel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ladysnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews