We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fussiest family find hotel heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Providence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Providence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fussiest family find hotel heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The owners Anita and Alex were charming. The beautiful old hotel was filled with antiques and vintage clothes and accessories. High ceilings, wooden floors, gorgeous staircase. We had a quad room and there were 3 comfy beds with a balcony and a very clean shower room. We had dinner there - the set meal was very tasty but you need to go a la carte for the meat eaters - with lovely local wine (Alex is a wine buff) at a very reasonable price sat outside (no mozzies in the mountains) listening to the cow bells as they came back down the hills for the night. We also enjoyed a simple but delicious breakfast. 49, 45, 13 and 11 year old all agree it is the best hotel we have stayed in. And the cats were HUGE!

Room Tip: I find it hard to imagine there is a bad one but if you are still in the mothers' light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katpb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boortmeerbeek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Our stay at this beautiful hotel in authentic french style became a very pleasant surprise! This hotel is lovely decorated with brocante pieces. Our hosts Anita and Alexander made us feel at home right away. Busy or not, Alexander takes the time to advice you the best local wines, while Anita even served us an extra dish of her delicious tagliatelli. The price? More than fair!
We were impressed and hope to come back soon.

Hilde and Geert from Belgium

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our family group chose this hotel to stay in for our mother's 85th birthday celebration - she had always wanted to vist the Auvergne due to a piece of music from a CD Songs of the Auvergne, 'Bailero' by Canteloube. Unfortunately we forgot the CD! We were looking for an authentic, slightly rustic and comfortable base for the long weekend visit and chose Hotel de La Providence because it looked absolutley charming. From the booking stage Alexander was attentive and efficient and this was reflected in the warm welcome on arrival. Anita's natural friendliness charmed us all. Nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable beds, nice food and a really cosy evening atmosphere... I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely, traditional hotel. If I had to find a negative, it would have to be the lack of much else going on in this very sleepy town - but it did not matter as we happliy spent our evenings in the hotel after long days out. We left to the sounds of Mum's beloved 'Bailero' which Alexander found in his extensive collection of music. What better service could you ask for? We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We've enjoyed our stay here very much! The owners Alexander and Anita are very friendly, the food is delicious, the wine great, the beds comfortable... - couldn't really be better and we will sure come back here if we travel the Auvergne region again. We can really recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egliseneuve-d'Entraigues
13.0 mi away
Hotel Aviation
Hotel Aviation
#1 of 16 in La Bourboule
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
8.2 mi away
Auberge de la Petite Ferme
Auberge de la Petite Ferme
#2 of 8 in Besse-et-Saint-Anastaise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
14.3 mi away
Mercure Saint Nectaire Spa & Bien-etre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Artense
Artense
#10 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Le Clos
Hotel Le Clos
#3 of 8 in Besse-et-Saint-Anastaise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
13.1 mi away
Le Parc des Fees Hotel
Le Parc des Fees Hotel
#4 of 16 in La Bourboule
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Providence

Property: Hotel de la Providence
Address: 13, route de Besse, 63850 Egliseneuve-d'Entraigues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Egliseneuve-d'Entraigues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Egliseneuve-d'Entraigues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL-RESTAURANT DE LA PROVIDENCE lies in the middle of the Volcanic Parc of the Auvergne. Enjoy the overwhelming beauty of our nature in summer and skiing cross country around our village or alpine skiing nearby at Super Besse! Our rooms have been renovated and decorated in traditional French style. Facilities: massageroom, wifi, bar/lounge, restaurant, private parking and a garden with a terrace where you can choose to have lunch or dinner.We speak French, English, Dutch, German, Russian and we have a moderate command of Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de la Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing