We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, bad restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent one night in this hotel in August 2013. It is well located a few minutes drive from Lac Pavin. There are also a few hiking trails starting in the village. The hotel is in an old house, and it furnished with antiques which give it a very nice style. The room was spacious and clean, so was the bathroom. The staff was also extremely nice. So overall the hotel was great. We would have had a fantastic experience if we did not have dinner there though. The restaurant was crowded and the menu restricted to very basic items. And 25 euros for a small plate of tomatoes mozzarella and what was supposed to be a local specialty (but turned out to be mashed potatoes with a little bit of cheese and ham, really dry), is quite expensive. We did not enjoy our dinner at all. Wine was affordable though. I would recommend the hotel but suggest to avoid the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of three nights in a "luxury" room at The Providence. Of the two choices available to us, we chose the larger even though the passage from the street to the parking passes directly underneath. The extra room was worth the occasional sound of car passing slowly underneath

The room faced the rear garden and had a pleasant view up the hill with a few other homes and buildings in the background. The two french windows brought in cool evening breezes even after the hot summer days.

Alex and Anita seem to authentically enjoy their role as hosts, and were very helpful to us as we planned our days.

The village has a good boulanger/pattiserie and a small grocery shop. There are a couple of other places for a drink or something to eat. It is situated perfectly for day trips in multiple directions.

It was a delightful, romantic couple of days for us.

Room Tip: Among the "luxury" rooms available, we chose the larger of the two on the first floor abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingstrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely newly renovated hotel in Auvergne. The owners have gone into a lot of trouble to make a place of great comfort but also in a very classic design. It is a hotel with its own charm bringing past and prersent together. We had dinner at the hotel both nights and the food was delicious, in a more Italian style than French style. The hotel is situated in a very unique part of France. Nature is very varried, lovely rivers, barren hills with cows grassing and many lakes some in old volcanic craters which make for some very beautiful walks. We will highly recommend this hotel for those who want to experience a very spectacular part of France.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Braskpedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The owners Anita and Alex were charming. The beautiful old hotel was filled with antiques and vintage clothes and accessories. High ceilings, wooden floors, gorgeous staircase. We had a quad room and there were 3 comfy beds with a balcony and a very clean shower room. We had dinner there - the set meal was very tasty but you need to go a la carte for the meat eaters - with lovely local wine (Alex is a wine buff) at a very reasonable price sat outside (no mozzies in the mountains) listening to the cow bells as they came back down the hills for the night. We also enjoyed a simple but delicious breakfast. 49, 45, 13 and 11 year old all agree it is the best hotel we have stayed in. And the cats were HUGE!

Room Tip: I find it hard to imagine there is a bad one but if you are still in the mothers' light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katpb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Our stay at this beautiful hotel in authentic french style became a very pleasant surprise! This hotel is lovely decorated with brocante pieces. Our hosts Anita and Alexander made us feel at home right away. Busy or not, Alexander takes the time to advice you the best local wines, while Anita even served us an extra dish of her delicious tagliatelli. The price? More than fair!
We were impressed and hope to come back soon.

Hilde and Geert from Belgium

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our family group chose this hotel to stay in for our mother's 85th birthday celebration - she had always wanted to vist the Auvergne due to a piece of music from a CD Songs of the Auvergne, 'Bailero' by Canteloube. Unfortunately we forgot the CD! We were looking for an authentic, slightly rustic and comfortable base for the long weekend visit and chose Hotel de La Providence because it looked absolutley charming. From the booking stage Alexander was attentive and efficient and this was reflected in the warm welcome on arrival. Anita's natural friendliness charmed us all. Nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable beds, nice food and a really cosy evening atmosphere... I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely, traditional hotel. If I had to find a negative, it would have to be the lack of much else going on in this very sleepy town - but it did not matter as we happliy spent our evenings in the hotel after long days out. We left to the sounds of Mum's beloved 'Bailero' which Alexander found in his extensive collection of music. What better service could you ask for? We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We've enjoyed our stay here very much! The owners Alexander and Anita are very friendly, the food is delicious, the wine great, the beds comfortable... - couldn't really be better and we will sure come back here if we travel the Auvergne region again. We can really recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egliseneuve-d'Entraigues
9.3 mi away
Le Puy-Ferrand
Le Puy-Ferrand
#2 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
383 reviews
14.2 mi away
Mercure Saint Nectaire Spa & Bien-etre Hotel
8.5 mi away
Brit Hotel Les Mouflons
Brit Hotel Les Mouflons
#7 of 8 in Besse-et-Saint-Anastaise
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Gergovia
Hotel Gergovia
#1 of 8 in Besse-et-Saint-Anastaise
623 reviews
8.1 mi away
Auberge de la Petite Ferme
Auberge de la Petite Ferme
#2 of 8 in Besse-et-Saint-Anastaise
270 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Le Russie
Hotel Le Russie
#4 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Providence

Address: 13 route de Besse, 63850 Egliseneuve-d'Entraigues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Egliseneuve-d'Entraigues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Egliseneuve-d'Entraigues
Price Range: £51 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL-RESTAURANT DE LA PROVIDENCE lies in the middle of the Volcanic Parc of the Auvergne. Enjoy the overwhelming beauty of our nature in summer and skiing cross country around our village or alpine skiing nearby at Super Besse! Our rooms have been renovated and decorated in traditional French style. Facilities: massageroom, wifi, bar/lounge, restaurant, private parking and a garden with a terrace where you can choose to have lunch or dinner.We speak French, English, Dutch, German, Russian and we have a moderate command of Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de la Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing