We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sensational service and quality”
Review of Horsley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horsley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“sensational service and quality”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I have just returned from Horsley Lodge after spending the weekend there with three friends, we found Horsley by chance several years ago and booked it for a golfing weekend, we have been back every year since, I didn't think the course or the hotel could be improved upon but they proved us wrong. The rooms have all just been refurbished to a very hight standard, the food even better as is the golf course, but more importantly the service given by every member of staff is without doubt the best I have ever experience at any hotel, nothing is to much trouble. If your looking for a hotel in this area you can't do better than this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnson-Onions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSalt, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Wow! Thanks for the excellent review. Glad you like our refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms. They certainly are something special and have resulted in the AA awarding us 79% and inviting us to be in "Britain's Best Hotels"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    74
    33
    14
    4
See reviews for
131
93
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

It's not often you can you can say going out on fathers day for a meal is a really good experience. Often the restaurants are so full and busy its spoiled but yesterday we had a great meal at Horsley Lodge. The carvery was delicious with a superb selection of vegetables and desserts. Dad said the apple and strawberry crumble was the best he's ever had (and he's 86) Hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pspritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSalt, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Glad you enjoyed the meal on Father's Day. We serve a great lunch at £5.95 for 1 course £8.95 for 2 course on all other days but Sundays when we serve our fablous carvery and Sunday lunch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

£16.95 for four courses "Fathers Day Lunch" First of all I had booked a table with a window view on arrival The Old Resturant is what I had booked as I dont do carvery which is the rest of the resturant with all the good views which was packed red hot and noisy, so I as looking forward to the other resturant, we were told to take a seat have a drink and wait, I popped my head around door and there were two sets of 8 tables set up facing the windows and a table for two by the wall next to the door, ok so I knew this was my table, before I went into my moan mood I asked the manager ( Is this my table? yes he replied !! why would any person with any sense set up a table there ?) anyway he moved the table and we sat in the window, the service was excellent and food could not fault it except two much food to be exact and the coffee was a slight tepid, we went and sat outside for this, overall very good compliments to the chef.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSalt, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for your good review, we always try to offer a good choice on a Sunday : Our Carvery is only £7.95 which is why it's busy most Sunday's but as you point out, the restaurant is also excellent value. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My last visit to Horsley Lodge was July 2010 I experiance a terrible meal .I re-visited last night after being told there was a new Food & Beverage manager and a relaunch of the resturant and I could not believe what a differance11 months has made.The resturant appearance had changed the standard of food was excellant and the staff was more attentive. Well done to Paul & his Staff

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank anon19851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardSalt, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thankyou for your good review, it's good to see our efforts are being recognised and we continue to strive to improve in all we do here. It really makes the staff's day when they see a good score on Tripadvisor, its a pity the negative ones are such a minority in the real scheme of things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The standard of the hotel is excellent.. The rooms have all been refurbished to an extremely high standard. The receptionist (Laura) met us, showed us to our room and could not have been more helpful. The golf course is in very good condition and we were made to feel most welcome by everyone in the hotel. Congratulations to all concerned in providing us with a great Sunday Driver Package. We will definately be visitng again and hopefully next time the sun will shine a little more as the gale force winds made the course slightly tricky!
Thanks for a lovely stay and see you soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect with pillows to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

As a group of development managers for PE and Sport, we meet monthly at Horsley Lodge. The venue is excellent and food always of the highest quality. The facility is excellent for a small conference or boardroom type meeting. I would recommend it without hesitation. John Barker

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taptonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Our Golfing Society (PIGS - Potteries International Golf Society) visited Horsley lodge for Lunch (soup & sandwiches) Golf and Dinner. We were very impressed with the welcome, the lunch was good, the golf course very enjoyable - with some testing tricky greens - shall we say ****(and we have played a lot of the best courses). The evening meal (Steak Pie) really acceptable with great pastry and tender meat.The value for money could not be beaten The overall service was 5-stars and we shall certainly return next year. We are also considering having a week-end there for a branch of PIGS known as "The August Club" so, at the moment, can't comment on accommodation. Tony Sethi

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsley
1.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
18.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
997 reviews
14.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
9.5 mi away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Lodge

Property: Horsley Lodge
Address: Lodge Horsley Lodge Smalley Mill Road | Derby, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the City of Derby and within easy access of the Peak District National Park, Horsley Lodge Hotel offers a quiet retreat for those looking to stay, dine, golf, relax or attend a function. Just driving through the gate is promising, but the Hotel at Horsley Lodge has received significant investment over recent years with all bedrooms and bathrooms being refitted and now combining the comforts of home with stylish design. Modern chic meets old style country retreat. The hotel has also recently totally refurbished its restaurant and function suite with Award Winning Interior designers. The restaurant serves a variety of food for guests to suit all tastes and dining styles. This fine Country House built 150 years ago has 14 suites and rooms, each have super-king size beds, surrounded by fine fabrics and wall coverings giving each room an individual design, most with a view of the Par 3 ninth hole and service standards of a very high quality. Recently re-awarded 86% by the AA inspectors. We look forward to welcoming you to see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Horsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Hotel Horsley
Horsley Hotel Derby
Horsley Lodge Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing