We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”
Review of Horsley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horsley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great night to be had by all on NYE.
This is a lovely hotel, hotels rooms have recently refurbished and are beautiful.. I've looked in them all and they are all very different. Great location for a weekend away or for golf lovers.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjolovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Everyone had a great night at New Years but only a lucky few get to stay in one of our 11 rooms.
They do need booking way in advance on that night however. Thanks for taking time to tell Tripadvisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed overnight with 2 colleagues from Germany and Austria prior to a business meeting in Derby the following day. We all stayed for dinner in the restaurant on the vening of our stay.
The rooms were very well appointed with more than enough facilities and complementary quality toiletries. The bed was really comfortable and had quality linen which was a real indulgance. The hotel is located well off the raod and therefore noise was not a problem and windows could be left open.
The restaurant was relatively quiet on the evening we were there but there were plenty of friendly staff and the meal was superb. It was an uncomplicated menu but there was plenty of variety to suit all tastes. The only downside (if it can be called that) was no linen napkins.
The reception staff were efficient, polite and friendly. As this was our first visit we were personally shown to our rooms which was a nice touch.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again as it was excellent quality and value in a convenient position.

Room Tip: Call receprtion and ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marksnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you Mark for a great review and Im glad your colleagues from Germany and Austria were impressed with Horsley Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Haven't been here for a number of years and wasn't expecting a lot based on past experience, however was pretty impressed.
We were there for Sunday lunch which had a decent choice of meats (lamb, pork, and beef), and competitively priced considering the location. The starters were great as well, nice variety, and impeccable presentation.

The eating area itself is bright and quite airy, felt like a very large conservatory with plenty of space between tables, certainly didn't feel as though we were crammed in.

The only minor gripes were with the roast potatoes (not particularly crispy), and the fact that our empty starter plates were not cleared from the table before we started our main courses.

However, would recommend to other people, and am sure will visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jackburton30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thanks for contributing a review for Horsley Lodge and Im pleased we were a pleasent surprise.
As a restaurant now in our 23rd year, we are constantly evolving and hopefully improving both style and presentation. We are always trying new ways of serving and hope you will come back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

had a fab day everyhing went well ,food excellent room excellent had loads of great comments, we did advice our son to get married abroad to save all the both but you know what we were wrong this was the best wedding ever worth every last penny and we would recommend this venue to anyone nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

I love this review, so much so i'll repeat your words
" this was the best wedding ever worth every last penny and we would recommend this venue to anyone nothing was too much trouble" just to make sure couples looking for a wedding venue come and view Horsley Lodge. Glad we made your day first class!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

recently had our wedding reception there. the staff were all very welcoming and could not do enough for us, they even opend early for us to start setting up our room! its in a lovely location with stunning scenery. the building and rooms are also of a high standard. would recomend for anyone to visit

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thanks Adam for the great review following your wedding here. The staff hope it was a day to remember and enjoyed looking after you and your guests
Enjoy married life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here on an overnight stop off. Nice hotel and excellent cheerful staff when I arrived in the evening.
Room was comfortable, clean and peaceful.

Went for breakfast in the morning and was greeted by a lady on reception that looked like she hadn't smiled in a decade, why these people work front of house in a customer facing environment never ceases to amaze me.

Breakfast was nice but considering there were only 3 people in the room I'd expect service to be of a much higher standard, I wasn't offered a choice of eggs so I presume they can only fry them.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something quiet on a business trip as its tucked away miles from anywhere in nice surroundings and provided you don't mind the occasional grumpy host its ideal. For couples or families consider upgrading to a luxury cottage as the rooms are comfy but hardly inspiring.

I stayed here on a late deal, had I paid the rack rate I would have been disappointed and my feedback far more critical.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Sonnic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

A pleasent stay, but it appears we did well to achieve 4/5 here from this senior contributer to this site. We are surprised to hear of the "grumpy receptionist" as all our staff are always very cheerful, even early in the morning.
The breakfast menu offers eggs cooked to your choosing along with eggs benedict and harlequin, so we don't just fry. However, a pleasant stay Im glad you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just had our third meal in a few months at the highlander restaurant in the last few months and it was superb. The quality of the food, service and surrounds are faultless. I am fed up of going to local pubs serving microwave and frozen food with poor service at a price that is marginally cheaper if not the same at Horsley Lodge. The service is attentive without being overbearing and the quality of the food really is outstanding. I would recommend this to anyone and will certainly be coming back on a regular basis to enjoy in my opinion the best restaurant in the area by a county mile. We have a seven year old daughter who never stop talking about how good the food is and how much she likes the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IDC1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of the restaurant, I too find it baffling why so many people choose microwave pubs to go for a family meal when there are independants offering quality food at great value like us. We look forward to seeing you and the family here again soon. Thanks for your recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsley
1.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.4 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,480 reviews
10.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
14.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Lodge

Address: Lodge Horsley Lodge Smalley Mill Road | Derby, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Price Range: £98 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the City of Derby and within easy access of the Peak District National Park, Horsley Lodge Hotel offers a quiet retreat for those looking to stay, dine, golf, relax or attend a function. Just driving through the gate is promising, but the Hotel at Horsley Lodge has received significant investment over recent years with all bedrooms and bathrooms being refitted and now combining the comforts of home with stylish design. Modern chic meets old style country retreat. The hotel has also recently totally refurbished its restaurant and function suite with Award Winning Interior designers. The restaurant serves a variety of food for guests to suit all tastes and dining styles. This fine Country House built 150 years ago has 14 suites and rooms, each have super-king size beds, surrounded by fine fabrics and wall coverings giving each room an individual design, most with a view of the Par 3 ninth hole and service standards of a very high quality. Recently re-awarded 86% by the AA inspectors. We look forward to welcoming you to see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Horsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Hotel Horsley
Horsley Hotel Derby
Horsley Lodge Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing