We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamorous room and pleasant stay”
Review of Horsley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horsley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed here as we had a family party near by. Had a beautiful boutique room with a fantastic view! There was a wedding going on with music that night but once we was in our room we couldn't hear it at all. Really peaceful sleep, breakfast menu was standard but croissants were a bit hard because over cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyFairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Im glad you enjoyed your "glamorous room" on your recent visit
All our rooms are of the same standard but if you get one with a golf course view
as you did, it makes it extra special

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Horsley Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We arrived on a lovely Sunday afternoon and had drinks outsied on the balcony overlooking the golf course.
it is in a beautiful setting and the cottage(only 1) we had booked was very romantic set out over 3 levels with a spa bath situated in the eaves and a raised bed on the second level.
It even had its own kitchen area and a couple of great sofas.
Lots of candles were in the cottage which aded to the romance.
As it was a Sunday evening there wasn't much choice for evening meal in the restaurant but what we got was good quality.
The breakfast was excellent the next morning and all round the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: 'Id book the Cottage every time for a romantic stay but probably the rooms in the main lodge wer...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angiev246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Im glad you liked Barn Cottage and as you say "only one" but not for long .....as we are converting next door into "The Guv'nors House" This is going to be even better than your wonderful description of Barn Cottage above. Look out for photos as it comes online

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Professional, pleasant staff and a wonderful carvery. All food was hot, tasty and fresh - even though we had booked a later table. Service was quick and the place was calm, clean and tidy (and no screaming kids :)). Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Malandra002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thanks for posting a review of our carvery.
Its well known and great value and we only serve quality topside of Derbyshire beef, English lamb and local pork all at £8.50
How often these days do you find pork, gammon and turkey and frozen roasties and Yorkshires
for a similar price. I often bring my own family up as it tastes as good as my wifes cooking
but I can't promise no screaming kids every time, my 4 year old daughter knows where the chocolate mints are kept and that keeps her quiet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Marriott hotel at Breadsall Priory was over budget, so my employer booked me into Horsley Lodge. I wasn't sure what to expect...after all it's a golf club. Well, I was pleasantly surprised...my room was tastefully furnished with qualify fabrics and the bed very comfortable. The room service menu was limited. However the staff at breakfast were very pleasant. I would have no hesitation staying here again...oh, and the view from my room, wonderful :-)

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Pot&Pan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Your first concern of a golf club should not put you off. (Breadsall is one too) and Im glad we dispelled any fears and came in under budget.
We are welcoming and friendly and once inside you soon realise you are in a home from home, not a stuffy wood pannelled place full of old G&T drinkers
Do book in here next time you are up here on business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Quite a small hotel in comparison to the average hotel. Some rooms overlook the golfing green. All rooms decorated differently. Some rooms can be noisy if over the kitchen area. Food is of a high standard with lots of choice. Wifi available throughout the hotel and tends to be quite fast. Staff very friendly and will cater for your every need.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiles1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just had our 25th Wedding Anniversary here and had a wonderful day. Beverley Salt and all her staff took care of our every need. The food was also really lovely and we would recommend Horsley Lodge to anyone planning a similar occasion. About the only thing they could not manage was the weather!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BILL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have visited this restaurant many times over the last twelve years. The food is always good quality . The setting is stunning. Lovely dressed tables with linen. The only letdown in our opinion is the lack of front of house on arrival and departure . Our party of four were not greeted on arrival or asked if we had a table booked ..we did not quite know if to take a seat or wait at the bar.This venue has the making of the best in the area.This is not a criticism of the staff just an observation of how Horsley could improve

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisymartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsley
1.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
18.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,433 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,028 reviews
14.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
804 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Lodge

Address: Lodge Horsley Lodge Smalley Mill Road | Derby, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Price Range: £99 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the City of Derby and within easy access of the Peak District National Park, Horsley Lodge Hotel offers a quiet retreat for those looking to stay, dine, golf, relax or attend a function. Just driving through the gate is promising, but the Hotel at Horsley Lodge has received significant investment over recent years with all bedrooms and bathrooms being refitted and now combining the comforts of home with stylish design. Modern chic meets old style country retreat. The hotel has also recently totally refurbished its restaurant and function suite with Award Winning Interior designers. The restaurant serves a variety of food for guests to suit all tastes and dining styles. This fine Country House built 150 years ago has 14 suites and rooms, each have super-king size beds, surrounded by fine fabrics and wall coverings giving each room an individual design, most with a view of the Par 3 ninth hole and service standards of a very high quality. Recently re-awarded 86% by the AA inspectors. We look forward to welcoming you to see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Horsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Hotel Horsley
Horsley Hotel Derby
Horsley Lodge Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing