We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”
Review of Horsley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horsley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We returned after a few months and had a lovely meal . Service was far better and very welcoming. Food was faultless . Lovely location good value .very enjoyable. The atmosphere was far more relaxed and the staff made sure you had everything you needed thankyoun

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisymartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thanks for leaving a positive review Daisy. Hope to see you again soon to try out our new menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked through laterooms and there was a mix up when we checked in as we did not get the room we had booked (and thought we were paying for). However, the hotel were very apologetic and gave us a couple of options to remedy the problem.

We checked in to the room they gave us and the room was spacious and immaculately clean. The room was quite stuffy, with only a small window and a fan to provide cool air. However, the bed was large and very comfortable. The added tea facilitates and complimentary toiletries a nice touch.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the staff were very attentive. The food was good and we did not have too long to wait between courses. There was a wedding on whilst we were staying but we did not really notice it as this went on in the separate function room and you barely registered there was a wedding.

Breakfast the next morning was good, the cooked breakfast made freshly to order. Any further requests for items not already out for selection were quickly met (honey for my toast).

Overall a lovely stay (despite the initial problem) and our big thanks go to Lesley on reception who helped resolve the issue. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilmisspurple86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Lovely review thanks, littlemisspurple. Glad to hear Lesley sorted out the confusion on laterooms. Sometimes it takes a while to update our system.
Im pleased we catered for all your requests well and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were lucky to get booked in at the last minute due to our pre booked hotel having cancelled our reservation without telling us.
The night porter was very good and checked us in quickly and efficiently we had a large comfortable nicely decorated room "Yeomans" for our first night and due to a wedding booking the next day we had to change room to another comfortable smaller room "St Clements"
The reception staff were all welcoming and helpful as were the service team.
The full english breakfast was great a great start to the day.
Our second day there was to attend a wedding reception and the arrangements, catering, service and presentation of the reception room was excellent. The food was hot delicious and plentiful. A great time was had by all.
We would thoroughly endorse this Hotel for a wedding reception or a country weekend especially if you are a golfer too.
We had one tiny little gripe that our second room did not have a full length mirror which made hairdrying and make up difficult to do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonweigall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad our newest and smallest room St Clements was fine for you and will fix the full length mirror.
We are about to open our largest room: The Guv'nors House which is a 3 storey barn conversion and promises to be something very special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had our wedding reception here on Thursday 27th June 2013. As soon as we saw the fantastic surroundings and the venue, we knew that this was the place for us. We liked the fact that Horsley Lodge offered a personal service by only having one wedding at a time. The rooms are all individually decorated and the staff are friendly. The food was lovely and we were well looked after. Our guests commented on how lovely a setting it is and we have some fantastic wedding photos and film footage. We had a truly memorable and unforgettable day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

So pleased to have helped make an "unforgetable and magical day"
Congratulations from all at Horsley Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went to a"Tapas Evening" and booked to stay overnight at Horsley Lodge.
The Tapas Evening was delightful. It was excellent value for money and very well organised. There was a set menu of the Tapas of a wide variety and each was very tasty and very well presented.
A glass of wine was included in the price and other wines or sangria were available to purchase at most reasonable prices.
The atmosphere was warm friendly and most enjoyable.
The waiters and waitresses were very attentive and professional.
We could not have asked for a better event to attend.

We had booked overnight accommodation. Our room and en-suite facilities were very clean and comfortable. The furnishings and decor were delightful. We had a good- nights sleep in a very comfortable bed.

We also enjoyed a delightful breakfast. Again there was a good choice of hot and cold foods and the staff were again very attentive friendly and kind.

This was our first visit to one of the organised events and we look forward to attending others as much as our free time will permit.

Many thanks to all the staff at Horsley Lodge who made this event such a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Martfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for leaving a great review following your stay at Horsley Lodge
Glad you enjoyed our themed evening.
Keep an eye on the website for future events

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I wanted a venue to celebrate my daughter making me a first time Grandma and to hold a "Girly Gathering/ Baby Shower for her, family and friends. I've attended functions and eaten at Horsley on several occasions so thought it the ideal place.
We had the gathering in the Old Restaurant, a private room with it's own outdoor seating area and indoor reception area. I'd organised a sandwich platter lunch with scones, tea and coffee. The service we had was second to none and I can't praise the staff enough for their attentiveness. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The food was well received, very tasty sandwiches, they even bought us more as we were enjoying them so much, even though we hadn't asked. The response I got from some of the 23 guests attending was that they'd had a lovely afternoon. That I feel was mostly down to the venue, the view, the food and the hospitality of Horsley Lodge and it's staff. Thank You.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda290952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you Linda for a lovely review. The venue, view, food and hospitality is what makes us who we are at Horsley Lodge
Im so pleased your baby shower afternoon tea went well.
For an even greater experience why not come back for a Vintage Afternoon Tea, all the fun of yesteryear with authentic china, lace tablecloths and fine teas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed here as we had a family party near by. Had a beautiful boutique room with a fantastic view! There was a wedding going on with music that night but once we was in our room we couldn't hear it at all. Really peaceful sleep, breakfast menu was standard but croissants were a bit hard because over cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyFairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Im glad you enjoyed your "glamorous room" on your recent visit
All our rooms are of the same standard but if you get one with a golf course view
as you did, it makes it extra special

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsley
1.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
18.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,036 reviews
14.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
10.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Lodge

Address: Lodge Horsley Lodge Smalley Mill Road | Derby, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Price Range: £99 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the City of Derby and within easy access of the Peak District National Park, Horsley Lodge Hotel offers a quiet retreat for those looking to stay, dine, golf, relax or attend a function. Just driving through the gate is promising, but the Hotel at Horsley Lodge has received significant investment over recent years with all bedrooms and bathrooms being refitted and now combining the comforts of home with stylish design. Modern chic meets old style country retreat. The hotel has also recently totally refurbished its restaurant and function suite with Award Winning Interior designers. The restaurant serves a variety of food for guests to suit all tastes and dining styles. This fine Country House built 150 years ago has 14 suites and rooms, each have super-king size beds, surrounded by fine fabrics and wall coverings giving each room an individual design, most with a view of the Par 3 ninth hole and service standards of a very high quality. Recently re-awarded 86% by the AA inspectors. We look forward to welcoming you to see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Horsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Hotel Horsley
Horsley Hotel Derby
Horsley Lodge Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing