We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Omg ... New Year's Eve party”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horsley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horsley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Omg ... New Year's Eve party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

What a great time we had on NYE .. We attended the party which cost 25.00 per ticket which for the money we thought was good value for money .. Champayne reception on arrival decorations on the tables hot meal and then a bacon cob at 12.30pm plus dancing until 1pm couple of very small issues and I am being picky.. Long queue for the hot meal and the bacon cob which served more like 1pm than 12.30pm overall we all had a lovely time .. Thank you to all the staff for their hard work and we will see you in August for our daughters wedding so excited !!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank angie01332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    72
    32
    14
    4
See reviews for
119
93
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I booked for a party of 8 people to experience a vintage afternoon tea and I was not disappointed. The table on our arrival was beautifully set with china crockery on crisp white table clothes and napkins in vintage napkin rings. The tea arrived in china teapots and cake stands with an array of sandwiches, cakes and scones with cream and jam. All beautifully made and presented. The staff were welcoming and attentive, asking regularly if we needed anything else and supplying us with extra pots of tea. After a disappointing afternoon tea at this time last year at another hotel in Derby we were really pleased. Thanks to all the staff for making this a memorable day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan_wilcockson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We are a more mature couple and wanted a nice wedding in a lovely setting for about 70 people. Staff helped us make choices - we wanted to be fairly informal - and were very helpful on the day. Everything went perfectly. We were lucky that, for November, the day was sunny and bright with not a cloud in the sky. We had a photo session by the fountain in the grounds and even got rainbows in our photos! Many people commented afterwards that it one of the best weddings they had ever been to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

we recently had our wedding here and everything from start to finish was amazing the staff are very friendly and bend over backwards for you.
we spent 3 nights in the barn cottage as our honeymoon and this again was amazing we cant fault it lovely and relaxing
the guests stayed in the rooms within the hotel and all said how well they slept due to the beds being so comfy and the décor in the rooms was very stylish and tasteful
the food for both our wedding and afterwards in the restaurant was faultless all our guests commented on the quality of food served the meat just melted away in your mouth

we are already planning our next trip here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law had her wedding at Horsley Lodge and it was a beautiful day. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and went the extra mile and seemed to know what we needed before we did. They were very accommodating and helped plan our stay at Horsley to the finest detail. We were allowed to check in early in the morning so we could join in the pre-wedding fun with our daughter. We were slightly concerned before we arrived as we were also there with 3 young children however the staff were great, we stayed in the De Ferrers room which has a king sized bed with a sofa bed, we also had a travel cot. There was plenty of room for all of us and when we went down to the wedding the sofa was made into a bed and small details like extra towels and cups were ready and waiting for the childrens bath and bedtime when we retired after the wedding. Staff had even tidied the room and put the childrens toys away, we were really looked after. The wedding day was perfect and the staff worked very hard to make sure everyone was having a good time and needed for nothing. The breakfast was excellent and staff were very good at offering an alternative for the children. A wonderful wedding and a relaxing stay over, we will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We decided to hold a family Sunday lunch to celebrate our fiftieth wedding anniversary, from moment we booked our day, Horsley Lodge and its staff were extremely helpful, and on the day they didn't disappoint, the room presentation was first class, service was excellent, and the menu and quality of the food top notch. We had a truly wonderful experience which our families sharing with us the moment and occasion. Without hesitation I would recommend Horsley Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

visited this hotel for a family wedding and I have to say that it impressed me right from the start. Staff very helpful and on the ball and the setting was just stunning. The food was exceptional and very good quality. My only regret was that I didn't stay overnight, but the twelve hours I did spend there were very pleasant and I shall add this to my list of retreats.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmischiefRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for the review and do add us to your list of retreats.
Your positive comments about our setting, our staff, and our food are a pleasure to read
Please make time to stay over next time, a 12 hour visit is a long time to have to then drive home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsley
1.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
1.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
18.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Lodge

Property: Horsley Lodge
Address: Lodge Horsley Lodge Smalley Mill Road | Derby, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the City of Derby and within easy access of the Peak District National Park, Horsley Lodge Hotel offers a quiet retreat for those looking to stay, dine, golf, relax or attend a function. Just driving through the gate is promising, but the Hotel at Horsley Lodge has received significant investment over recent years with all bedrooms and bathrooms being refitted and now combining the comforts of home with stylish design. Modern chic meets old style country retreat. The hotel has also recently totally refurbished its restaurant and function suite with Award Winning Interior designers. The restaurant serves a variety of food for guests to suit all tastes and dining styles. This fine Country House built 150 years ago has 14 suites and rooms, each have super-king size beds, surrounded by fine fabrics and wall coverings giving each room an individual design, most with a view of the Par 3 ninth hole and service standards of a very high quality. Recently re-awarded 86% by the AA inspectors. We look forward to welcoming you to see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Hotel Horsley
Horsley Hotel Derby
Horsley Lodge Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing