We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality restaurant food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horsley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Horsley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Quality restaurant food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The restaurant is a good choice if you want somewhere a little more special. Good choice on the menu and some lovely specials too. We tried the burger and the hot pot and really enjoyed. The mid week offer of £9.95 for 2 courses is very good value although what is on the offer is very confusing with different staff telling us different things ! The puddings very tasty too. Drinks very expensive and cost us more than the food but would dine there again for a special treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romantics77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    71
    32
    15
    4
See reviews for
114
93
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I attended a Christmas lunch with a group of friends. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The food was amazing considering I paid 3 times a much for an awful Xmas meal in derby.

I cannot remember exactly but it was around £15 for 3 courses, all of which were very nice.

Would highly recommended, everything was lovely.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_bram87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

What a great time we had on NYE .. We attended the party which cost 25.00 per ticket which for the money we thought was good value for money .. Champayne reception on arrival decorations on the tables hot meal and then a bacon cob at 12.30pm plus dancing until 1pm couple of very small issues and I am being picky.. Long queue for the hot meal and the bacon cob which served more like 1pm than 12.30pm overall we all had a lovely time .. Thank you to all the staff for their hard work and we will see you in August for our daughters wedding so excited !!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank angie01332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I booked for a party of 8 people to experience a vintage afternoon tea and I was not disappointed. The table on our arrival was beautifully set with china crockery on crisp white table clothes and napkins in vintage napkin rings. The tea arrived in china teapots and cake stands with an array of sandwiches, cakes and scones with cream and jam. All beautifully made and presented. The staff were welcoming and attentive, asking regularly if we needed anything else and supplying us with extra pots of tea. After a disappointing afternoon tea at this time last year at another hotel in Derby we were really pleased. Thanks to all the staff for making this a memorable day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan_wilcockson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We are a more mature couple and wanted a nice wedding in a lovely setting for about 70 people. Staff helped us make choices - we wanted to be fairly informal - and were very helpful on the day. Everything went perfectly. We were lucky that, for November, the day was sunny and bright with not a cloud in the sky. We had a photo session by the fountain in the grounds and even got rainbows in our photos! Many people commented afterwards that it one of the best weddings they had ever been to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

we recently had our wedding here and everything from start to finish was amazing the staff are very friendly and bend over backwards for you.
we spent 3 nights in the barn cottage as our honeymoon and this again was amazing we cant fault it lovely and relaxing
the guests stayed in the rooms within the hotel and all said how well they slept due to the beds being so comfy and the décor in the rooms was very stylish and tasteful
the food for both our wedding and afterwards in the restaurant was faultless all our guests commented on the quality of food served the meat just melted away in your mouth

we are already planning our next trip here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law had her wedding at Horsley Lodge and it was a beautiful day. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and went the extra mile and seemed to know what we needed before we did. They were very accommodating and helped plan our stay at Horsley to the finest detail. We were allowed to check in early in the morning so we could join in the pre-wedding fun with our daughter. We were slightly concerned before we arrived as we were also there with 3 young children however the staff were great, we stayed in the De Ferrers room which has a king sized bed with a sofa bed, we also had a travel cot. There was plenty of room for all of us and when we went down to the wedding the sofa was made into a bed and small details like extra towels and cups were ready and waiting for the childrens bath and bedtime when we retired after the wedding. Staff had even tidied the room and put the childrens toys away, we were really looked after. The wedding day was perfect and the staff worked very hard to make sure everyone was having a good time and needed for nothing. The breakfast was excellent and staff were very good at offering an alternative for the children. A wonderful wedding and a relaxing stay over, we will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsley
1.0 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
1.5 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
18.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
14.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Lodge

Property: Horsley Lodge
Address: Lodge Horsley Lodge Smalley Mill Road, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 8 miles from junction 25 of the M1, Horsley Lodge Hotel offers a quiet retreat for those looking to stay, dine, golf, relax or attend a function. Just driving through the gate is promising, but the Hotel at Horsley Lodge has received significant investment over recent years with all bedrooms and bathrooms being refitted and now combining the comforts of home with stylish design. You feel as though you are a guest of The Earl of Stainsby who built this fine Country House 150 years ago as a dowry for his son. We have super-king size beds, surrounded by fine fabrics and wall coverings. The restaurant has a number of dining options to tempt your taste buds. Your room is individually designed, most with a view of the Par 3 ninth hole and service standards of a very high quality. We were recently re-awarded 81% by the AA inspectors. We look forward to welcoming you to see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Hotel Horsley
Horsley Hotel Derby
Horsley Lodge Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing