We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A&C's Wedding - 01 August 2014”
Review of Horsley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horsley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently had our wedding at Horsley Lodge on Friday 1 August, having placed our initial booking with them in September 2013. On top of the basic wedding package we also reserved 9 of the rooms and for a very reasonable fee and we upgraded the bridal suite for the Barn Cottage, which the bride used for the night before the wedding, and on the wedding day.

The venue itself is in immaculate condition and the setting is beautiful. All the rooms (hotel and function) are clean and very well maintained and perfectly suited for a wedding. There is also the added bonus that our wedding was the only wedding being held that day - a lot of other venues usually charge for that kind of exclusivity but not at Horsley Lodge - exclusivity is immediately assured. The Barn Cottage comes highly recommended as an upgrade, the spiral staircase makes for great photos and the facilities in there were amazing. Felt like a real treat.

The staff at Horsley were amazing, very polite and attentive to all of our guests. We cannot thank them enough for their efforts. Laura was our wedding co-ordinator and she delivered a quite brilliant personal service, from the moment we booked in September, right up to and including the big day itself. All of our personal requests were catered for and nothing was left to chance. On the day, all of the staff knew our names and were clearly under instruction to make sure that if something was needed for the wedding, it was taken care of quickly with minimum fuss.

The food and service was simply A Grade. The Wedding Breakfast was well timed and none of the tables were left waiting long for their food or drinks. The co-ordinators even allowed us a little bit of time to 'mingle' with our guests between courses without compromising the timings or the food. We had goats cheese and red onion tart for starter, braised steak, homemade yorkshires and veg for mains, followed by chocolate fudge cake and ice cream for puds. For our evening buffet we had a 'hot cob' carvery of pork (with some great crackling of course) and topside beef, with pasta, chips and salad. It was all delicious and lots of guests commented on just how good the meat was. We couldn't disagree, the braised steak in particular just melted in the mouth. The bar was well stocked and in the circumstances, reasonably priced. The following morning our guests that stayed overnight enjoyed a cooked breakfast, made to order and that was also great - it helped clear up a few sore heads!

The practicalities of our wedding were also taken care of. The ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception were all held in the same room and each time it only took the staff a brief 20-30 minutes to turn the room around. They are clearly well practised at this and it showed. Very smoothly done. The in-house DJ also deserves a mention for being very accommodating as well, as I (the groom) had some very specific requests, but they were all dealt with!

All-in-all, we had a brilliant day and Horsley Lodge played a huge part in that. For some reason the AA only give this hotel 3 stars and quite frankly that is harsh. We received nothing but 5* care and service from the start and for a wedding, Horsley Lodge is very reasonably priced. We have had several family events there in the past (prior to the wedding) and I have no doubt that when we are planning more in the future, Horsley Lodge will be top of our list.

We really did have a truly perfect day, thank you Horsley Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank AJ_852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear AJ_852014,

Congratulations on your recent wedding.

Thank you for your very kind words about our team, venue and service. We strive for the best when it comes to our guests and it is always very pleasing for our team to hear when we have made such an impression.

I wish you all the best for the future and look forward to welcoming you back to Horsley Lodge very soon.

Kind Regards

Nathan Wallis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend, as we were attending a wedding reception at Horsley Lodge, and it is clearly great for weddings and golfers. But this review is of a very nice hotel, set in pleasant grounds (among the tees!), with a pleasant and reasonably priced bar and restaurant, and lovely rooms. Staff, in particular, are very good.

Even before arrival, the hotel's reception (thank you Martin), had carefully changed our reservation to a more suitable room for access for my disabled wife. Clearly a lot of thought had been given to this huge room in a barn conversion annex, with a short work up a gentle slope, and easy ground floor access. The room was clean, with a huge super king size bed, TV and wardrobe. It could however, benefit from a table and some shelving. There is a massive conservatory joining the room, with a lovely garden and terrace area. Here were comfortable chairs and table, coffee facilities, and a second TV. Lovely on a summer day.

The bathroom is excellent, with a bath, and a huge wet room and walk in shower. Rustic floor tiling added to the quality feel of the bathroom, but the other bathroom fittings are a bit basic. Again, shelving is sadly missing. But a lovely bathroom and very nice shower.

Special mention must be made of Laura and the whole reception/welcome team, who always did their utmost to ensure we were comfortable and content. A request for a coolling fan, brought the immediate delivery of an air-con unit, and all the staff ensured we were provided with enough ice to keep the unit functioning properly. Nothing is too much trouble for this kind and very good team.

Finally, the restaurant. Imaginative dishes, at very good value prices, many less than bar snacks elsewhere. Lovely waiting staff at both dinner and breakfast. Breakfast, which is freshly cooked to order, is excellent.

All in all, very satisfied, and would certainly return when in the area. Thank you all at Horsley Lodge - you run a very good hotel indeed.

Room Tip: Speak to reception - all rooms are individual, and we understand they are all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Paulaus Tirol

Thank you for your kind comments about our special venue.

It is always very easy for people to write off golf clubs as members only venues and it is lovely that ours has been perceived as welcoming to all. It is of paramount importance to us that all our guests are looked after equally whether attending a wedding, on a weekend away, enjoying the golf facilities or a business traveler.

I will convey your comments to the team, although they have probably read it themselves as they avidly follow our reviews.

Kind regards

Nathan Wallis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We chose Horsley Lodge for our wedding reception as everything about it is welcoming, everything about our day was perfect with impeccable service, food & attention to detail, we would not think twice about recommending this venue, Thankyou Horsley Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan W, Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Bob B,

Thank you for your recent review.

It is a pleasure to hear such words as welcoming when referring to our venue as that is the essence of everything we try to create. The work we do behind the scenes is nothing if the way we deliver it cannot leave an impression with our guests and I am pleased that this is the case regarding your special day.

May I wish you many years of happy marriage and hope to see you soon back at Horsley Lodge.

Kind Regards

Nathan Wallis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We booked our wedding at Horsley Lodge for the 18th July 2014.
The day was superb. Laura assisted us a few weeks before with a meeting to plan our day, food, external suppliers, running order.
My bride stayed the night before in barn cottage and we stayed on the wedding night. Amazing room!
The venue is beautiful and very well maintained and the staff fantastic! Nothing was too much for them.
They made our day feel very relaxed which many of the guests commented on.
We had guests arriving from the South so early check ins where available to the stunning rooms which the guests loved!
A massive thank you to Horsley Lodge. We had the perfect day.
Mr& Mrs Sumner

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan W, Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Matt S,

Thank you for your kind comments about our special venue. Please rest assured all your comments will be shared with Laura and the team who are indeed assets to our business.

May I take this opportunity to wish you congratulations on your wedding and hope to welcome back to Horsley Lodge in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nathan Wallis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to treat our-selfs as the men in our life was away for the weekend ... Booked in for Saturday to eat at 7pm .. Beautiful surroundings as it was a hot evening we sat by the door ... Nice views of the drive and golf course .. Our meals with was the lamb .. Just melted in your mouth and the deserts were seriously FABULOUS worth every penny and yes we will be back as my daughter gets married here in August ... So excited as we know we will get first class service and professional staff.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank angie01332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Tee, Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear angie01332

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel.

We have been blessed with some beautiful evenings as of late and certainly have the grounds to showcase it. What is especially pleasing is that with such a fantastic exterior it is often possible to look past what is on the inside. I am please to hear that our chefs and food service team have impressed you so much.

I look forward to welcoming you back in August. If you have the time please ask for me at reception.

Kind Regards

Nathan Wallis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

After a couple of "Ahems" and eventually an "excuse me" to the chap with his back to reception, his eyes rolled and he advised me he didn't work on reception, then a young lady appeared, who he gave what for...
Was staying for 4 nights and 3 nights the restaurant was empty and the other was full - over an hours wait. No notice was given of this - but drove a few miles to find somewhere that would accommodate.
The request for feather pillows fell on deaf ears and the friendliness of staff was variable (as I suppose is the norm)
The food and accommodation was ok - but I just a felt as a non golfing guest staying 4 nights I was a distinct inconvenience

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Big_Al_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Tee, Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Big_Al_1972

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Horsley Lodge Hotel.

I must apologise that the restaurant was unavailable on one of the nights during your stay. I do hope it met your expectations on the other nights. We tend to take a large amount of walk in business and thus cannot always predict our availability for dining. Our aim is to ask all residents upon check in their plans for dinner to allow for tables. I am sorry if this was not done on this occasion.

With regards to the welcome this is not our usual standard and if you feel that you wish to discuss this further with me then please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

I do sincerely hope that you can see this experience as an isolated incident amongst our reviews and hope I can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nathan Wallis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

i recently attended the wedding of a close friend of mine. the attention to detail you gave was amazing, i believe it was everything the bride had requested. the food (we had canapes, main meal and buffet) was lovely. the bar was well-stocked (excellent choice of ales - 3, and a good cider -stowford press). the staff were professional and friendly, coped really well for saying they were a barman down which i wouldn't have known if i wasn't told.
i'd recommend this place both as a venue for a celebration or simply somewhere to have a special meal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank shirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian_Tee, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear shirl2014

Thank you for your glowing review of Horsley Lodge following your attendance at the recent wedding. We aim to please and I am delighted that we hit the mark on this occasion.

We are a very popular wedding destination and I am certain that it is because of the attention to detail we provide and the fact that only one wedding will be held on any given day, that we receive such positive feedback.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and in the meantime, my thanks to you once again for taking the time to review Horsley Lodge.

Sincerely

Julian Tee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horsley
1.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.4 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
896 reviews
18.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,512 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Lodge

Address: Smalley Mill Road, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horsley
Price Range: £96 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the City of Derby and within easy access of the Peak District National Park, Horsley Lodge Hotel offers a quiet retreat for those looking to stay, dine, golf, relax or attend a function. Just driving through the gate is promising, but the Hotel at Horsley Lodge has received significant investment over recent years with all bedrooms and bathrooms being refitted and now combining the comforts of home with stylish design. Modern chic meets old style country retreat. The hotel has also recently totally refurbished its restaurant and function suite with Award Winning Interior designers. The restaurant serves a variety of food for guests to suit all tastes and dining styles. This fine Country House built 150 years ago has 14 suites and rooms, each have super-king size beds, surrounded by fine fabrics and wall coverings giving each room an individual design, most with a view of the Par 3 ninth hole and service standards of a very high quality. Recently re-awarded 86% by the AA inspectors. We look forward to welcoming you to see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Hotel Horsley
Horsley Hotel Derby
Horsley Lodge Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing