We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crewe and Harpur
Ranked #1 of 2 Swarkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We picked this place because of good reviews and wanted a good place to stay overnight before flying from East Midlands airport (only 20 minutes away).

Although this is run by a national chain we felt that it there was feeling of a privately owned and run establishment. We were greeted warmly, shown to our room and given information about options available eg dinner that evening. The food was good value, the room was pleasant with plenty of room. As we were used to having a quiet bedroom we were worried that the room might be a bit noisy as it overlooked the car park and main road but this was not a problem. The only downside was that the bed was a bit small and the mattress had the feeling of being a 'waterbed' and just as were were ready to go to bed there was a fire alarm which turned out to be false. The rest of the night was quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a stroll after dinner there is a Norman Church just a few minutes away and worthy of a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justcuruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    38
    26
    16
    12
See reviews for
34
63
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Booked this last minute through Marstons website. Fantastic deal of £39.99 for bed and breakfast, with 20% off food bill for booking online. When we arrived everyone was really friendly and efficient. There was an offer at the hotel of 2-1 dinner, so with this and the 20% off we had a fantastic deal on the food as well. There was even a loyalty card for beer drinkers, which my husband took advantage off! The room was very large and spotlessly clean. The dinner was good pub food and the breakfast very large and very good. All in all we were very pleased with our night away and have booked to stay at Marstons again elsewhere in June. Tip definately book through their own website to get offers. Free beer at the next one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchleave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

After reading the first 6 reviews posted here we decided to take a chance and book in for the night at this hotel last minute. we arrived late and were greeted by friendly staff. The staff members showed us to our room where they had a beautiful room for us. We had two little children with us and they were very accomodating. The room was amazing ! It was in a converted stable and part of the stable is still in the room which was fantastic !!! It was a quiet sleep considering it is connected to the pub (connnected not above the pub).
flat screen tv, hot and powerful shower and an amazing hot breakfast !!!
I honestly was bowled over with the fact we paid such a small fee for this room. I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone. Fab stay and just 10 minutes from the motorway! perfect ! Thank you

Room Tip: Room 02 is a great family room which isn't right next to the pub so you can still go have a drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have stayed in many budget hotels around the UK whilst travelling on business, which have included a number of Marston's Inns. Some have been good, others perhaps leaving something to be desired. Our recent stay at the Crewe and Harpur was so outstanding that I felt bound to write this review.

We booked on line and were amazed to see a special offer deal at only £25.00 per night for bed and breakfast, excellent so far! On arrival at the hotel we booked in at reception, which as usual at Marston's is a reserved area of the bar. Our booking was waiting and the lady who welcomed us was very friendly indeed and showed us to our room, opening the door and explaining how everything worked.

The room had originally been a stable and some of the old features were still left in place, which created a super character bedroom. It was just the right temperature, the bed linen lovely and clean and the bed very comfortable. Bath, shower and facilities all worked well.

We decided to eat in the restaurant, which considering it was a freezing Monday night was really busy, always a good sign! The food was served very nicely and, bearing in mind the price, was most enjoyable. A few (+) glasses of wine later and we were tucked up for a really good nights sleep.

Breakfast is served in a section of the bar area and was everything that anyone could have wanted. Special mention must go to the lady who served us who was most attentive and obviously wanted her guests to be completely satisfied.

When I went to settle the bill I was genuinely embarrassed that we had been treated so well and enjoyed such good food and wine at such an excellent price, I actually felt that I should have paid more.

I think that you can tell we were impressed! - many thanks and well done Crewe and Harpur and Marstons.

Room Tip: Room 2 was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have stayed at this Inn a few times and have enjoyed the experience, the service is good the staff very welcoming. The rooms are excellent with good beds and fitting. The food is good but the breakfast is wonderful freshly cook to order.. Very good deal as it was a late booking, £29 for bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 2 is lovely book if you can as it still has the old horse stalls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overthehillLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Lovely one night stay. Fantastic offer and food. Rooms lovely, our friends had a deluxe room and ours was smaller but perfectly formed. Great breakfast and service from all staff.

Sunday went to Calke abbey five minutes drive away, beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in these large newly renovated room. The food for dinner was pretty bad and I wouldn't reccomend it however the breakfast was great. the Staff were really great and super friendly!

The hotel was small the rooms were large and spacious with comfortable beds. the traffic noise was quite loud as they haven't replaced the old windows. You need a car for this location. great for a 1 or 2 night stay no more though.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverMeeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swarkestone
2.4 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
164 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
741 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
5.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
229 reviews
3.5 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe and Harpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe and Harpur

Property: The Crewe and Harpur
Address: Woodshop Lane, Swarkestone DE73 7JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Swarkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swarkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crewe and Harpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crewe And Harpur Swarkestone, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing