We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location a plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crewe and Harpur
Ranked #1 of 2 Swarkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Earnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Location a plus”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As with previous reviewers pub/hotel in great location especially on a sunny day.
Close to Donnington Park, only 10 minutes down country roads.
Accommodation was OK, with some road noise but was good value with nice breakfast.
Evening meals were usual pub chain type grub but good size portions especially the mixed grill. Chips were soggy though.
Staff friendly and helpful and as part of the Marstons beer group beer choice was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    39
    26
    16
    13
See reviews for
34
67
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you require a clean and functional bedroom at a competitive price, chain pub food with no frills, this is the place for you. The riverside setting with beer garden is the best attribute especially with sunny weather. Some bedrooms look out onto the busy road and traffic noise is unavoidable and can disturb a good nights sleep. I did not use the restaurant and went to nearby Repton instead. The staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulJ367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borrowash, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked a table for twelve people for 18/4/14. Arrived at 2pm and were advised meals would be 40mins from order. When after an hour the kids' food arrived we thought "Okay, they're busy, it took a bit longer than planned". After about 5mins during which no more food had been served one of our group went to ask what was going on. This did bring the rest of the food to the table apart from my wife's meal, which they had "Forgotten, it'll be 5 minutes". 15 minutes later still no food so I went to try and sort it out. Meal was served pretty soon after this. The food when it finally arrived was not bad at all apart from the fact three had ordered steaks, none of which were cooked how they'd been ordered. Kids all ordered puddings which took and age to be served and after a 15 minute wait for coffees and teas we gave up and asked for the bill. The only up side was we were not charged for my wife's and my meals or any of the drinks we'd had.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Usually love eating here.

Stopped off for a few drinks during the afternoon. My friends ordered drinks and as I hadnt eaten asked if I could order food to the garden.

The responce I gotbfrom a male bartender was not unless I had a table number. As I hadnt been outside I didnt have one. So asked him to put it to any number and we would find the table as there was only 3 other couples at the time in the garden.

He refused to serve unless I walked all the way over to a table to log a number to give to him.

As he obvioulsly works in the hospitaltlity trade and it wasnt busy I would have thought he may have made an effort to accomidate. Especially as we as a large group where bring custom to the pub.

His attitude has put me and other members of the group of attending again.

We will stick to more welcoming locations.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank callylao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wombwell, South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

lovely setting next to the river, must be great in summer. Room clean and functional , staff attentive enough but the big let down for us was the food. Ate in restaurant and food disappointingly cool with soggy chips and breakfast was swimming in that much oil had to transfer food to another plate. really would avoid eating if you are staying there. The room was cold as the windows let in a massive draft ( single glazed, sash windows) and bathroom freezing even with towel heater on all the time ( cured nightime toilet visits!!!).
It was fine for what we needed , a clean bed to sleep in but don't expect too much more that's all. Oh and by the way, sort out who is having the duvet as it is only a small double and not enough for both of you !!

Room Tip: apparently room 2 is the best to have, we had room 7 upstairs overlooking the car park. Road noise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddleduck14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A truly beautiful setting in a gorgeous red brick period building, with a large beer garden on the edge of the River Trent. I can see this place is a good gathering place in the summer months. However, on the inside it has a rather "mass produced" feel, leaving it rather soulless. The staff were friendly and the beer was good, but for such a characterful exterior the interior was a disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Wow. Absolutely top drawer. This stay was my favorite. Both my wife and i had an amazing visit. the food was fantastic, the staff were so very welcoming, and nothing was to much trouble. They have an amazing set up there, the staff seemed very happy to be there (strange). The room was spacious and very comfortable. we slept very well, after sampling a few to many of their guest ales. all in all we had a lovely time, and will definitely be going back. i highly recommend this venue.

Room Tip: We were told by one of the staff that room 2 is the best for period features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swarkestone
2.4 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
166 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
757 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
558 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
5.9 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe and Harpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe and Harpur

Property: The Crewe and Harpur
Address: Woodshop Lane, Swarkestone DE73 7JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Swarkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swarkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crewe and Harpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crewe And Harpur Swarkestone, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing