We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phil and Helen”
Review of Holden House B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holden House B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Shardlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed at Holden House for two days in April 2013 whilst visiting friends nearby.
Angie and her father were superb hosts and offered a home from home atmosphere.
Lovely location right next to the river and canal.
So relaxing.
Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have been visitors to Holden House many times and have always been delighted. Great room, wonderful views of the river and superb breakfast. All this with the friendliness and assistance of Angie and her father.

Our favourite B & B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stay there every year and it always a pleasure, angela and her staff are always helpful. Am looking forward to next year already! The room's are always clean and tidy and an excellent breakfast, from soggies through to the fry up!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I have been working in the East Midlands since November 2010 and during that period I have been staying at Holden House 3 or 4 nights a week. I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely B & B. If I am working in the area again will be staying at Holden House. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is superb and Angie and Barrie's welcome is always warm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed for four days while visiting family nearby for a celebration. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and ours had a wonderful view over the river Trent. There are lovely walks nearby along the canal and it is well situated for exploring attractions in the area. Combine this with the friendly atmosphere and super breakfast and we would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here. We will certainly return again. Many thanks Angie.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

have just had my third stay at holden house and would like to say that anyone looking for accommodation in the area will not find anywhere as nice as holden house,angela who along with her father run the b&b make you so welcome with nothing too much trouble,the house is in a great location in shardlow with lots of nice pubs and a couple of restaurants within walking distance and looks out onto the river trent and the trent and mersey canal,it really is a lovely location,on top of that the en suite bedrooms are very clean and comfortable and the full english breakfast is great,you really do get a home from home atmosphere which comes from angela and her father barry

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AotN, Owner at Holden House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Steve, Glad that you have enjoyed your stay here again, hope the fishing will be better for you next time and the weather gets warmer. Always great to see you. take care till next time. Angie and Barrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Each time we visit family in the midlands we stay at Holden House. It is a nice central place situated in Shardlow. Angie the owner is a very homely and loving character... just like a sister... she makes you feel right at home. The rooms are cozy and clean... all en suite... with tv's, tea & coffee making facilities (and nice chocolate/biscuit), wardrobe and comfy & firm beds. Breakfast is a real treat... full breakfast, in-between or continental... the choice is yours.... and if you're lucky when you arrive in the afternoon, you'll be offered a cup of tea or coffee with one of Angie's home baked cakes... Thankyou Angie for your care... we'll definately be back... Nearly forgot to mention Barry... Angie's dad who is full of local information if you need to tour the area...

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Holden House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden House B & B

Address: 1 Canal Bank, Shardlow DE72 2GL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shardlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shardlow
Price Range: £71 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holden House is situated on the banks of the River Trent. We are a Georgian House that is Grade II listed. We're a friendly family run B & B offering Quality Accommodation for Guest visiting the area either for Business or for Pleasure. We aim to give a High Quality service to enable our Guests to have an enjoyable stay with thoughts they will visit us time and time again. Most rooms have views of The River Trent or the Trent and Mersey Canal. We pride ourselves on providing a Comfy Bed with a Great Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holden House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden House B & B Shardlow, Derbyshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing