We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premier Inn with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mackworth
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Premier Inn with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for one night as a stopover to the Peak District. Have used several Premier Inns but this one stands out for it's quirky character, very quiet and surprisingly rural given it's proximity to Derby. As usual with Premier, the staff are friendly and informative, and the rooms are clean and very comfortable. I'm not usually a fan of motel style hotels, but this is much better than that with a homely feel not usually encountered with Premier. I can imagine booking a week's break here. The Mundy Arms is a cut above the usual chain pubs, food, staff, and atmosphere were all excellent.
Also have to say that we had room 2 which is close to the road, but was not bothered by any traffic noise, even with the windows open, the road is busy but does quieten down after 7 p.m. and it was a bank holiday!

Room Tip: As with other reviewers, request a room away from the road if traffic noise bothers you, but to be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeJay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    104
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
80
108
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Its a lovely small premier room was great and very clean . Meals at the Munday Arms opposite the reception excellent service food too. We used taxi to get to city centre staff ordered £5.90 going . Yellow cab back £6.90. The Mackworth hotel five minute walk away . In a lovely spot we shall use it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great hotel in a great location! Quiet and peaceful but conveniently close to Derby city centre. Staff was very efficient and friendly. Room was very clean, warm and comfortable with an amazingly comfortable bed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Negative_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have stayed here on 3 separate occasions and on every occasion we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The rooms are typical premier inn style but very clean and quiet. The pub on sight is good and very well priced, both for food and drinks. Will stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank citybreaker187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is completely unlike any other Premier Inn we've used before, and we've used quite a few. Using converted stables the accommodation is like a row of bungalows. Each has two rooms either side of a main door. This is ideal for travelling with family or friends. Also great for those with poor mobility as you can park right outside the room or just a few yards away. There are two specially designated rooms for the disabled with ramps etc. Facilities of the pub, whose side and back yard the hotel is in, were very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbuckHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A very quiet motel style premier inn. Very small and quaint. It's nice to stay in an alternative premier inn. Reception staff were very helpful. Pub located a few metres away. Food from the pub was very good and staff very efficient. Would return if I needed to stay in the area again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This is a single story motel style hotel with rooms facing on to the car park, in a symbiotic relationship with the pub next door who do all the catering - very well. The only drawback is the busy road which is noticeable from the couple of rooms nearest to it. Very friendly and efficient service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackworth
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby West
Premier Inn Derby West
#13 of 29 in Derby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mackworth
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
6.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Address: 95 Ashbourne Road, Mackworth, Derby DE22 4LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Mackworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mackworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great countryside location, the rooms at this hotel are converted coaching stables. Within easy reach of the A52, A38, M1 and Derby train station. Westfield Shopping and Derby city centre are less than 2 miles away. Local attractions include Alton Towers Theme Park, Derbyshire Dales and the Peak District. Our Derby North West Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, free parking, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite traditional pub and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel Mackworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing