We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B”
Review of Maryland B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maryland B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Alvaston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at the B&B as an overnight stopover. I had my granddaughter with me and had booked into a twin room,
The room was clean, modern and had a lovely ensuite. The owner did everything she could to ensure she made your stay as comfortable as possible.
A full English breakfast is well cooked and not the greasy mess I have been served at some places!
There is a beautiful garden to the rear an d parking places out front.
The B&B is on a main road about 1 mile from the centre of Derby.
I was very impressed by this B&B and would definitely stay there again.
The only downside wS because I was a late booker I had a room at the front and had to content with a deal of traffic noise. The owner did tell me that those who book for more than 1 night are given rooms at the back.

Room Tip: As for a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Upgraded to an en suite room which was a pleasant surprise. House has lovely gardens which the owners were kind enough to let us eat our dinner in after a long journey down. Breakfast was good and cooked to tailor our requests. Room was good value for money and would stay here again if visiting Derby. Thanks, Frankie and Chris

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankiefmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and myself stayed here last week for 5 nights and the place was absolutely fantastic!! Lovely friendly owners- no request was too much trouble and their hospitality was honest and genuine. The cleanliness of the place also exceeded our expectations and we would welcome the chance to stop there again and enjoy the great hospitality on offer. Thanks again Steph & Alan

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MonkeymagicDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed for two nights, must say i have been incredibly impressed. The shower head broke this morning but when i came back it was fixed. Generous with tea and coffee facilities in the room. Lovely garden. Really enjoyed and hopefully can stay next week too.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbywander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I love this place. I stayed for 3.5 months. The B&B is very friendly with lovely garden and owners are very welcoming. Place is being cleaned up. People staying here are all very cool. Place is quiet but convenient, as there's only a 10 min trip to the city. Also a 24 hr bus at to go and from East Midland Airport. Maryland is also close to all shopping locations and stores.And most importantly, the price is very reasonable! Can't ask for more! :) Best B&B I've stayed at. I give it a five star rating - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_radecka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Me and my partner arrived here on Tuesday 14th of January 2014 at around 10AM, our check in wasn't until 12pm and the lady (I think shewas the manager) opemed the door, said we couldn'tcheck in yet and then closed the door! We had been travelling since 3AM and thought she wouldat least let us on the building to wait!

Despite this we were allowed to check in an hour early and check out half an hour late without anyextra charge which we thought was very accomodating of the owners/managers.

We had a small and cosy room which was warm, clean and quiet (despite being on the main road. The window blocks out most of the noise) we both slept very well and found that the bed was very comfortable.

Our ensuite was clean and fresh, the hot water ran well and we were provided with fresh, clean towels.

The staff were friendly and welcoming and seemed approachable.

The full english breakfast was very basic but very nice

I would stay here again (but not arrive early :P)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a ring and drive around for cheaper places and no one came anywhere near. We had a lovely 4 week stay. The owners are very friendly. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is outstanding. The owners truly go to any length to make you happy comfortable. If we ever need a place to stay we will definitely go back!! Fully recommend! !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvaston
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#20 of 29 in Derby
462 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,828 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
1.3 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryland B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryland B&B

Address: 1083 London Road, Alvaston, Derby DE24 8PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Alvaston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alvaston
Price Range: £44 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maryland B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maryland B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing