We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting menu and great food!”
Review of The Fontmell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fontmell
Certificate of Excellence
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really interesting menu and great food!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We returned to The Fontmell after giving it a miss for quite some time now, due to a disappointing meal we had there and opinions of friends that had been there who also hadn't had great meals in the past. Recently though we have heard good things so thought we would pop along and really happy to say our meal was very good, the staff very attentive and helpful. The menu was full of variety and interesting dishes. I had the Cornish fish and it was really very good. A very nice bottle of sensibly priced French wine to wash it down with made for a thoroughly enjoyable and lovely lunch. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bears10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    27
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
54
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having some business nearby Fontwell Magna and not knowing the area we booked The Fontmell for Sunday lunch after a brief web-search and review on Tripadvisor. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, from the young chef who, seeing that the car park was full as we arrived came out and helped us to park conveniently next to staff cars, right through to the charming waiting staff. The building has been sympathetically modernised giving an ambience which is nice and airy. Having a stream flowing through is a nice feature. The food was well presented and tasty with a good choice on the menu. The wine list is also well considered. I was delighted that the foie gras was just what it said and not terrine or pâté which is normally dished up under that soubriquet, served with caramelised onion, wild mushrooms and a fried egg on top – Marvellous! In short we would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

There's always a risk when you pick a place to stay on the internet because it's convenient for the next day's activities.

But this place is wonderful. The room was nice and bright with individual decor. the bathroom was large with separate bath and shower.

And the food! Not cheap, but good value! And the cooked breakfast. I've never had black pudding like it. We asked if we could have breakfast a little earlier than usual and they obliged. All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. Note to beer drinkers - the 3 brews on tap were good and well priced.

Winges? Road noise - but I live on the edge of a quite village and I'm sensitive to road noise. Hardly their fault. And the hand basin didn't drain very well. Big deal.

We're planning another visit already.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend with friends using the restaurant both nights.
Positives - Tastefully decorated bedroom and a great finish to the shower room. Building full of character. Lovely dining room/library, friendly and helpful staff, good wine list and good food. Locally brewed beer superb.
Negatives - Afraid that following the reviews and web site photographs we were disappointed by the size of our room, around 30cm around the bed, too small for a wardrobe or for an open small suitcase. Stair carpet to rooms filthy and a large stain on our bedroom carpet.
Overall a great weekend but a test of our ability to adapt to the very limited space.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGnashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK/Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Wonderful, simply wonderful. Currently lying on a fantastic bed in a wonderful room with a lovely bath having just had a fantastic meal downstairs. So far it's been a blissful experience........ try and book the mallyshag room if you can. I can't recommend it enough. We just booked it as a stop over, but now we're here we really don't want to leave tomorrow

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blunderbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife Sue and I booked into the Fontmell for one night to celebrate our Pearl wedding anniversary. The favourable reviews I had read before our stay were spot on! Our room, the "Schmetterling" was very clean and quirky, with the butterfly theme, which continues throughout the hotel, much in evidence. All the staff were extremely friendly and during our short stay we enjoyed two meals of the highest quality, obviously cooked by a kitchen team of exacting standards. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. We would certainly stay here again if visiting the area. Without doubt one of the best hotels we have stayed in and a very competitive price. A real "getaway from it all" establishment in a beautifully quintessential English village. Rod and Sue Lavers, Chinnor, OXON.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually priced depending on size. Our room, the Schmetterling, would suit a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I had lunch here on a Friday and I loved it. The fish dish I had was excellent and the sticky toffee pudding with to die for. One of my friends had a steak and the other had risotto and they were both very happy. They had crème brulee for dessert and their desserts were lovely too. I did not stay so I have no comment to make about the rooms. The location is rural but that is part of the charm and I could imagine staying here with a group of friends and going for country walks. Looking forward to my next lunch here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theflyingpa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontmell Magna
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plumber Manor
Plumber Manor
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fontmell Magna B&B
Fontmell Magna B&B
#2 of 3 in Fontmell Magna
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fontmell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fontmell

Property: The Fontmell
Address: Fontmell Magna SP7 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Fontmell Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fontmell Magna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fontmell 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fontmell, a newly refurbishment pub and dining room with six individually designed rooms, nestles in a valley between Cranborne Chase and the Blackmore Vale, just four miles from the town of Shaftesbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fontmell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing