We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”
Review of The Fontmell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fontmell
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a find!!!! an absolute gem in the heart of dorset, the pub itself looks fantastic and really well kept. went with my girlfriend for a night, got upgraded to an amazing room with a huge bath. the room was clean and really modern. was like staying at a 5* hotel!

We had supper there both nights and the food was amazing, we had the pig's head balls for starter and the beetroot, both were fantastic, for main we had pork and bream, the portions were huge and really good value, I dont know who the chef is but they did an amazing job, best food in dorset!

the staff were friendly and kind, the barman was very funny, and went out his way to light the fire for us during a busy friday night.

book well in advance, and eat in the restaurant area, the atmosphere is really great.

cant wait to go back.

Hugo Mathews

Room Tip: we had the room on the corner of the road, which was quite busy. but apart from that it was an amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    27
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
54
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just had a stay at this delightful hotel - the room was spotlessly clean. Bed was superb with lovely bedding. Roll top bath was supreme. LED lights in the bathroom/shower room, very funky. Tasteful wallpaper in the separate toilet! Staff were great, food was delicious and location was picturesque.

Room Tip: Top floor - Mallyshag
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Fontmell for 2 nights. The room was lovely and very clean, the staff was super helpful all the time. The set up is very pretty and the pub has very reasonable prices. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The middle of England.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at The Fontmell last weekend for two nights, and we had a fabulous time.

When we arrived on the Friday we were greeted in the bar by friendly staff who showed us to our amazing room (Mallyshag, on the very top floor). Everything in the room was perfect - spotlessly clean and with everything you could wish for, including a super soft but comfortable bed and far too many pillows, and a roll top bath in the corner(!).

The real treat, though, was later finding out how absolutely fantastic the food in the restaurant was, both in the evenings and for breakfast. Everything we ate was stunning - fresh, very well prepared fish, meat and vegetables, stunning desserts and eggs Benedict in the morning.

An extra treat (for me, at least) - being out in a village, there was absolutely no mobile phone signal (although there was good, strong and fast wifi throughout the bar/restaurant/room).

I think I could only wish for one thing - a pair of slippers so that we could wander down from our room, through the bar to sit by the fire, before eating an excellent meal and heading to bed. That would have been perfect - I'll pack some next time just in case!

Room Tip: Tall people might want to avoid the very top/most expensive room - it's in the roof space so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pridgethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We found this pub on booking.com and very pleased we did. We both wanted a quiet relaxing weekend and The Fontmell provided us with rest, relaxation and delicious food. Our room was delightful and the location was perfect. I am a coeliac so naturally always a little worried about eating out. I was put straight at ease, gluten free bread was purchased for me and I was able to have what I wanted from the menu catered just for me.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Babouchka room. It was very cosy and stylishly furnished. The bed was comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have been to the Fontmell about 8 times over the past year or so and it just gets better. I go for the great selection of fish and seafood, which I always enjoy, but the service could be a bit hit and miss in the past. Recently this has improved a lot and the food even more so, especially the selection of puds. On a recent visit, the scallop starter and monkfish main were excellent, the lemon posset and hubbies's tiramisu finished the meal off a treat. The reasonable wine list makes it all pretty good value. We will most definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We returned to The Fontmell after giving it a miss for quite some time now, due to a disappointing meal we had there and opinions of friends that had been there who also hadn't had great meals in the past. Recently though we have heard good things so thought we would pop along and really happy to say our meal was very good, the staff very attentive and helpful. The menu was full of variety and interesting dishes. I had the Cornish fish and it was really very good. A very nice bottle of sensibly priced French wine to wash it down with made for a thoroughly enjoyable and lovely lunch. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bears10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontmell Magna
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plumber Manor
Plumber Manor
#2 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Talbot
The Talbot
#1 of 2 in Iwerne Minster
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fontmell Magna B&B
Fontmell Magna B&B
#2 of 3 in Fontmell Magna
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Forge
The Old Forge
#1 of 1 in Compton Abbas
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fontmell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fontmell

Property: The Fontmell
Address: Fontmell Magna SP7 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Fontmell Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fontmell Magna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fontmell 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fontmell, a newly refurbishment pub and dining room with six individually designed rooms, nestles in a valley between Cranborne Chase and the Blackmore Vale, just four miles from the town of Shaftesbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fontmell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing