We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always happy to stay in Talinjoo”
Review of Talinjoo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talinjoo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always happy to stay in Talinjoo”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I've been several times inthe hotel alone or with family and it's always a very nice experience. The hotel is very nice, swming pool very good, spa fantastic (try it!), and food amazing (lobster and grilled fish are very good). Service is excellent and very nice and you feel relaxed and happy. Excellent views and worth it to go downstairs to the beach.
There is room for improvement in terms of bathrooms, and it will be worth it if the hotel invests on make them a little better.

Room Tip: Don't forget to visit Nahampona reserve to see lemurs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    26
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
25
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is built to emphasize the view of Fort Dauphin's beaches and mountains. As you relax in the infinity pool the view is to die for. The rooms are air conditioned and make you really feel like you are on holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherilee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had heard that this was an an excellent place for a nice meal. While we were visiting the hotel we were given a tour of the grounds to include the pool, spa, and rooms. We stayed for one night and the view was spectacular!
Some things could use some attention that include the drainage in the bathrooms and the cleanliness around the grounds. For example, at the pool and when walking up the paths there were nooks that folks had stuffed trash into. The staff was also seen sweeping crumb from the dining area off the patio which I think is a bad habit and could lead to future pest issues. The bathrooms had very poor drainage and the showers had to be bailed out to avoid overflowing into the room. However, for one night the view, great service, and meals out-shined the small things that needed some attention.

Room Tip: we took a room on the top of the hill which could have contributed to the poor drainage in the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The only choice in Fort Dauphin by all accounts, and I can see why. Having poked my head into a number of the other hotels in FD during my time in town, I can easily see why this is the place to stay. I spent over a week here and the stay was delightful.

The view is amazing, and the large covered decks outside each room are a highlight. The downstairs restaurant area is delightful, and a little stroll down the path leads to a lovely horizon pool. The atmosphere in the bar area is ridiculously relaxed, and it feels like you're a guest in a large holiday house. Presentation is authentic and beautifully styled - very impressive. You could quite easily see this place profiled in one of those design/interiors magazines.

PROs - view and location
- general relaxed atmosphere
- clean rooms, with functioning A/C, wi-fi, toilet, bar fridge, TV. Takes open-plan literally with open hand-basin and shower.
- food from restaurant (dinner) - breakfast ok
- very friendly service (some basic English from most staff - enough to get by)

CONs - NOT MANY! and remember its in regional Madagascar so relatively speaking these are just very minor qualms...
- shower areas in the room are not great, but hey its running hot water, which some FD hotels don't even have!
- some of the noise from the bar can travel into the rooms from 1-4, but the bar typically calms down by 10-11pm, and not that obtrusive
- curtains aren't overly private (semi-opaque) from any prying neighbours eyes and also the room is bright at 5am!
- difficult to get down to the beach - about a 15-20min walk, despite being directly above the beach.

If/when I'm coming back to FD, I'll only be doing so if I can stay at Talinjoo!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 could get a little noise from the bar area, but nothing drastic. Rooms 3 and above wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJCJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We did not stay here (although it looked vey comfortable) but we did eat dinner here three nights in a row. The food was excellent and the service very good. This area has wonderful fresh fish and vegetables. Fantastic location and view. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I have been living in Madagascar for the last 4 years and probably have stayed at the Talinjoo 4 or 5 times. There are ultra-lux hotels around Madagascar which are high-priced (I haven't been to any of them - 300 Euros or more per day just takes the fun out of my vacation). Anyway, the Talinjoo has beautiful design, breathtaking seaviews from its top-of-the-hill setting, and steps away from on of the nicest beaches in the country, at a very reasonable price. Go there now, once it is discovered or Fort Dauphin becomes more accessible, the prices will go up. The restaurant and infinity pool are great too. My favorite hotel in Madagascar.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwdnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Dauphin
837.2 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
584.5 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lavasoa
Hotel Lavasoa
#1 of 2 in Fort Dauphin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Le Port Hotel
Le Port Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fort Dauphin
2.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lamarina
Hotel Lamarina
#2 of 3 in Fort Dauphin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talinjoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talinjoo Hotel

Property: Talinjoo Hotel
Address: Libanona, Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Fort Dauphin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Fort Dauphin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Talinjoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talinjoo Hotel Madagascar/Fort Dauphin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing