We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A super-serene place but service could be stepped up a wee bit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flameback Lodges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mudigere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flameback Lodges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mudigere
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A super-serene place but service could be stepped up a wee bit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location and the rooms (especially the luxury villa) are excellent. The luxury villas are secluded and quiet, beautifully constructed and huge. The food was decent. The 4 german shepherds at the property were adorable! The only problem was that the staff were lethargic in their service, especially at the restaurant.

I highly recommend Flameback though. We were roadtripping around the area and found this place at the very last moment (2 hours before we arrived!). We were not disappointed! Definitely going back for longer.

Room Tip: The luxury villas are much better in terms of location, amenities, space, view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had never heard about this property even an year back. It was sometime last october/november timeframe that I picked up this lodge while going thru' TripAdvisor reviews for weekend getaways from Bangalore during Christmas/New-Year break. Unfortunately I didn't accomodation during my preferred week. However this time we are fortunate to get and although summer, I would say it is the perfect time to visit this comfy and homely property with excellent modern facilities. Flameback lodges (name surprised me, as the word Flameback comes from woodpecker bird but one which is not so commonly spotted) lived not only upto our expectations but definitely exceeded it. The accomodation, the service, the hospitality as well as the accessibility to the property have been really wonderful. We left on a weekday morning from Bangalore - the road condition has been very, very good, we covered around 300 kms in about 4 and 1/2 hours. The only challenge during this entire stretch is lack of decent eating joints, so a start from home post a healthy breakfast will be much recommended so that you reach the lodge well on time for lunch. Once at Flameback, you are 100% taken care of by the staff. We opted for a Luxury Villa, which fits in 4 people (incl children of 11 and 2.5 years) comfortably. The rooms (bedroom and the living room) were large with attached bathrooms (1 with a jacuzzi) and a small kitchenette. Both the rooms open out to the common balcony overlooking the view of the small water body - lake or an oasis, as they call it. The rates are all inclusive and to my surprise even consumption of alcolohic drinks are part of the package. Activities at the property include swimming, a pool table, kayaking on the small lake and the spa (not included in the rate). In addition, you can go for a plantation walk within the estate or visit a nearby viewpoint. We were the only guests at the property the first two nights (that's an advantage when you pick up weekdays to visit), so food was almost made-to-order. If you are fond of non-vegetarian food, the fish and mutton dishes will leave you yearning for more. You also have choices on the vege side, they are equally tasty but not that every item you can taste when you are heavily into fish and meat. At times if you don't find your right starter or snacks or a customized preparation on the buffet, all you need to do is ask and it will be promptly addressed. Service was exceptional, each and every need has been catered to promptly and with a smile on the face. Overall, a fantastic place. Wish I know this lodge a little earlier, it turned out to be one of those which I would like to visit again definitely. There is no mobile connectivity (at least for Airtel or Vodafone) which in a way is ideal for vacations; however it might be prudent to leave the lodge number with your friend or family so that you can be reached in case of exigency. Else, you should enjoy the peaceful, serene setting of the property and indulge in pure relaxation. Thanks to each and every member of Flameback Lodges staff, who made our stay very memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Go for Luxury villa, if you have more than one grown-up children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anindya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BharathChandra, General Manager at Flameback Lodges, responded to this review, 3 September 2016
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings !

Thank you so much for the lovely review....it encourages us to excel in our day to day life !

Please do visit again with your family.

Thanks & regards,
Bharath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We book thre rooms for this place just to know that they made a mistake and only 2 rooms were available once it was too late to change place where to go and that there would be no wifii since they had a problem to the cable connection and they were fixing it.
Once arrived there was a cat locked in one of our rooms, the poor animal ran away as soon as we opened a window.
We had dinner buffet, a big foods choice, even if the quality wasn't very high, and the day after all of us were feeling not perfectly right.
When we had to leave, we had to wait more than one our to get our invoices.
The place is not bad at all, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are big, there is a swimming pool and a lake were to rent small boat for a ride on the water, a pool table and a spa; but indeed they should improve their services, it they do it (or maybe we were just unlucky) it indedd deserves a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank umarchesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheinfelden, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were there for only two nights in February. We stayed in the main house - big rooms, simple furniture - unfortunately the kitchen below - some noises in the morning.
There is a really nice fireplace in front of the restaurant, where you can sit in the evening and chat with other guests. wonderful! the food is excellent, also the pré-dinner drinks! We did nature walks and a hike on top of a mountain. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms that are not in the main house are much nicer. these are close to the little lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We Visited Flameback in X Mas last year. Full details enclosed in http://vak1969.com/2014/02/10/flameback-lodges-a-lovely-getaway-in-mudigere-chickamagalur/


Flameback is located inside Kathikeya Coffee Estate spread across 200+ acres. The lodge is over 10 acres. It is set in the midst of nature , includes a serene lake , overlooks the hills and is adjacent to paddy fields that stretch to the jungles. Its an oasis of peace and tranquility. There is an eye for detail in everything they do and why not – its owned by royalty. The owners are descendants of the King of Sandur (Bellary Mines) who in turn are descendants of Shivaji.

They have 8 rooms – 3 Cottages , 3 Villas and 2 Suites. We stayed in a Villa that was facing the lake. It was well done up had a hall with a fireplace, a large bedroom , a pantry , a powder room , and a very large bath. It was like a 1 BHK house with a huge patio that faces the lake. Rooms come with TV & Satellite connection .

The Villas are perfect for a family of 2 Adults + 2 Kids. The suites are also big – but located in the main building they have no nature view. The cottages are perfect for couples. The place has 24 by 7 generator, RO Purified Water, a small but lovely pool and a 24 by 7 restaurant that serves Veg * Non Veg food.

Its best to come to the place in a group and maybe book all the 8 rooms. Food is customised and liquor , tea , coffee everything is on the house. One rate that is all inclusive. Breakfast , lunch , dinner , canoeing in the lake , trekking. The buffet spreads are decent and the food is tasteful. Service is excellent.

They have a small Spa and the quality of treatment is A++ , good fusion of Ayurvedic and Swedish Massage – and its very affordable at just Rs 1000/-. We paid 17 K / night – and had booked nearly 4 months in advance. They have no meeting / conference halls – so planning a company offsite here is a challenge.

Flameback has limited entertainment. There is a lovely lake and you can go kayaking. They also take you for long treks – in and outside the plantation. Treks can vary from 1 hr to a few hrs. There are some ancient temples , waterfalls close by which are worth a visit. But by and large its nature and solitude

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vak1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We went for a family 50th Birthday Celebration to the Lodge in early jan 2014.We had taken all the rooms and stayed at the Flameback for 3 Nights.We enjoyed the hospitality and this was an unique true experience.We stayed at the Paddy Villa and could see peacocks in the morning, we went for walks & treks in the Coffee Plantation and celebrated a 50th Birthday by the small lake--Awesome!The Service in the Resort was personalized and the food was really outstanding.The staff were friendly, professional and courteous.We would go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Visited Flameback from 15-18 Jan with my wife. it was a very nice experience. We stayed in a Paddy villa which was nicely set up. There are quite a few activities to do inside the resort itself: Kayaking, cycling etc. They will also take you on a plantation walk and to trekking places.The staff was very courteous and friendly. The food was very good. If you like fish, then you will love what they serve over here. They have limited number of villas so the place is very calm and quite. If you want to get away from the city and just unwind for a couple of days, then this place is a must visit. You do not have to worry about anything as everything is taken care of.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mudigere
23.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
20.4 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#6 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#7 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Serai
The Serai
#1 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
22.4 mi away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#4 of 129 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
21.6 mi away
Shanthi Kunnj Homestay
Shanthi Kunnj Homestay
#37 of 95 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flameback Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flameback Lodges

Property: Flameback Lodges
Address: Billur Post, Pattadur Village, Mudigere 577132, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mudigere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mudigere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Flameback Hotel Mudigere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing