We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to Heidelberg”
Review of Midori Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midori Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dossenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel, close to Heidelberg”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed for two weeks at this hotel and liked it very much. I arrived in the early afternoon before the official check-in time and the staff did everything so that a room was ready within 30 minutes. My room (category blue standard) was spacious with lots of storage space, especially the huge closet. The room also had a small refrigerator.
The bed was 1,40 m wide - a nice change to the usual narrow single beds.
The bathroom had a rain shower and would even be convenient for elderly people because you can simply walk in.
Breakfast was good, too. Nice view from the dining area. The bistro did not offer food when I was there (according to a note in my room they were working on a new menu) but there are a lot of restaurants in walking distance.
There is free parking in the on-site garage or outside the hotel.
The only downside for me was that the room was either too hot or too cold at night. As the hotel is a low-energy house, you are not supposed to leave the windows open for very long. Most nights the room was too hot and I did not sleep very well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    44
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
33
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

WOW! Loved this hotel. Modern, clean, easy to get to (via the trains) and inexpensive. I can't say enough about this place. I loved every moment of my stay here. Located in quiet little Dossenheim it us still very easy and quick to get into Heidelberg.

Check in was all automated/computerized. Efficient if not very personal but we were also checking in very late so it worked very well.

Breakfast was simple, standard European fare but very tasty.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I spent 2 weeks in this hotel while a family member was in the hospital in Heidelberg. The hotel is great, very welcoming, nice amenities (I hope by now the sauna/pool part is open), eco friendly, the best German breakfast buffet ever (mostly organic). The skybar/lounge has a great view and a patio. I spent most of my time there doing work, 8+ hours a day. The staff made all of us feel very welcome and accommodated us with extra supplies when my father came to the hotel from the hospital. It's a welcoming zen like feeling throughout the entire hotel.
The restaurant has a very limited number of items you can order but very tasty and good if you don't want to go out to eat.

Room Tip: Sometimes people hang out in the lobby downstairs so if you're a light sleeper, get a room furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdutchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

One of the few hotels that offer a website and when you arrive you find out that the hotel is exactly like the website! RARE.

Hotel opened few months ago. It's environmental friendly. Really cool place to stay. Great basement parking. Great elevator. Great staff. Great (organic) breakfast. Great coffee machine. Great cleaning ladies. Great reception staff. Great wifi. Great roof terras.
Would stay again.

Several great restaurants & coffee shops in Handschuhsheim about 10min drive. You do need a car to get there. Try restaurant Auerstein, Dosserheimer Landstr. 82 and restaurant Helmstatter Herrenhaus, Dosserheimer Landstr. 4. great friendly service and excellent food & drinks.

There is a Fullhorn Bio supermarkt 5min from the hotel. The organic food selection is awesome.

For the Ultimate spa treatment you drive to Baden Baden (1hr) and visit the Friedrichsbad bath house. Take the 4hr treatment including soap brush and bodylotion, you will feel reborn.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you can't walk far, easy access to car, elevator etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gotcha4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dossenheim
2.7 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
958 reviews
4.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Mannheim - Ladenburg
3.5 mi away
NH Hirschberg Heidelberg
NH Hirschberg Heidelberg
#1 of 3 in Hirschberg an der Bergstrasse
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
433 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midori Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midori Guesthouse

Property: Midori Guesthouse
Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Str. 4, 69221 Dossenheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Dossenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dossenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Midori Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The midori the green guesthouse was built in 2011 in Dossenheim. This environmentally friendly hotel offers spacious, minimalist-style rooms, with free WIFI and rooftop terrace. In the Panorama-Lounge with excellent views of Dossenheim, we serve the breakfast and in the evening we serves a range of snacks and fine wines. The Midori has its own garage and since 2013 the Sauna-area , with finish Sauna, Sanarium and wellness showers has opened. The Midori is a non smoking house, we accept pets on request and with an extra fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Midori Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing