We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bungalows in peaceful surroundings”
Review of Tree Top Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely bungalows in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in total in room 15. This was a bungalow room with private bathroom and hot shower for $15 per night in high season. The value for money was fantastic, it's one of the nicest bungalows we've ever stayed in. The room size is big, bed is very comfortable and bathroom is great too, even has a separate shower area! You get a balcony as well. Our bungalow felt really private and it was absolutely peaceful at night. Our one disappointment was the breakfast menu at the on-site restaurant, it was really limited and not inspiring. Just a load of baguettes. You can get a nicer breakfast at the Dutch cafe a few doors down. However, we had a burger at the restaurant one night and that was very nice. Also, wifi works very well in the restaurant but didn't reach our bungalow.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a goodie - very private and just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    72
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
92
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I sent an email to book a $7 standard room a fews days before I arrived in Banlung. Having not heard anything back, I called the day before to check. I spoke to the owner who said he had seen my email and I had a reservation. I made it clear in the email and on the phone that I would be arriving in the late afternoon.

When I went to check in I was told there were no single rooms available and that I would need to pay for a bungalow ($15). This was pretty frustrating given I had planned ahead and even spoken to the owner on the phone. I don't know if the booking was incorrect from the beginning or if my room was given away earlier in the day.

Not wanting to walk around town to find another room I payed the extra for the bungalow. The room was nice. Good hot shower. Private balcony with a hammock. Though it seems that since lonely planet reviewed Tree Top, it hasn't had much maintenance work done (very loud creaking fan, leaking basins and toilets) The bungalow also badly needed a mosquito net over the bed. Huge rips in the fly-screens meant the room filled with insects throughout the night.

I moved to a single standard room which was also pretty nice. I felt this room was much better value for money - and included mosquito nets though no hot water. Can be a little noisy given the shared floorboards and walls.

The food was pretty average, especially breakfast. Mr Happy hangs around the resteraunt and can organize treks or day tours around Banlung.

If booking a bus over to Laos, head down the road to Parrot Tours rather than use Tree Top. For $16 I got a minibus to Stung Treng, a direct bus to Ban Nagasan in Laos and a boat to Don Det. Tree Top's ticket doesn't include the boat and involves a 5 hour wait at their other guesthouse in Stung Treng.

I was pretty disappointed to find that dispite the name, Tree Top didn't resemble an "eco" bussiness at all.

Overall, a decent enough stay but would check out other options first next time.






Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank backpackingaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was the best eco lodge we've stayed at in Southeast Asia. Better than most hotels we've stayed at in Cambodia and the food is better than most of the food we've had in Cambodia. The bungalow was very nice and comfortable. Tastefully decorated and sturdily built. Very cozy! Nice bathrooms, big beds, lockable solid nightstand, atmospheric lighting. The room was made up and cleaned daily. The restaurant features a great atmosphere, very nicely laid out with amazing views of the valley and hills. Part of it gets the sunrise light and the front part gets bathed in the orange glow of the sunset. It's really a magical place and the perfect ending to our month in Cambodia. By far, one of the top places to stay at in Cambodia. Make sure to visit the nearby volcanic lake, a serene place, peaceful, nice waters, beautiful swimming, away from the dusty roads of Banlug. If you do a jungle trek, make sure it's more than one day, as we found the one day trek to be a bit underwhelming and overpriced. All in all, a fantastic must visit destination!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amadeus303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I didn't actually stay at Tree Top, but had a great experience with the people. Due to some miscommunication (which probably should be expected when emailing in English with a guesthouse that is essentially a series of treehouses) Treetop booked my group for Jan 20, instead of Jan 21, so when I went to check in, I was told that we couldn't stay the night, but the man (Smiley) told me to hang tight and he would find us a place to stay. While he worked the phone my friends and I looked around and took in the beautiful view that Treetop offers. Smiley found us some rooms at Lake Side Lodge and also planned some fun activities for us during our stay.
He is the man. Everyone should know Smiley. He took us on a one day hike through the jungle (they call it trekking in Cambodia) and also arranged transportation for us to Phnom Penh. One of my friends left his phone in the van when we got to Phnom Penh, so we called the driver who, because of the language barrier, called smiley who brokered the return of the phone. The next day Smiley called me to ask if we got the phone back okay and wanted to know if we needed any help with anything in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nether Heyford
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We booked a lower bungalow (No 13) as these are the ones with hot water. The location is quiet and laid back, with a lush green outlook and only a five minutes walk from town.

The good sized room and ensuite shower room was cleaned and refreshed towels delivered daily, as well as the 1.5 litre of water. Extremely comfortable bed with AC / Fan which we didn't use. Balcony with a couple of reclining chairs and a hammock, for those evening chill outs.

Also the lounge area and dining area allows you to meet fellow travellers. The food is good as well, both western and local food well above the bar.

Additionally, we have found all of the staff extremely helpful and attentive, and well worth a mention.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and try to arrive in the morning. This place has been booked full over the 3 da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The tree top has some really pretty wooden bungalows and rooms that are cheaper. The prices are absolutely reasonable.
The jungle scenery is stunning and for me this place is perfect if you are seeking for silence, reading and jungle trekking of course. The owners are really nice and helpful.
Tree top organizes treks and serves food. I can highly reccommend the vegetarian mushroom burger.
Nature lovers will absolutely enjoy their stay there!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grossstadthippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurashiki, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Arrived by motorcycle (7-hour trip on muddy, potholed road from Sen Monorom!) after having diarrhea all night and checked into my cute little twin room around 3:00pm. All I wanted to do was sleep! Place was clean enough and the bed was very comfotable. Until around 8:00pm when the guys next door came in. The cheaper rooms are attached, same floorboards, and this guy stomping across the room actually shook my bed! I was still feeling awful & needed the rest so had the manager go check it out, and I heard the giggling woman say "But we aren't doing anything!". The stomping subsided at around 11:00pm and I finally got back to sleep. I asked them to move me to a new room, a LOVELY private bungalow which was well worth the $15. I slept deeply there the next 2 nights. Good breakast & coffee, but dinner was marginal & meager-sized (plenty of other good places to eat in town). I had one of their employees "Mr Happy" take me around by motorbike to the falls one day, and on the next I hired a bicycle & saw the town & went out to Yeak Lom Lake. The manager can arrange onward travel, etc. but they seem unsure about the travel time, this is due to the constant changing of the bus/mini-van schedule and condition of the roads which were awful (Sen Monorom~Ban Lung) when I visited. All in all a nice place to stay, I woudl definitely stay there agian, in a private bungalow!

Room Tip: Choose a private bunglaow lest you be subject to giggling, stomping people next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maneki-neko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banlung hotels
1.1 mi away
Terres Rouges Lodge
Terres Rouges Lodge
#2 of 9 in Banlung
201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#2 of 26 in Banlung
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ratanakiri-Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sunset Village
Sunset Village
#4 of 26 in Banlung
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flashpacker Pad
Flashpacker Pad
#9 of 26 in Banlung
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Top Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Top Eco-Lodge

Property: Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Address: Phum No.1, Laban Seak, Banlung, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Ratanakiri Province > Banlung
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Banlung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tree Top Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Top Eco Hotel Ratanakiri Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing