We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice settings - good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tree Top Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice settings - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had a single room. It was very cosy and good value for money. Only cold shower like many other places. Rooms are spacious, but had power outages for nearly half of my time there.
Good and fair priced food in restaurant. Helpful and knowledgeable staff about trips and further transportation.
Nice quite place to enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    68
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
13
87
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Three years ago I had an amazing time here, unfortunately my return wasn't as great.
The place is still great value for money, but the room we had didnt have hot water for a day when it was meant to. The toilet didnt have a lid on the cistern and their daily servicing of rooms left a little to be desired.
That being said, it's still an amazing setting, the food is good (although Cafe Alee about 4 doors up does it much better. The staff are helpful but I get the feeling you can get cheaper tours elsewhere.
All in all, it's good without being outstanding but you can meet other wonderful travellers off the beaten track and have some fun.

Room Tip: Book in advance and request hot water if that's a creature comfort you can't do without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The bungalow are reaaally nice, with a big terrace to chill on your hammock while admiring the landscape and hearing birds and geckos. The place is clean and quiet, don't expect to party there but if u love nature they can suggest you plenty of things to do around. He food is not excellent. However, i would recommend this place to stay in Ban Lung!!! I enjoyed it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This is a really cool place to stay in Ban Lung, the lodges are really cool looking, your own hammock outside on the decking and really nice en-suit bathroom, make sure to get a mosquito net from the staff doh we got a lot of bites the 1st night, and if your afraid of bugs it's not for you there is a lot of gaps a cracks for all sorts to get in, but it's all part of the experience, it's not far from the town, probably 400m, and a heads up if you like Indian food there a little place called Everest on the right hand side when heading towards the town, not much to look at but great food..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is easily one of the most relaxing places to be found in North-East Cambodia. Not too far from the city center (5-10 minutes walk), but it feels like you're in the jungle. We had a great wooden bungalow with a nice view of the valley, but not all the bungalows are like that, so have a good look first, before you decide on one (if you have the choice, of course).

They offer clean water for a reasonable price, which saves on the plastic bottles.

Good restaurant too, friendly people.

It was a bit noisy at night, but that was not their fault: lots of marriages going on in town.

Room Tip: Some bungalows can feel a bit claustrophobic because of all the trees and plants. Therefore have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in total in room 15. This was a bungalow room with private bathroom and hot shower for $15 per night in high season. The value for money was fantastic, it's one of the nicest bungalows we've ever stayed in. The room size is big, bed is very comfortable and bathroom is great too, even has a separate shower area! You get a balcony as well. Our bungalow felt really private and it was absolutely peaceful at night. Our one disappointment was the breakfast menu at the on-site restaurant, it was really limited and not inspiring. Just a load of baguettes. You can get a nicer breakfast at the Dutch cafe a few doors down. However, we had a burger at the restaurant one night and that was very nice. Also, wifi works very well in the restaurant but didn't reach our bungalow.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a goodie - very private and just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I sent an email to book a $7 standard room a fews days before I arrived in Banlung. Having not heard anything back, I called the day before to check. I spoke to the owner who said he had seen my email and I had a reservation. I made it clear in the email and on the phone that I would be arriving in the late afternoon.

When I went to check in I was told there were no single rooms available and that I would need to pay for a bungalow ($15). This was pretty frustrating given I had planned ahead and even spoken to the owner on the phone. I don't know if the booking was incorrect from the beginning or if my room was given away earlier in the day.

Not wanting to walk around town to find another room I payed the extra for the bungalow. The room was nice. Good hot shower. Private balcony with a hammock. Though it seems that since lonely planet reviewed Tree Top, it hasn't had much maintenance work done (very loud creaking fan, leaking basins and toilets) The bungalow also badly needed a mosquito net over the bed. Huge rips in the fly-screens meant the room filled with insects throughout the night.

I moved to a single standard room which was also pretty nice. I felt this room was much better value for money - and included mosquito nets though no hot water. Can be a little noisy given the shared floorboards and walls.

The food was pretty average, especially breakfast. Mr Happy hangs around the resteraunt and can organize treks or day tours around Banlung.

If booking a bus over to Laos, head down the road to Parrot Tours rather than use Tree Top. For $16 I got a minibus to Stung Treng, a direct bus to Ban Nagasan in Laos and a boat to Don Det. Tree Top's ticket doesn't include the boat and involves a 5 hour wait at their other guesthouse in Stung Treng.

I was pretty disappointed to find that dispite the name, Tree Top didn't resemble an "eco" bussiness at all.

Overall, a decent enough stay but would check out other options first next time.






Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank backpackingaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banlung hotels
1.1 mi away
Terres Rouges Lodge
Terres Rouges Lodge
#2 of 8 in Banlung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#1 of 24 in Banlung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ratanakiri-Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sunset Village Banlung
Sunset Village Banlung
#4 of 24 in Banlung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtyard Guesthouse
The Courtyard Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Banlung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Top Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Top Eco-Lodge

Property: Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Address: Phum No.1, Laban Seak, Banlung, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Ratanakiri Province > Banlung
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Banlung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tree Top Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Top Eco Hotel Ratanakiri Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing