We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fresh fish from the tank”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tannenmuehle

Tannenmuehle
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Grafenhausen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: German, Soups, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chavornay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish from the tank”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

A lovely hotel-restaurant in a small valley with an animal park and a museum. Country-gastronomic food that we recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Knightmare34th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    38
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent food but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We visited the above with a group of friends. It is a beautiful property. Nice old buildings, a fish farm, lots of flowers , a small zoo , an old mill. Lots of things to do.There are always a lot of people, so if you travel with a group make a reservation if you are planning lunch or dinner.
We were there for an early dinner. The restaurant was almost full. We were lucky to get a table for 8. Our food was first class. Well presented, tasty and hot. The chef's make some excellent meals based on trout. There are numerous excellent dishes.
Our great experience started to sour when we got a waiter who could not really care. He served over the table, waited for the guests to give him the dishes, had absolutely no clue about good service, polished the cutlery with his fingers before putting them in a sleeve for our table.
As a food professional I find it really sad when the back of the house produces first class meals and then you some one like our waiter who wrecks it all with his laziness.
I have written to the owners, but they tell me he is a good waiter and been with them a long time. Whatever, we will not be going back there and instead find a place that still cares for it's custmers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swissboy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A very good secret kept in the deep Black Forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

How I can start, I think about it and immediately im hungry, all that you order is supreme good, the soup of forelle, the spargel mit pfannkuchen, is delicious, and when they have it in the menu please do not miss the lamb!!! Is fantastic. Incredible food, for those with kids is also nice they have small zoo, and garden toys. Enjoyable atmosphere! Most of the waiters are very friendly. Perfect saturday night dinner or sunday lunch!! My favorite in blackforest!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollitacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A most recommended restaurant in the Schwarzwald”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Not so easy to find the restaurant which is hidden at the end of the street in the middle of nowhere, but thanks to the GPS we found it at last. The restaurant is beautiful, most convenient and clean. The food is great, mainly the fish that they grow there. The service is good, yet the staff does not know English. There is a Hebrew menu. The prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nilyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at the Pension Kramer in Grafenhausen and came here to eat--- the food was fabulous!!! We had the trout and it was one of the best we have had. The waiters were warm and welcoming. It is tucked away in the forest and a definite place to stop if you are in the area. The museum is next to it, and at night all lit up and neat to see--- highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tannenmuehle also viewed

Grafenhausen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Grafenhausen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Grafenhausen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Bonndorf, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Weilheim, Baden-Wurttemberg
Sankt Blasien, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Tannenmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing