We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little corner of Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little corner of Paradise!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at St. James's Club! We totally relaxed in this wonderful little corner of Paradise and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff were always pleasant and polite and I can really understand why many people seem to return to this lovely place year after year. I felt totally safe and secure, well looked after and truly delighted that we'd chosen such a wonderful location to spend our holiday.
The food was great and there was not a single meal that we were disappointed with. This is a 4 star hotel that caters perfectly well for its customers varied tastes.
Sailing was great!
The only stressed moments we ever had were on the beach at the end of the day when there seemed to be an unwritten rule that it was fine to disturb everyone who was still relaxing and put them at risk of being knocked out by a tennis ball during games of cricket! I did object - but you know what, it was a big beach, so we just moved. Problem easily solved.
I was glad I'd read reviews about the seaweed issue on Coco's beach or I might have been disappointed, but It really wasn't a major problem while we were there. Plenty of people seemed perfectly happy on that beach. We preferred Marmora Bay as on Coco's Beach it would be hard to tell just how hot it was because of the breeze.
This place has something for everyone. You can have totally relaxed evenings or fun and laughter in the Reef Bar, whatever suits you. We loved the Docksider restaurant and bar and also Coco's for breakfast and lunch as they were quieter than the Rainbow Garden.
A wonderful holiday - I hope we will return!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    1,066
    335
    167
    82
See reviews for
958
1,599
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We are a family of 4, the hotel expected our 15 year old son and 9 year old daughter to share a small double bed, the management refused to provide another bed or provide two single beds instead of the double, we were made to pay '20 usd per night!' so 260 usd in total to rent a very small poor quality put up bed, the staff refused to compromise on cost, this is outrageous and a blatant rip off, our virgin rep was unable to resolve this.

Having been to most caribeen islands and also to Antigua before I believe st James are the only hotel with this policy. So be warned if you are thinking of coming here as a family!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We are sorry to read about your experience. Management and your Tour representative are aware of your situation. The booking you have is for a double bedded room, this consists of 2 double beds, there is not an option to choose single beds on arrival. Any additional beds are charged for as stated on the Tour Operators website and brochure. We do apologise that your room did not meet with expectation and for any distress this has caused and hope that you enjoy the rest of your vacation in Antigua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed in a villa right on the beach at Mamora Bay. Wow! Just couldn't have asked for anything more from the accommodation. In the mornings we had coffee on the verandah and then walked barefoot onto the beach. In the evenings we had sundowners often lying out on our own sunbeds. We felt so lucky to be staying here.

So was everything perfect? No, it never is and I have to keep it real (as they say) and mention the odd little niggle. I can also appreciate that if our accommodation had not been so great, I might have felt differently about the whole experience. The acid test is, would I go back? Yes ..... in a heartbeat.

So, here goes:
This is a big resort, very nicely landscaped. The hotel cleary invest in the property. Some of the main areas have a package holiday feel to them but having said that you can always find a quiet spot. Stick to Mamora Bay rather than say the main pool if you prefer peace and quiet. There is something for everyone here, it is great for families with children of any age including teenagers. I am not that sure that it is as good for couples (as it is not a deserted Caribbean Idlyll) but plenty of them get married here. I often overheard people talking about the changes the hotel had made and it seems that people come back year after year. The staff are helpful and I was impressed that one of the managers was in reception when we left to wish us a pleasant journey and thank us for staying with them. As always, if you have a problem, mention it to the hotel staff while you are at the resort, there is no point stewing over it and then writing about it on Trip Advisor when you get home. We had a minor issue and the management resolved it, you can't ask for more than that.

Beaches
Mamora Bay - If you are looking for the crystal clear turquoise caribbean sea, you won't find it here. The beach is still lovely and the water calm. Yes, sunbeds can be at a premium but that it is pretty much the case wherever you go.
They rake the sand every morning at about 7.30am, so if your accommodation is on the beach you will probably be woken up by the noise. But this isn't a big deal as you tend to get up earlier in the Caribbean than you would do at home anyway.
Coco Beach - Yes, there is a seaweed problem. I thought Mamora Bay was better.

Accommodation: Beach villa great. High spec, new furnishings. Self catering would probably be limited to barbeques and snacks but the villa was fully equipped with crockery and cutlery. Did have a dishwasher but no washing machine. Lovely big main bedroom and ensuite. The ensuite had a deep corner tub with overhead rainshower. Ok, the bathroom wasn't airconditioned but this was a non-issue - you just have to duck back into the bedroom to cool off.

Food: This is plentiful and there is lots of choice but I wouldn't say that it is great. We found the Rainbow Garden was the best on the all inclusive package. The Docksider is pretty, nice atmosphere, but the buffet style food was not up to scratch. Cocos was really good for breakfast, slightly less choice than the Rainbow Garden but nicer location and ambience. We paid the $35 supplement and ate at Piccolo Mondo one night. My Caprese salad wasn't right, the desert was okay but the lobster was fantastic and we were happy to pay the supplement for this alone.
Entertainment etc: The live bands were middle of the road but still enjoyable. They generally finished at 10pm which was too early. In the main bar area (Jacaranda lounge?) there was music/DJ til late. The main bar was lovely and cool and provided a welcome respite from the heat. But, oh dear, I hated the decor in the main seating area. The cushions on the chairs looked cheap, the carpet just wrong and the lighting in the main seating area was much too harsh. But that is just me being critical, others liked the bar. Gym was great, plenty of machines and weights. There were lots of tennis courts.

We went on a hotel catamaran trip on our last afternoon. This was a lovely end to the holiday but was expensive. We travelled with Virgin Holidays and I would say that their excursions are good but, again, expensive. I think part of the problem is that often these trips include boat trips and fuel isn't cheap. You have to go on at least one boat trip though, just relax and listen to the reggae music as you power over the waves.
Taxis - Yes, these do cost but they are reliable and run to time, in fact they mostly turn up early.

Style notes for the ladies: You know how maxi dresses often look wrong in the UK? They look great in the Caribbean. A beach cover-up is essential, a kaftan looks ok (and covers burnt bits) but a little beach dress can look even better. Hang out wet swimsuits to dry, if you don't they will go mouldy very quickly in this sort of climate. Pack loads of high factor suntan cream, you are going to need it and it is cheaper to bring it with you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank minniesafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

They downgraded our room to a beach front second floor with access on the road side, when we booked a beachfront access. The room had no view of the beach due to trees directly in front of the balcony. Our room was 80 degrees the entire first night and we asked to be moved and they (Prince) refused and thought that was acceptable. The staff at St. James are 20% friendly and 80% rude and angry most of the time. David at guest services was obviously predjudicial against americans, he spent 20 minutes with non American guests and gave us no time explaining the excursions and other services. They looked the other way when guests did not have proper atire at dinner (non Americans). The beach did have grass constantly being cleaned by workers, a major effort. You might get two drinks a day if you are on the beach side and the bay was imbearably hot and the water was cloudy and stagnet. there are too many faults to keep listing to be a four star resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. When a Beachfront Room is sold Tour Operators do not always specify that this can be either lower (beach access) or upper floor. We are sorry if this was not clarified to you at the time. We always try to accommodate guests but have to bear in mind occupancy levels and cannot guarantee requests. We are sorry that you felt that Guest Services were prejudice towards your party, this is very disappointing and your comments will be passed onto Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Let's start with the positive. The views from the St. James Club are spectacular. On one side you have the roaring ocean (lots of seaweed though); and on the other side, you have the tranquil bay. The pools are clean and well kept; however, everything else is lacking.

The drive from the airport to the hotel takes you through a section that shows the local regions poverty. There are little shanty's and animals grazing in open fields and in front of houses. You pass by several "junky" areas with broken down cars riddled along the side of the road. The ride is very bumpy and the roads narrow.

Upon arriving at the hotel, you are greeted by Guest Services and offered a rum punch. Prince, the Guest Services Manager, overlooked my husband and son who were standing in front of him and came to offer me something. When I asked that he take care of them, he said he was asking me not them. I needed the assistance of Guest Services several more times during our stay (booking dinner reservations, excursions, etc.) and none of the staff there were helpful or courteous. If you call for assistance from Reception, please be prepared to be put on terminal hold and then told they will call you back in 5 minutes. Which does not happen.

Check in is very slow and manual. The porters are not friendly and are slow. It is very apparent they are only there to make a paycheck. The room is not what you would find in your typical 4 or 5 star resort in Mexico. It is very plain and basic and lacks comfort. No comfy duvets or lots of pillows. Just a plain raddy bedspread and 2 pillows for a king size bed. The towels were not fluffy; and while clean, were not able to be used more than once like they ask you to do.

This resort should not mention that they have a Kids Club. It was a little building with a cheap Fisher Price house and little cut outs in the sand. We were at the resort for 5 days and never once saw a child in Kids Club. Needless to say, we didn't leave our 6-year old son here and kept him with us at all times.

There are 4 restaurants on the property. We ate at the Docksider the first night and the food was what is customary in the region. We ate salad and cheese/crackers and cold cuts for dinner that first night. The Rainbow Garden and CoCo's have basically the same buffet for breakfast and we're okay. CoCo's has the same menu for lunch and dinner and was good. Rainbow Garden had a few more items for lunch and we ate there a couple of times since it is right by the main pool. Piccolo Mondo is the nice restaurant on property. It is great food and the service was better than the other restaurants; however, men will need to wear their long pants.

My husband didn't pack any long pants and wore shorts the first time. We were promptly seated and had a great meal. We tried to eat there again and were denied (even though the restaurant was completely empty) since he was wearing shorts.

Customer service is hit or miss. Jermaine in the Rainbow Garden always greeted us with a smile and provided excellent service. It is true that Inez and Super Dave at the main pool are great. All others need a lesson in providing customer service.

The excursions are few and are mainly for adults or older kids. There are no motorized water sports at the property but they do offer kayaks, paddle boats and katamarans.

We spent more time in the evening in our room on this vacation than we ever have on a vacation. Needless to say, we all came back tan, relaxed and hungry as there wasn't enough to do or good food to eat.

We will not be returning to St. James Club anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your first impressions of Reception and check-in were disappointing. With regards to dress code, we do stipulate that men wear long pants when dining in Piccolo Mondo, the fact there was an inconsistency on whether this was enforced will be taken up with Management. It is disappointing to read that you did not receive satisfactory customer service, delivering an excellent service to all our guests is of paramount importance and we are always looking at ways to improve, so your comments have been taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My family which included husband a 16 yr old and a 12 yr old, stayed for 8 nights from 13 July to 21 July. On arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne or rum punch. I opted for rum punch and that was my tipple for most of the holiday. Our room in bouganvillia was lovely and spacious, very clean with a huge bath and cleaned daily. Each day we chose to spend the day around the mamora bay which was quiet and not overcrowded for that time of year. Brilliant none motorised water sports which were free and loads of fun. We actually got rescued one day whilst on the hobie cat by the St James rescue boat , daughter was not amused but i was impressed that they were looking out for everyone. Alfred the drinks buggy man was a godsend he would drive around approx twice a day serving lovely cocktails and cold beers, delicious, thanks Alfie. Food was great plenty of choice in all the restaurants, did not have one bad meal. Although there was not enough evening entertainment for children and adults it didnt stop my children enjoying themselves, they enjoyed the evening film and liked to chill out in the reception area. I would definitely recommend St James Club, beautiful surroundings, beautiful scenery and great facilities. paradise

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomaslynn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I really wanted to like the St. James Club, but found it mediocre. It is a great value for the money if you get a deal, but between the airfare to get there and the "normal" price of the hotel, I know there are better vacations to be had. Remember, this is formerly a British colony, so the staff act accordingly - they won't warm unless you warm to them, they operate on decorum. We had great service from Jermaine, Glenroy, Natasha, Priscilla, Alfred, and Devon. The beach bar was in a great location to just sit on the beach and eat and drink. The free water sports are a very nice addition as are the numerous pools, but the pools close at 6pm, so what do the kids do after dinner? There is a movie theater, but that is about all for night time activities for the children, unless they play tennis and so I found it difficult to keep my teenagers occupied. The lounge is open, but the entertainment is poor. The location of the resort is remote, which makes for many expensive cab rides to other parts of the island. However, that remote location can be a plus as it is very quiet and beautiful. The resort is gated and security abounds, which is nice. The ocean side provides a constant breeze to sit and read a book under a swaying palm. The bay side is calm and is great for toddlers to swim and play. If you're a tennis player, the resort has beautifully maintained courts and its a great location to play. We had a seaside room and it was nice to lay on the balcony and walk out on the beach, but they are the worse rooms with regard to decor. Another family member couldn't walk on her floor without getting black feet! I asked a maid for an extra towel and she pulled several towels with brown stains on them out of her pile, before I got a clean one!!!! Which made me wonder about the cleanliness of the place and at the end of the stay the maid came knocking at our door with her hand out for a tip! If you want a nicer room, ask for a room up by the reef pool - wicker furniture, chairs and tables, tropical prints. This resort has plenty of sea excursions so that scuba, deep sea fishing and catamaran rides all occur from their dock - a big plus! They even cooked (although overcooked) our mahi mahi that we caught on our excursion. And that brings me to the food, which is average. I would recommend ordering off the menu rather than the all-inclusive buffet. The meats were tough, the cuts were poor and overcooked. The menu needs an overhaul. I would have given this resort 2 stars, but the beautiful location can't be beat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bay side or under the reef pool - great views and better appointed. Tree frog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrldgrl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you found the resort to be mediocre and not live up to expectation. With regards to cleanliness, all our laundry is done on site to a professional level, we apologise for your experience which we hope was a one off but we will feed back to laundry. Staff are not meant to solicit tips, this will be followed up with Management. We are pleased you enjoyed the resort grounds and have noted your comments on the food and entertainment. We are always working to deliver the perfect vacation, so we appreciate guest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,862 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,753 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing