We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as we remembered it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. James's Club & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just as we remembered it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have a policy of never going back to the same hotel twice but after visiting the St. James's Club last year we decided to take a chance and return. So it was with trepidation that we returned this January 2013. We are delighted to report that not only did we have another excellent holiday, we found that some things had improved such as nightly entertainment in the Docksider bar and no reservations required to dine there this year. We felt immediately at ease when we arrived because everything was famililar. The customer service from the Management team is exemplary. They were constantly checking that we were happy and greeted us by name most of the time. Very impressive given that the hotel was full. Maintenance of the hotel grounds is extremely high and the beach in Mamora Bay is one of the cleanest, most idyllic beaches we have ever seen. There is a designated swimming area which is safe and very clean. Very good for children and adults alike.
There was a good mix of age ranges there during our stay, young couples, families with young children and older couples like ourselves. I have read in other reviews complaints about the entertainment ending at 10 p.m. Personally we agree with this curfew as it prevents disturbance late at night. We were never disturbed by noise after retiring to bed. Anyone who is looking for late night disco/dancing/entertainment would be disappointed and should possibly look elsewhere.
We stayed for two weeks and found that it was worth paying the extra charge to eat at Piccolo Mondo a few times just to give a bit of variety. In general the service in the restaurants was good and we only had one night when service in Rainbow Garden was slow. The majority of serving staff are very, very friendly and only a few perhaps got out of bed the wrong side some days.
There were several large groups having conferences or meetings during our stay and we hope that it is not going to be a regular event as it changes the ambience of the hotel slightly. Large tables with noisy groups were a bit overpowering in the Docksider restaurant on some nights.
Holidaying at St. James's Club is very relaxing and a great place to recharge your batteries. Given our experiences this year we arecontemplating booking again for next January...... a real compliment from confirmed "non-returners" !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atilla-the-Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    1,022
    328
    164
    80
See reviews for
922
1,542
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cotswolds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Once again immensely impressed with the resort,accommodations the beautifully kept grounds, high quality food and most of all the ever friendly staff.On this our tenth visit its still a pleasure to holiday on a resort where from the top down everyone cares about your stay..well done Gordon and Cherrie Black

Room Tip: Try a sea view or go for a royal suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cotswoldsunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We have become very picky travellers in the last number of years, and we try to frequent more upscale resorts. The old saying you get what you pay for, is very relevant when you travel. This resort is up there in price, but you do get what you pay for. The food and service was excellent, athough some of the employees look a little surly, and don't smile, while others are just beaming. The two beaches are exact opposites. One is windy and a little steep, while the one on the bay is always calm. Perfect for little ones. We travelled with our 5 year old grandson for his first trip to the Caribbean, and he thought it was great.
We enjoyed every meal we had there. The Dockside is the buffet, and they change the themes every night. All of the dishes were hot, fresh, and delicious.
Highly recommend this for couples and couples with children.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to the reef suites or royal suites. The beachfront are in an older ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plumbfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary (and husband's birthday) in this luxurious setting. You read in other reviews that you get what you pay for - and we certainly did here. All the staff were friendly and helpful from the gardeners to the senior managers - the watersports crew were very patient with us seniors as we even learnt to sail the hobie cats! Our room was amazing; food excellent wherever we ate; service very good at whichever bar we enjoyed a lazy drink - but special mention to the girls in the beach bar. Loved the contrast of the awesome Atlantic beach with Mamora Bay. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday experience. We doubt our experience could be bettered anywhere else but we are not seasoned travellers (despite our age) and there are so many places we long to visit. We do hope, however, to return one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alemap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We have just returned from a week at St. James Club where we once again had a lovely stay. The resort was totally full this year so we were upgraded to a lovely villa just steps from the beach. This resort is beautifully situated with two very different beaches, one very breezy on the Atlantic side and one located on the bay which is much calmer and perfect for those traveling with small children. Food is plentiful and very good, but not particularly gourmet. Picolo Mondo, which requires a $35 surcharge is well worth the extra price. Drinks are very good and available basically round the clock. Service even includes Alfred and his amazing drink cart which drives right up to your lounge chair!

But the real reason we keep returning year after year is the amazing staff. They are so professional and friendly that service is never an issue for us. I will name a few who really stand out but everyone does an outstanding job. Overseeing the place and seemingly everywhere at once is Jeff the night manager. Standouts at Docksider are manager Troy and our favorite waitress Priscilla. The hostesses and managers in Rainbow Garden are delightful and be sure to seek out Cherilyn as she not only gives wonderful service but can explain Cricket! Prince in Guest Services and Capt. Andy and his crew make for a perfect trip. This was our 10th trip and we traveled with my sister and her husband on their 12th visit. It was such a good trip I know we will return again next year. In closing I will say this is a lovely four star resort. If you don't expect a Ritz or Four Season but want to relax and enjoy the friendly people of Antigua who work there you will have an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leila's Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Seventh visit, by my count. A number of incremental improvements. Rooms have been re-furbished to a much higher standard. Food, particularly at the Rainbow restaurant, is noticeably better. Staff solicitous, polite and efficient.
Can be a bit difficult to get away from the noise of amplified music, whether at Docksiders, Cocos, the swimming pool, Jacaranda or the gazebo area. A quiet area would be pleasant.
Superb value for money and that wonderful Atlantic breeze make it an obvious choice for a winter break.
P.S. In regard to some earlier comments regarding drink quality, liquor is always premium brand (usually a choice of three different types of vodka or gin, for example). As for the lady who complained that men were not allowed into the restaurants with ripped jeans and a T-shirt, so much the better.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We arranged for our wedding to be held at the St. James Club at Mamora Bay Antigua. The planning was arranged by Paula Martin the wedding planner concierge at the resort. Many thanks to Paula!! It was a wonderful stress free event thanks to her. We couldn't have done it without her. In fact, our entire group comprised of 16 family and friends were amazed by the whole vacation experience at St. James. The meals were excellent, the staff friendly, the blue skies and star filled nights seemed scripted from a movie. It was extremely difficult to want to leave! All the staff made us feel like they really wished us to have a wonderful time...and they succeeded. Thanks to all of them. Rodney the beach volleyball player, Super Dave from the bar....Paula, the restaurant staff, drivers, the management...thanks to you all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamora Bay
12.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,646 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,215 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Club & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Club & Villas

Property: St. James's Club & Villas
Address: | Mamora Bay, Mamora Bay, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Paul Parish > Mamora Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamora Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James's Club & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the All-Inclusive St. James's Club & Villas, Antigua's most famous address. This beautiful resort is ideally located on a private, 100-acre peninsula. You will love our two white sand beaches, water sports, tennis, four restaurants, indoor and outdoor bars, beach bar & grill, luxurious spa & salon, freshwater swimming pools, supervised Kids Club, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, and so much more. One of the Caribbean's most popular all-inclusive resorts. Excellent for couples, honeymooners, families, and friends. Located just minutes from major attractions like English Harbour, Nelson's Dockyard, and the lively Shirley Heights. Our warm and welcoming staff and management team will make your stay wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James's Club & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. James`s Club Hotel Mamora Bay
St James Club Antigua
St Jamess Hotel
St Jamess Resort
St James Antigua
St Jamess Club Antigua
St. James's Club & Villas Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing