We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Cafe Waldhof
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hohenkammer
padova
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“perfect stop over”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

close to the A9, just few km north of Munich towards Nurnberg tihs place is a perfect stop over on you way trough Germany.
the hotel is immaculate, very very quite and confortable. Parking and internet are free, breakfast is ok. The restaurant is excellent, We had two good fish dishes good above expectations, but it seems, looking at the menu, that their speciality is meat.
it is a family run place and the owners are very kind and helpful. Finally eveyithing comes at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank massimopadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
11
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Typical good german gasthaus, clean, friendly owners, comfortable, a benchmark. Owners Hans and Cristina perform a very good job , definitely worth the distance from Munich Center 35 km, a Cleverson option when the city is crowded due to Messes or Oktobertfest

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sbuerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I am thoroughly disgusted with myself for only posting this review half a year after staying at the Hotel Waldhof, especially as we had the most incredible 8 days here. However, our memories are still very vivid and we speak fondly about the hotel and its owners on a regular basis, which shows what a lasting impression they have made.

The Reinmosers are perfect hosts. Their welcome is hearty and sincere, they are kind, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Yet they are also professional and non intrusive, knowing when to give their guests space.

We had a quiet, spotless room on the top floor facing the garden (other reviewers have mentioned the huge playground area, so if you intend to take a peaceful nap Sunday lunchtime, forget it). As the hotel is quite close to the road (which does have a constant flow of traffic, being a main country road), I can imagine that road facing rooms may disturb the light sleeper. The decor was clean and simple, the bed comfortable with proper duvets and pillows. Internet connection was fast and reliable. Bathroom windowless, on the smallish side, but not claustrophobic. The corridors, restaurant and other public areas are beautifully and cosily furnished with bookshelves, paintings and a variety of objets d’art.

The restaurant is fabulous. Breakfast offers a great variety of food and you can take your time. We never felt under pressure to hurry up. We had dinner in the restaurant nearly every night. There is an excellent choice of food, whether you want typical Bavarian cuisine, or a lighter salad, it’s all there. The quality of every single meal we ate was superb, the service impeccable. Another reviewer complained about the time it took for the food to arrive, but as every dish is freshly prepared, I think it is worth the extra 5 minutes of waiting. Just have another glass of wine. Oh, and there is freshly baked cake every day.

If you have a car, then the location of the hotel is very convenient for the airport, motorway and roads network. The closest train station is about a 10 minute drive away, where you can take a direct line to Munich city centre (approx 20 mins). There is not much in comfortable walking distance, no bars, cafes, restaurants, shops etc. During off peak seasons the Waldhof restaurant is not open every night, which may limit your dinner options if you are not a great drink & drive fan.

If your intention is solely a city break in Munich, then this would not be the most conveniently located hotel for you. If you want a relaxing break where you set your own pace and are intent on discovering the delights that this exceptionally beautiful corner of Bavaria offers, you will not find a better place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a garden facing one. Ground floor rooms have a little patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenStoneage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

What a lovely hotel. We stayed there during the Oktoberfest.
They were very helpfull with travelling around munich and up into the Alpes. The staff were brilliant and the food was amazing. (so was the beer)!
We're definitely going back to visit them.
The rooms were very spacious. It was very cheap compared to the city too

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muhlheim am Main, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

During a cycle trip we (two) turned up with only a single room reserved and they were able to move us into a double room for a very reasonable rate. Even packed our bicycles away in their garage over night and brought them out in the morning. Great restaurant also attached -- seamed very popular and rightly so. Highly recommended. (Probably moderner rooms in the main hotel extension but we stayed in a clean and straight forward room in the original house)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We enjoyed our three nights there.
The room was clean, we asked for extra pillows - no problem. We asked for ice and the owner didn't understand why we would want that, but he gave us some.
Good tv, good Internet, lots of parking, excellent breakfast, very quiet unless kids are playing in the elaborate playground (not a real problem).
They told us breakfast started at 8 but the last day we had to catch an early airplane and there must have been 12 people eating at 6 am, they are flexible.
The only thing that I found different (anoying?) was that the restaurant service was VERY slow (the food was very good); my wife said that this was what they did in better restaurants but by the third night's dinner she was anoyed by it also.
I would give the hotel a excellent rating, including the breakfast which is self serve except for the coffee; I would give the restaurant avery good rating if you are not in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2011

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Hotel Restaurant Cafe Waldhof together with some German friends. The welcome we received from the owner Frau Reinmoser set the tone for an excellent stay. The rooms were modern, extremely clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was typically German being very substantial and catering for all tastes. Located in a beautiful part of Bavaria with ready access to Munich and other major towns, we toured the region but were able to return to the hotel each evening for a superb dinner, prepared by Herr Reinmoser and served by extremely pleasant restaurant staff. Although language was not an issue for us, everyone at the hotel had an excellent command of English and were only too happy to assist with advice about local attractions and facilities. Having lived in Germany for several years and being a fan of most things German, our experience of this particular hotel and restaurant was extremely positive and my wife and I would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Restaurant Cafe Waldhof to the most discerning of travellers.

Room Tip: All rooms are of an equally high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSaint0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenkammer
1.3 mi away
Schloss Hohenkammer
Schloss Hohenkammer
#1 of 2 in Hohenkammer
85 reviews
5.9 mi away
Moosburger Hof Hotel & Restaurant
Moosburger Hof Hotel & Restauran...
#1 of 1 in Pfaffenhofen an der Ilm
54 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Huberhof
Hotel Huberhof
#2 of 9 in Allershausen
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#1 of 9 in Allershausen
45 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ampervilla Hotel
Ampervilla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fahrenzhausen
170 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Thannhof
Hotel Thannhof
#1 of 1 in Schweitenkirchen
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Cafe Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Cafe Waldhof

Property: Hotel Restaurant Cafe Waldhof
Address: Niernsdorf 10, 85411 Hohenkammer, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Hohenkammer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hohenkammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Cafe Waldhof 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Cafe Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing