We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Town- Small hotel”
Review of Hotel Jewels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jewels
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Karnal
Mumbai Indian
Level Contributor
785 reviews
298 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Small Town- Small hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The hotel is quite famous in Karnal ...so famous that even the chowk is called Jewel Chowk.
The first feeling when you enter the hotel is the odd smell...any small hotel with carpets have this peculiar smell...added to this the on going construction activities add to the bad feeling we have.

The resturant in the base ment is so so...but they have nice tea ...unlike Haryanvi tea with lot of sugar...
the rooms are reasonably large...but the floors are odd...abloutely no amenities in the room/wash room.
Over all not a place worth staying

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    24
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
4
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The hotel is located in the heart of the city and is one of the most happening places in Karnal.The hotel has comfortable rooms,ample parking space,restaurants,bar and bakery shop.It has conference rooms and banquet halls for holding events and meetings.The rooms are decent .The staff is corteous.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HimadriSRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

If you are in city of Karnal, this is he place to be because of its location. It is located right in front of National Dairy research institute which is famous for its dairy technology, wide lanes and milk parlour where flavored milk is available. The rooms are excellent and it is truly a four star hotel. It has a restaurant but mainly indian cusine is able. "Tangri Kabab" is the dish which you should miss at this hotel. It has a bar named as TUNN BAR and the ambience is truly of a bar. It is oen late till 1 AM. As it is at one side of the city, the hotel is well connected to grand trunk road. It has big banquet halls for functions like parties or marriages. The celeberation hall and tara hall allows the hotel to cater multiple parties at same day. There is one spoecific place for food named as THE DEN in basement of this hotel, next to ice cream parlor. It is reserved for limited people and feels like you are eating food sitting in a cave. Flavored Sheesha is also available in the Den. It has a famous cake shop which keeps assorted cookis and excellent fresh cakes baked at the same day. The gift shop stores various imported gift items. Room stay is comfortable with excellent room service. The best part is "QUICK SERVICE"
The hotel is complete and stay is comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San_Traveller_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We are not that much hoteleers, but have stayed at many luxury ones with very nice locations and facilities. Price-wise its a woth spending hotel. Its just that its not at some mountain view, otherwise attaching highway is gud and we can enjoy NDRI along with.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RampBreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Cleanliness: Although, it was winter but still I could spot few small roaches in the bathroom and even in the room. The bathroom was the worst feature of the room. Hot water was available only in the mornings.

Location: The hotel is located in quite surroundings, about 1.5 kms from the Delhi - Ambala NH-1.

Rooms: The rooms do not have soundproofing. An early morning bus with a loud roaring engine and horn will wake you up every morning at 4 - 4:30 am. At the time of my visit, apparently it was wedding season. The local weddings are loud, noisy and too many people are around. They play loud music, drums and brass band till midnight. Despite of being in room, you feel "right there" on the dance floor. The sound is so loud that you cannot even talk on phone if you are in a front side room. The weather was quite cold but there was no provision for room heating.

The Star Rating: The hotel claims to be 4 star on all its stationary etc. but I think it's a 3 star hotel but apparently it's the top hotel in the town.

Food: The hotel serves some very authentic and delicious North Indian Vegetarian and Non Vegetarian delicacies. The hotel has a bar too.

Service: In room service is ok, the bellboy etc. are often late or too busy. I was keeping a low profile so no one paid any attention to me, although people appearing to be "affluent" were kind of being pampered. Although it's same day laundry service, always I had to remind housekeeping to deliver my stuff.

Value: I guess It's the best option in Karnal. The hotel food, bar and other shops outside are quite expensive, given this is just a small town. I bought a "sweet pawn" from the pawnshop outside, it costing me 30 rupees in comparison to 5 rupees at a shop 100 meters from hotel.

I would recommend this hotel because I think others hotels in town would not be even up to the mark of this one.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexulans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karnal hotels
1.7 mi away
Noormahal
Noormahal
#1 of 13 in Karnal
392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gopinath The Grand
5.5 mi away
The Vivaan Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Leela Grande Hotel
Leela Grande Hotel
#2 of 13 in Karnal
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deventure Hotel
Deventure Hotel
#12 of 13 in Karnal
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rama
Hotel Rama
#13 of 13 in Karnal
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jewels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jewels

Property: Hotel Jewels
Address: Nh - 1 | Karnal, Karnal 132001, India
Region: India > Haryana > Karnal District > Karnal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Karnal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Jewel's in Karnal cityl in Haryana .The hotel is tastefully decorated and exclusively designed providing charming ambiance and homely service with all the grace and traditions of hospitality industry. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of city opposite the NDRI main gate just at the entrance of Karnal city either from Delhi or Chandigarh side. It is only a KM away from the local bus stand, railway station and Jewels chowk on National Highway No. 1, In addition to its barely walkable distance from the city's main commercial center. The hotel has 42 Super Deluxe and Executive Class Rooms and 10 Suites including every modern convenience such as air conditioning, television providing all international channels, telephone, bath with running hot and cold water and 24 hour room service.Other facilities include car rentals, same day laundry service, doctor on call, travel service, fax, email, internet, secretarial service etc. Also we accept all major credit cards and is authorized moneychangers by the RBI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jewels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing