We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found my Monk!”
Review of The Monk-Kalpa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Monk-Kalpa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Wanted to say that most of the great reviews about this place is very true, specially the geniality of Mr. Rawat Ji (I should call him Mr Genie). If you are going to visit Kalpa, this is THE PLACE. Amazingly beautiful and tranquil. One should go there to do nothing but to see and hear the nature, find all your senses and soul rejuvenated. I found the monk inside me in this trip that I started from this place in Kalpa.
Don't forget to track/Hike, have awesome food (request anything to Mr. Rawat and most probably you will have it on your table soon), local wine, bonfire, the tent stay, local stories from local people, the views of Kinnar-Kailash, wild flowers, golden apples and the smell of a real heaven.
The only thing I wish is the removal of the cell phone tower from the property.
One can plan a 7-10 days trip from this place to Spiti valley, Tabo, Nako, Kaza and Kibber if you like to explore distinct types of landscapes, old Buddhist monasteries and deserted mountains.
I hope to visit this place again and explore more in future. All the best to The Monk-Kalpa staff and the owner Sushil Ji who all are very welcoming and cheerful people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosTravelLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

it was a wonderful experience to stay at monk- kalpa, the nature resort situated at beautiful location. and the tents are just unforgetteble, stay at the tent was wonderful. it is also necessary to mention about mr. rawat he is just amazing. how a mane can do a lots of work? he never gives any chance to complain. he is always in service before order. he is just like the charecter of rajesh khanna in baburchi film. not only for location also for the hospitality of that guy I would like to come here again.
Mithun Roy Chowdhury
Kolkata

Room Tip: television and gisser must be added with the tents. it will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mithun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil N, Owner at The Monk-Kalpa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sir, Many many thanx for your appreciation for our Hospitality services. It is only through you that we know where we are and it gives us a lot of joy that we are able to do what we strive for and you the most important of part of our industry for whom we are here feel the best when you are with us. Please give us another chance to serve you and we assure you the best of what we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There's nothing more redeeming than sitting in the laps of Himalayas with a cup of chai and a feeling that everything you need will be taken care of. Monk is a surprising homelike arrangement which feels like in the middle of nowhere. Amazing hospitality and ever willingness to serve by Mr. Rawat ji. His warm gestures has left deep impressions on our hearts. We really miss the Bonfires, the awesome food, the local wines, the trek, the silence, the moon-rise from the mountains, the apple blossoms and a whole lot of love from that emanates from people's smiles. All in all an amazing place to revive. We would like to suggest to get rid of the mobile tower sooner as it kind of takes away from the natural bliss. Besides just this one thing, its an awesssome experience. Special thanks to Rawat ji. :) loads of love and warmth. God Bless

Room Tip: cottages are much warmer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RishMonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I will fall short of words to completely describe the amazing experience we had in the Monk tents Kalpa. We stayed in the Monk, Kalpa on 7th and 8th of May, 2014. The tents were perfectly neat and clean and the views around were just spectacular. The Monk Kalpa has the best views of Kinnaur Kailash, Parvati and the Raldang peak. The experience was truly memorable because of the red carpet hospitality offered to us by Mr. Rawat who is the manager, our trekking guide and an excellent cook. He became a part of the family for us during our stay. He is a person who always carries a smile and serves you, no matter how tired he is. It was because of his support that we could get to the Chaka Peak at one go. We will cherish this experience forever.....longing to go back.....there would not be any better place to stay if someone wishes to experience the beauty and remoteness of Kalpa

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himaghna_DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What a splendid experience! We (me, hubby,bro and his fiance) stayed in the Monk-Tents at Kalpa for two nights. The sight of the Kinnaur Kailash , Parvati and Raldang peak was breathtaking. Mr. Madan Singh Rawat- our host/caretaker/trekking guide and award winning cook is a gem of a person. The picturesque view was so aptly complemented by Mr. Rawat's hospitality. We woke up by 5am to have a clear view of Kinner Kailash...WOW! We started for a trek to Chaka peak in the morning led by him. He carried delicious food to keep our physical energy in-tact. We were back from the spectacular but extremely tiring trek and surrendered to tent for couple of hours. By that time an awesome full course meal- soup,dal fry, aloo gobi, chicken curry, rice, two types of rotis and kheer were ready by the bonfire. We were flattered when we found buckets of warm water and herbal oil ready to pamper our feet and legs. The tents were so well maintained in such a remote place that I would rate it higher than a 5 star hotel anywhere. Mr. Negi- owner of the property is also a very warm and delightful person. The Monk tent- Kalpa under Mr. Rawat's supervision made sure that we cherish this experience forever!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parmita_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel on the road to Roghi and not the tented camp. The hotel was still under construction but the rooms were fine. Just 4 on a floor and pretty decent. There were just two people managing the hotel and both were extremely good. The food was perfectly fine and over all I wouldn't mind going back to The Monk in Kalpa. The view of the Kinner Kailash from the verandah is quite something.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Much is said about the beauty and splendor of Kalpa, A stay at The Monk is just the best way to experience the same. This place offers breathtaking views of the Kinner-Kailash range and is perfectly angled to behold the sunrise and sunset. The place is ideal to host all types of travel groups. You could be traveling in a group of friends or with your family, it will feel just right. Staff members are very courteous and welcoming, while the rooms/tents are equally comfortable, equipped with necessary amenities. The eating experience is unique and interesting here. They cook delicious and healthy meals here, with raw materials fresh procured from the local market, as per your demand. Mr. Mukesh is an extremely resourceful person and a gem of a person and can be your go-to contact for all travel/sightseeing related arrangements, accommodation at other nearby destinations such as Sangla, Raksham or even Tabo & Kaza if one ventures towards Spiti. Will come here again, for a much longer time now!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alok_sikdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpa
0.3 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
62 reviews
16.3 mi away
Samaa Resorts - Chitkul Heights
8.7 mi away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#1 of 15 in Sangla
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#2 of 14 in Sangla
183 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Monk-Kalpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monk-Kalpa

Address: Roghi Road, Kalpa 172108, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Kalpa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kalpa
Price Range: £56 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monk-Kalpa Property is managed by Kinnaur Geo Tourism Pvt. Ltd. It is located on Roghi road just below the Army Camp and has two independent Huts, Five Premium Swiss Cottage tents. All the accommodations are fully furnished with attached bath and toilet. Guests can enjoy simple, healthy and delicious food and beverages at the Monk. The locations offer an amazing view of the Kinner Kailash which is believed to be the abode of Lord Shiva. One can see a clear view of the Shiva Linga and the Gauri Kund. Kinner Kailash is covered with snow almost for the whole year. From the resort all the places of tourist interests are in a radius of two kms. One can also cover Sangla valley and Chitkul from here. Trekking enthusiasts can avail our services for short trekking and picnic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing