We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay near the roof of the world!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Shamba-La
Ranked #1 of 17 Kalpa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing stay near the roof of the world!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

July 2013.
My family and I (8 in all) recently stayed for a few nights at the Grand Shangri-la in Kalpa, Himachal Pradesh, as part of a 3 week visit to India. It is a wonderful hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff and set in the most magnificent landscape. For me it was the best part of our trip.
We reached the hotel at the end of a tortuous (but spectacular) 20 hour journey from Amritsar, by rail and road. The NH-22 was very difficult in places due to landslides after heavy monsoon rains (the section from Shimla to Kalpa took about 9 hours). The hotel owner/manager, Prithvi Raj Negi, was in frequent contact by phone with our superb driver and had a full hot meal waiting for us when we arrived well after midnight!
The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed, the food excellent and the views we woke up to were spectacular – well worth the trip. The level of service here is excellent and the owners, Prithvi and Kapil, have a wealth of knowledge about the area of Kinnaur, its history and traditions.
The village of Kalpa (almost 3000m above sea level) is quiet and peaceful and the hard-working Kinnauri people who live there are friendly and proud of their heritage and their mountains, the Kinner Kailash range. There is a lot to see and do in this area especially if you like the great outdoors and finding out how other people live (but it might take a couple of days to acclimatise to the altitude if you intend some strenuous walking). The hotel owners are keen to help visitors enjoy their stay as much as possible - Prithvi Raj himself took us on a beautiful 6k walk (with packed lunch) and a guided tour of local villages and temples (at no extra cost). In the future they hope to be able to arrange longer treks to surrounding areas.
If you like to relax in unhurried, peaceful natural beauty or want to explore in the Indian Himalayas I highly recommend a stay at the Grand Shangri-la. Our visit there will stay with me forever.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors cost more but give better views; rooms on the East side face the Kinner Kailas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    34
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
42
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This place is the most welcoming I stayed in during my 6 week stay in India. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The accommodation is great, the food awesome and the views at sunrise unbeatable. When in Kalpa stay here, you'll be very happy you did.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bm150875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My trip to Kalpa was an attempt to spend time with myself.To spend a few quiet days watching the magnificent Kinnaur Kailash mountain range and connect with my divine . The real highlight of my trip became my stay at The Grand Shangri-La .More than the breathtaking view, lovely rooms and yummy ( but loaded) food, what shone through for me was the most sincere hospitality that i ever received in my entire life. Prithvi and his team will put anyone in the service industry to shame with their brand of ' service thats straight from the heart'.The best kept secret of this place is the attic and the library inside. You can travel the whole world by just sitting inside that beautiful structure that Prithvi designed himself. The people of Kalpa are so welcoming and gracious and you will find smiling faces everywhere you go. I left with a heavy heart and a promise to make Prithvi and his place an important part of my life forever . This is the shangri-la for your soul if you are searching for one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anilalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It is well situated in the middle of nowhere in Kalpa. One of the best hotel I stayed. The hospitality at it's best. The view of the kinnaur parbat was amazing. Prithvi is very nice person. Just go for this hotel. Best hotel around there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagarwal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This might seem a bit bizarre, but our trip to the Grand Shangri La was motivated by just one factor - visiting one of the top 10 hill station properties of India, as enlisted on Trip Advisor. The Gramd Shangri La straightaway caught our attention. For one, it seemed to be really way way out, in Kalpa, Kinnaur, and could only be accessed by road... which means the 'sound of silence' was guaranteed. It did not hurt that Kalpa is one of the few heritage villages in the country and houses the first voter of Independent India (we met him!). A word about the cost. The Grand Shangri La might easily be the least priced among the top 10 hill-station lodgings in India, but when you include the cost of getting there, it easily is the most expensive proposition. Since our visit was in the aftermath of the UttarKashi floods, we - there were two families - quickly ruled out driving down. Buses were ruled out as well - thank god! In short, we planned in great detail, seeking the advice of Prithvi, the very cordial owner of the property. We wisely decided to seek a bargain on the best rooms in Shangri La (top two facing Kinner Kailash and Kalpa Village) rather than settle for second best at cheaper rates. This foresight, again, thanks to the numerous inputs by visitor on Tripadvisor. Thanks to a few friends in the Indian Army, we were able to extend our 2-day trip to The Grand Shangri La, into a 7 day trip which included a much-needed halt at Shimla, and pushing beyond Kalpa and Reckong Peo, right uptil Poo.

While the photos on Tripadvisor were somewhat spectacular, Grand Shangri La in reality is amazing beyond words. To simply build a property like the Grand Shangri in a place like Kalpa defies human limitations. It is truly a labour of love! The two days that we spent here were easily the highlight of the trip. It was great being the only Indians on the facility, sharing tales with an Australian bikers group attempting to drive down to Leh.

While the sight by itself is priceless, the heartwarming comfort of the place is simply wonderful. Finally, a gentleman recently told Prithvi Negi that he would've stayed longer, had there been a lift in the Grand Shangri La to the Attic on the 5th floor. Here's what I have to say to the owners - if you put a lift, I'm never going to come back! Because you've got to labour up the stairs.... and only then will you earn the right to walk into the lap of heaven!

Room Tip: There is only one place you should stay - top floor facing Kinner Kailash. No point going the distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaruni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

One of many hotels in Kalpa, not very easy to find, a bit off the main road. But worth every minute youre inside. The village is with its temples worth a few hours , do not forget.!!!!
But the owners are few of the people we met in India , who make it their job , to make sure that the guest is happy. Rooms are clean, food is excellent and the library on the top floor is a gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josenjannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Kalpa is such a charming place with wonderful people . Mr.Prithvi and his team at the Grand shangri -la ensure that there is no doubt about that. we reached Reckong Peo after a thrilling,tiresome 9 hr bus drive Shimla. Prithvi, the owner, was there to pick us up right in time and took us to the hotel located in the midst of apple orchids. The Hospitality that we enjoyed there is unforgettable. The rooms are nice and tidy. check out the mini library on the top floor. The Tibetan dishes were delightful. the buckwheat leaves were gr8. The village around is beautiful. Prithvi helped us arrange a day trip to Chitkul through his contact. Every thing went smooth, like the sound of tibetan music played in the local bus in kalpa that still lingers .

There are someplaces that you feel like you must write a review for. The Grand-Shangri La is one such place.

Room Tip: Both the rooms facing the might peaks and the apple orchids are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1inthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpa
0.7 mi away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#1 of 9 in Sangla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Madhu
Hotel Madhu
#3 of 12 in Sangla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Shamba-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Shamba-La

Property: The Grand Shamba-La
Address: Roghi Road | Kanag Saring, Kalpa 172108, India (Formerly The Grand Shangri-La)
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Kalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a pleasure to meet you in our family-owned small scale Tibetan Style Hotel. We hope to meet you soon, and are more than willing to let you experience comfortable, peaceful and unforgettable times in Kalpa. "Shamba-La" is a mythical place somewhere located in the Himalayan area, known as a paradise on earth. We did our best to create that paradise. According to the references of our customers, we are very successful in that. Warm regards from our hearts, "The Grand Shamba-La" team ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing