We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good resort but bad rooms at such price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandarmoni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sana Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
731 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Good resort but bad rooms at such price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I had spent 2 days in this hotel with my family. Nice resort with many activities inside. They also organize shows on special occasions. Breakfast very nice with lot of varieties but the only thing disappointed me is the rooms. The rooms are very expensive like 5 star but quality of rooms are not even 2 star. Nice beach outside the hotel but lonely beaches most of the time. There is nothing nearby so we have to spend whole day in the hotel. You cant take your car all the time because it is in the middle of beach and you have to travel around 10 kms on wet sands and it is very dangerous for the cars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    86
    43
    26
    24
See reviews for
107
40
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

It is a old Resort on Mandarmoni Beach. It is a medium category resort with average maintenance, cleanliness and service. Big rooms with good furniture. Choice of Hotel type rooms or Chalets as you feel. Cozy internal layout with a nice Swimming pool. Food is OK. Service good. Only the whole thing needs to be tidy and a bit more vibrant.
Going there is a bit of hassle. Main connection by road only. Last 10km very narrow village road and final few kms drive along the wet beach which is very tricky. It is better to take help of locals or call for Hotel/Resort transport system instead of self driving! Alternatively one can reach Digha by Rail (Duronto Express) from Kolkata/Calcutta and take local transport hired or by the Resort.
Beach is accessible any time even in the middle of the night. You have to wait for high tide to take a dip.

Room Tip: Sea side Hotel rooms for good view. Internal Chalets for quiet living.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suprovat_Chatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We went Sana beach resort on 10th March 2013 for our office offsite and needless to say it was a wonderful experience. We were offered a corporate package which included accommodation, all meals and transport arranged by the hotel. On arriving, we were offered welcome drinks and all 90 people were welcomed to their respective rooms. Very friendly staff, excellent food and great location. The surroundings were brilliant and you could enjoy breath taking views of the sea from the 'sea facing rooms'. These are slightly expensive but its worth every bit. The resort has a swimming pool with Jacuzzi and is great place to relax with a glass of beer. The hotel also has a souvenir shop which stocks the artwork of Bengal's leading villages. Worth a visit if you are not from the state.

There were heaps of sand on the path that led to the cottages...so every time you made your way to your room...your face would be full of sand blowing with the strong sea breeze. I had use towels every time I made my way in and out of the room :) I wish the authorities could do something about the sand...especially near the last two cottages.

The hotel staff were extremely cooperative and that made my stay special. I would seriously go back and stay there the next time I am in Mondarmoni

Room Tip: Choose from the Deluxe Rooms or the sea facing rooms to enjoy panoramic views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rangs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkatta
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I went to sana beach resort on 20th apr 2013.. to celebrate my husband bday.. with friends n family.. we were 30 people in group. n I really like this resort, the people n location.. this resort is mid budget.. n we got everything we wanted.. room were gud , food was simply osome .the staff were very friendly,they hv really taken care.. would definitely like to visit this resort again.. the only problem we faced was in bathroom.. very little water was coming from tap.. rest it was simply grt..

Room Tip: all rooms were good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikitasarrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howrah, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

In my last visit to Digha in 2012 we had taken a stop at this place for lunch. The first thing that caught my eye was the plush lounge that immediately arrest your attention and creates a likeness for this place. The thatch covered (although poorly maintained) double height volume of the space not only houses the reception and waiting lounge but a mini hookah bar, an indoor games area and a live boutique shop keeps the space alive. As you enter, a brilliant clay sculptor working his magic on a lump of clay by the door side immediately moulds your senses into the boutique nature of this place. Although I am not a big foodie, the food I had in the eerie looking banquet hall seemed fresh and tasty. But it’s the mandarmani beach that attracted me again to revisit this place.
On April 13,2013 we, a group of four started from Kolkata in the late evening to spend the weekend in Sana Beach Resort. We were later joined by a couple more friends in mandarmani. The ride was smooth till chaulkhola but the misery for that night just had started from there. The road from Chaulkhola to Mandarmani is poorly maintained and takes a serpentine trail to reach to the beach. Now as it was already past 11pm, the high tide had already made the beach inaccessible for driving so we took instruction from the Sana reception to take the back road to the hotel. We soon understood that it was a mistake to start so late as the ride gradually turned out to be a punishment. That surki road is pathetically maintained and has no light or even directional signage for that entire stretch of atleast 6km. But as we were getting excited to see light the Sana reception guy corrected us saying we were just crossing the rose valley campus and it’s another kilometer’s drive from there through the beach as the road terminates to the beach from there. The car got stuck in the stubborn silt and needed a steady push to drag it to closer sea where the sand is more settled and flat. Finally when we reached to the hotel gate it was already 12:30 and we were welcomed by a ghostly campus. The only relief came as the tasty dinner that was served at our room.I believe that exhaustive drive made the food taste better as the subsequent day’s food was not upto the mark. We took the row houses which comes a little cheaper (@3000 something +tax, includes breakfast, lunch and dinner) than the rest. The decision soon proved out to be another distress as we were experiencing things such as toads roam free on the floor (2” gap between the door panel and floor) , rats making noisy feast on the leftover food on the corridor, jammed shower mixer knob and there we were….close to the nature and listening to the rustling of leaves by the strong sea breeze…
As the resort runs in DG power (as does all hotels in mandarmani), there is a one hour power break once in the morning and once in the afternoon. At 6am every morning that automatically works as the alarm clock . So we dragged ourselves into the dining hall to find a decent breakfast. The staff also were agile and helpful and that gave us some reconciliation. We now started out to explore the campus and soon found out the pool area strategically shaded by coconut grooves welcoming us. The nicely spread out deck area dotted with milky white deck chairs….expanding green lawn and a call point within reach made us grooved to that place with drinks for the better half of the day. There are two Jacuzzi tubs (both refreshing ) and a kids pool along with the amoeboid shaped main swimming pool. The pool is maintained poorly and the chlorine level is also too high. In fact it burns the eyes after some time. But as a package it works none the less.
The place offers various type of seating areas in forms of machans, kiosks, benches, sea facing bark benches, boats used as seating modules and many more…infact you are never short of options to seat cozily in a seclusion or make an adda over a cup of tea or just lazing out in the gentle sea breeze. No matter how much difficulty one faces to reach this place during high tide, the seclusion and peace it offers is truly memorable. Another brownie point it gets by its strategic deep set-back from the sea makes the beach look more beautiful specially when enjoying from the gently raised up vantage points created in front of the resort..its a true refuge!
The place also offers something also for those who want to be active and adventurous. The resort offers TT, Carom, Badminton, Billiards etc and the beach offers water skating, skiing, paragliding, sand skating even archery. These are hired out either by local people or by the hotel authority (Although Rose Valley offers more range of water-sporting activities and one can avail that too). Westward walk of one and half kilometers specially in the early morning can be a rewarding visual experience as the beach culminates into a ‘mohna’ (mouth of a river). The water level changes abruptly during the high tides and it is not advisable to explore the beach too deep into the sea as I have seen an entire land piece gets engulfed in water within minutes. But the changing waterline and beautiful sands-capes created by passing water is a sight to behold. More than often you are likely to be the only person on the beach at Mandarmani, so quiet is it for better part of the day. Mandermani owes much of its character to the brightly-painted indigenous motorized cycle carts that honks on seeing vacationers and offer a ride up and down the beach, which is quite a splendid option if you haven't come by your transport. A few thatch-roofed shacks selling either pretty souvenirs or offering meals with fish of choice under striped umbrellas are the other spots of action.
Drinks both hard and soft are awkwardly overpriced in Sana Beach (atleast 30-40%). Therefore, it is advisable to carry the drinks along. Every room doesn’t offer a freezer but it can be refrigerated in the Sana Kitchen by request.
The other major damper for me in this trip was the lousiness and inefficiency of the front desk as it handed me the final bill with a major error and persisted with stupid reasoning without a clear apology.
To me Sana Beach Resort was an experience enriched by its location, and sober architectural language that has been used to render this place and except for food a real disappointment in hospitality index.

Room Tip: Sea facing cottages offers the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wanderluster_on_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We did some research on the net and were literally confused as there were mixed opinions about almost all the good resorts in Mandarmoni, except Rosevalley. We discarded Rosevalley as it looked too artificial and commercial a place. So, decided to go there and look for ourself as we chose beginning of a week post winter. We had expected a much lesser crowd.

We started early morning in our friend's verna. The drive was beautiful and we did not need ac. We stopped at Shere Punjab in Kolaghat for breakfast. Food was awesome. We loved hot alu paratha.

The drive from Nandakumar to Chawlkhola was nice, though the road was pretty narrow. We reached the beach road around 12.30 and found the beach clear of high tide and safe. Please be careful if you are driving a sedan, as it might hit the sharp curve while getting down onto the beach from the normal road. An SUV will not face this issue i suppose. Infact, be careful with your car everywhere you go in Mandarmoni and DO NOT TRY brave escapades. I will tell you 'why' later.

We kept on driving keeping the car as far as possible from the water and were checking on the hotels and resorts from outside, didnt like any. Then we crossed Rosevalley, which was quite far from the beginning of the beach. Then, we crossed Sana Beach, and then Debraj Resort. We decided to check Debraj and found it just okay. After entering Sana Beach, however, all of us felt quite pleased with the package.

The property was bang on the beach, quite far and secluded from the hustle of Mandarmoni. Lots of trees and nice walkways inside. The manager gave us an offer we found attractive. Though the ladies liked the cottages, they decided to take rooms close to the beach. We were in a group of three couples, we with our small child of four years, and decided that it will be best if we stay close to the beach, as the cottages are quite a walk from the perimeter of the property.

Rooms were okay sized, basic furniture, but the toilet was bigger than the other hotels and clean. Food was the best part. They served amazing food with lots of variety, as we had opted for buffet package. People in the restaurant and house keeping were attentive and helpful, and well behaved.

Sana Beach is almost at the end of Mandarmoni beach and hence enjoys its private atmosphere. The walk to the Crab Island is nice and short. The mohana also is a walking distance. They have water and beach adventure sports facility, though exorbitantly charged, right infront of the resort.

Now, please be careful driving your car on the beach, as it might be very tricky. You will not even know before your car is stuck. It is like one moment you are enjoying a nice drive watching the red crabs play hide and seek with you and next moment you find your car not moving at all. ADVICE: do not drive beyond the point you see tyre marks on the sand. In fact just refrain from driving further down beyond the eatery joints beside Sana Beach. Our car got stuck suddenly while driving towards mohana. We got out and were evaluating the situation when all of a sudden a group of 6/7 villagers gathered. NOW THE ADVICE: SEEK HELP AND BARGAIN for 500/600Rs. Do not try to help yourself, as you cannot do it. The sand is very soft and more you race more the wheel digs deeper. The more time you wait thinking what you should do, more people start gathering and their demand goes up and remain non negotiable. No authority will help you there, the hotel will simply refuse saying they dont have manpower. Dont try to make your hotel talk to the leader of the group around your car. They will hike up demand. Finally we had to pay Rs.2500. The more critical your situation higher the demand. So, bargain in the beginning and get away.

Overall, the stay was very pleasant and enjoyable. We would certainly recommend for family, and others.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arindam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was my second visit to sana beach first being in 2008.
This time travelled in a group of 10 , stayed in Deluxe rooms , Rooms were of very poor quaity , small in size , dirty walls , broken or old furnitures , television not working as management has not yet installed DTH/Set up boxes , poor air conditioning , seems hotel doesnt have a housekeeping department.
Food at resort was good specially vegetarian , Buffet lunch & dinner was not bad & was of good quality.
Room service was okay & helpful , they arrange private spots inside the resort for evening parties .
Overall resort has grown in size compared to my last visit , however it has also run down as far as rooom quality is concerned & not currently the best.

Room Tip: Do not choose deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandarmoni
8.8 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Masara Beach Resort
Masara Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Mandarmoni
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cozzet Hotel New Digha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
#1 of 14 in Mandarmoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Digante Resort
Digante Resort
#8 of 14 in Mandarmoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sea Sand
Hotel Sea Sand
#6 of 14 in Mandarmoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sana Beach Resort

Property: The Sana Beach Resort
Address: | Sana Beach, Mandarmoni 721461, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Mandarmoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mandarmoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Spa Resort of Mandarmani/Digha. Beach side Cafe- Friterie. Inside Cafe - Sourav. All rooms are AC. Largest Swimming Pool of East Coast Available:- Pool Table, TT, Carom, Chess, Badminton. Volleyball ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sana Beach Hotel Mandarmoni
The Sana Beach Resort Mandarmoni, West Bengal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing