We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awfully bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Hut Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandarmoni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dream Hut Resort
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“awfully bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Before booking the hotel, we spoke with quite a few other reesorts nearby. Finally we zeroed down to this one in spite of 2 negative reviews mainly because one of our friend suggeesteed this and also because Eco Villa and Sana were booked on that day

First the positive aspects --

1) Good location(the area is not congested, much nearer to Chaulkhola than other prominent resorts)
2)Sea facing(nice seating arrangement)

Now the negative aspects --

1)Management is very poor,the staff is rude and misbehaved on several occassions and while leaving the hotel alleged us of misplacing a mosquito repellent(just think of the audacity and when we complained about frogs,cocroaches and lizards in the toilet, one staff mimicked us and said = you are lucky that there is only 1, could have been quite a few more.
One of my friend lost temper and was about to get into a fight with that staff-- but they didnt seem to care at all.

2) Rooms not clean, bathroom had a frog,cocroaches and lizards. Room was infested with flies.

3)The staff taking the food order promised us something on the lunch and dinner package but the other staffs denied that saying that we must be lying and if that other staff have agreed to provide us some special fishes, then he must pay the money from his pocket.

4) The food was really good, but every time we had to struggle with the staff regrading what was promised to us and what we were served.

All the staff were blatantly lying.

5)another strange thing was that when we reached the hotel, we were asked to pay the complete amount in advance -- having visited at least a hundred hotel in and around the world have never faced the situation where customers are asked to pay outright even before providing the service

I can go on for half a page more to point out the vices ..

In short, dont book this hotel if you want to enjoy a hassle free vacation, go for Ecovilla,Digante or some other resorts which are similarly priced and definitely better than this!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank arka666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HALDIA, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

On an impulse planned a weekend on 19th July for visiting Mandarmoni. Started by car on 20th morning and reached at around 11:00 AM. Though had talked to a few hotels after seeing reviews on Tripadvisor on reaching found them to be full. Located this hotel while driving towards Rose Valley.

Booked into an AC Room on 1st floor. Brief description - Rooms pretty good and quite large. The rooms as well as the linen were clean. Beds were large and easily accommodated 2 adults and 1 child. Bathroom was clean and adequate. AC functioning for 20Hrs. This is common for all hotels in Mandarmoni. Food was superb but a bit costly. Sea can be viewed fro the balcony of 1st & 2nd floor rooms. The best part of the hotel is that they have a sitting area just in front of the sea where you can sit and spend endless hours. In the evenings the serve snacks in this area.

Cons : The only drawback of this hotel is that it has no intercom. For everything you need you have to go down to the reception / kitchen to order. However the staff are quite friendly and try cater to your needs within their means.

Room Tip: Choose the ac rooms in 1st and 2nd floor in the newly constructed building if you are travelling in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PROJOYJITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We shortlisted this resort as there were no other resorts available for accomodation within our budget.

Pros:
1. Excellent location (accessible using metal road) and each access to beach.
2. Good sitting facility and availability of beach chairs and a good clear view of the sea. You can spend a lot of time relaxing if you are not a very outdoor person.
3. The sea front is well lit.
4. Large area, a small garden for kids to play.
5. Nice clean room and bathroom.

Cons:
1. The food quality is at best average and expensive. The hotel staff will push you to take up the food package ranging from Rs 425 - Rs 375 depending on your choice of fish.
2. No maintaince of the lawn and play area.
3. Few dogs and cats roam free within the resort. Few cats are previledged and have even access to kitchen.
4. There is a small water body in front of the dining space. This is full of dirt, filth and have frogs, small fish, crabs and even small snake (non poisonous as we witnessed and to came lean from the staff) staying there. And the most terrible part is that the water body does not have any protective enclosure. For grown ups it is ok but for kids this may be a bit dangerous as they may fall there if they are not careful.
5. The kitchen staff is friendly but extremly laid back. You will have to wait 30 - 45 mins for each and every order. They do prepare the breakfact, lunch and dinner but at their own pace and time. If you feel that you need a cup of tea at 5:00PM you may have to wait till 6:00PM to get it and snacks till 7:00PM.
6. No intercom. You will have to come out and catch hold of a staff.
7. Hot water if you need, will come at Rs 20 per bucket.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LikeToTravel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have visited Dream Hut Resort three times - each time my satisfaction level became lower and lower. The most recent visit really made me think that in future, I should think of other options in Mandarmoni. The only positive thing still you can feel about the place is location and easy access to the beach. Food is still okay but you may also think this is overpriced. Rest of the things are really not upto the mark. Room conditions are poor, most of the walls are really dirty - Toilet are not in good shape either. You can see lots of garbage in the garden and it really looks without any maintenance. I have spend two nights in Mandarmoni and on the first night, I really thought of exploring other options available and I was surprised to see in similar price, what rooms and facilities some other hotels are offering compared to Dream Hut and moved to a different place on the second day. When I was coming out of the hotel, in every single step, people asked for tips though probably we have not interacted at all during our stay there!

Overall, I strongly believe they should put lots of effort in changing the current scenario, else with some of the new hotels coming up, it will not be easy to continue the business for long, specially considering the fact you can now access most of the hotels by road.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sankmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharagpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

In the rating options, there is only "average" and "very good". But I would rate the resort as "good" in all the aspects.
First, good things about Dream Hut - One of the fewer resorts which is approachable by road by car. Nice relaxed place to be in with family.. there is a children play area. Lot of open space to stroll by the beach/sea, within the hotel boundaries. Steps from the resort lead you directly down to the beach. During high tide, the sea comes up to the bottom steps, which is fun to watch. The resort is quite well-lit, in fact in the evening, it is probably the only resort amongst its neighbors, which has a series of night lights along its boundary on the sea side. There are nice beach chairs.
What you must know - 1)The staff is friendly, but laid back. So if you need something, just ask
2) No AC, no geyser, no intercom. So you have go out of your room every time you need something.
3) Menu is very limited, unless you have given them sufficient time and sufficient orders.
4) Food is very oily and very spicy, but does not taste bad. So if you have small children, you must have some backup. There are food joints nearby, which you can explore.




.

Room Tip: Obviously, rooms with windows opening to the seaside are brighter and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emkay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandarmoni
0.0 mi away
Hotel East Coast
Hotel East Coast
#1 of 4 in Haldia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Masara Beach Resort
Masara Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Mandarmoni
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
Aqua Marina Drive Inn
#1 of 14 in Mandarmoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sea Sand
Hotel Sea Sand
#6 of 14 in Mandarmoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ajoy Minar Hotel
Ajoy Minar Hotel
#3 of 19 in Mandarmani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Digante Resort
Digante Resort
#8 of 14 in Mandarmoni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Hut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Hut Resort

Property: Dream Hut Resort
Address: Dadanpatrabar, Mandarmoni, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Mandarmoni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Mandarmoni
Also Known As:
Dream Hut Resort Mandarmoni, West Bengal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing