We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only option to stay at Talsari, Chandaneswar”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balasore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pathanivas Chandaneswar
Ranked #6 of 14 Balasore B&B and Inns
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only option to stay at Talsari, Chandaneswar”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is actually called Panthasala (not Panthanivas), and is owned by the Odisha Tourism Development corporation. If you plan on staying overnight at Talsari, this is really the only option available to you (there are two other private hotels - there are really low budget places).

Booking a room online can be a bit tedious - the OTDC booking site was very slow, and it was only after many attempts that I was able to connect to make a booking. The online site doesnt allow you to book rooms before 48 hours from the time of booking (so if i wanted to book a room for tomorrow, i will not be allowed to do so online, even though rooms may be available).

The hotel property is huge and sprawling. The hotel isnt really very old - constructed only around 2006/2007; but looking at the maintenance, you will think that the hotel is much older.

I needed to book two rooms, and there was one AC room availalbe, so i had booked 1 AC room and 1 non-AC room. The online booking site didnt give me the option to book the AC Suites.

On reaching the hotel, I enquired at the reception and was told that Suites are available. Went to have a look at the AC rooms first - the rooms have a peculiar musty / damp smell in them; there isnt any TV in the room (the Brazil - Chile world cup match was to be played that evening), and the bathroom wasnt particularly nice.

The Suites are located in a separate building (bulit around 2011) and are much much nicer. It isnt really a suite in the true sense of the word, its just a very large hotel room. The rooms smelt nice, and the bathrooms were also much much cleaner. We immediately upgraded and booked two suites for our stay. And yes, the Suite rooms have large screen LCD TVs :)

Food in the hotel is good - nothing great, but not bad either. It is safer to home style food here (rice, dal, vegetable curry, chicken curry) rather than fancy dishes (chinese, or typical north indian dishes etc.). The restaurant facilities are very basic.

The service is good, and we didnt have any complaints in this regard.

There are children's play areas in the hotel premises.

The four star rating provided by me is valid only if you are staying in the Suite. If I had to stay in the AC rooms, I would probably rate the experience as two stars or max 3 stars

Room Tip: Choose to stay in the AC Suites. If you need to book more than one room, it may not work if you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CaptainSpiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Talsari is a very good weekend getaway for relaxing in the midst of nature far from the madding crowds. However, the only stay option over there, I guess is this OTDC gov hotel. While entering the hotel, you get a feel of a lovely resort with well maintained lawns and quite a good view of the sea. But that is the end of all good things. The moment you enter the building, you get the feel of typical Government culture with hardly any professionalism in sight. The rooms, though quite big, are very poorly maintained. Linens are also dirty. The lights dont work. AC is not very effective and the loadshedding is very frequent, when the AC does not work. Food is pathetic though you do not have any other option. Service quality is the same which we experience from any Indian Government employee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kaustubh_Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you're looking for a weekend getaway, and love to take your car out for a long drive, then Talsari is definitely on the cards. To start with, people going from Kolkata can visit the place via two routes - the conventional Digha route, which goes through Nandakumar, or you can also opt for a longer and a better route, which is via Kharagpur - Jaleswar via NH6 and NH60. The route is long, however the road quality is better. But there is again the truck lined up at the Orissa border, where you may get unlucky!
Now, lets talk about the place and the accomodation. The manager is a very polite guy, although his staff can be a bit rude at times! The property is nice with great views of the beach. AC rooms however are not a very good idea, as the electricity is down most of the times, and the AC doesn't work on generator power. We booked our rooms directly from OTDC online. The Suite rooms are in a separate building altogether, and apparently looked nicer and is perfect for couples. One can go to the adjacent Udaipur beach, or also visit Chandaneswar temple. However, the temple experience wasn't so great with the pandits behaving like they are running a business down there! If one is travelling on an extended weekend, then visiting the nearby swamp areas could be fun. Tours on boats is organised from the hotel itself! One can enjoy the chilled beer over the beach with some fresh sea catch cooked by the locals! All in all, a nice and refreshing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sumit_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed at Panthanivas Balasore for 1 night. Very good room and great staff. Totally worth the money. However the food was a big disappointment. if the restaurant is revamped, this can turn out to be a very competitive restaurant in the town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mitrabhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Talsari is a serene , tranquil tourist destination ideal for people who love to spend their weekend away from the hustle bustle of the city . OTDC Chandaneswar is the only decent place to stay at Talsari. There are two more hotels that have opened up , but the rooms are shabby and not worth the stay.
We had booked the Non Ac room in panthanivas from the OTDC website. The tariff was Rs. 750 with complementary breakfast. Our room was on the ground floor and had a spacious balcony overlooking the beach . The food at OTDC was very tasty and at reasonable rate(Well may be slightly high, but worth the money) . We tried crabs, Hilsa , pomfret etc. A meal(generous one) will not cost you more than Rs. 200 per person.The staffs are very friendly and hospitable. Overall , Panthanivas Chandaneswar is a perfect place to spend your long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank S0mdatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

It is an excellent property. But not very well maintained. The service is not upto the mark. The restaurant is pretty shabby. The rooms/washrooms are not well kept. The suites are quite good though. The place is very quaint and serene. The beach is almost a private beach. Can take a boat ride to the confluence. Look for a Mr Ramani Behera - a nice boatman. The manager and a gentleman called Rajesh is also very helpful and co-operative.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite in the first floor. carry your own booze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sougata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Talsari as a tourist place is awesome for travelers looking for a weekend trip to a quiet destination away from the city life, and OTDC is the only place to stay. The location is awesome. You see the Subarnarekha river meeting the Bay of Bengal. In low tide you can cross the river on foot to reach the beach, while in high tide you need to cross in a boat.
The food is great specially the fish, its fresh, though the price is on the higher side.
The staff, specially the manager at the front office is very courteous and helpful. He explained us the directions of the places of interest like Chandaneswar temple, Bhusandeswar temple, Kirtaniya and Udaipur beach.
The rooms are very spacious but not well maintained, sleep quality is not good, can be improved.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea facing room in the 1st floor, and better opt for a AC Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soumyajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balasore
0.0 mi away
NOCCi Residency
NOCCi Residency
#2 of 14 in Balasore
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arpita Beach Resort
Arpita Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Chandipur
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathanivas Chandaneswar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathanivas Chandaneswar

Property: Pathanivas Chandaneswar
Address: Talsari, PO: Chandneswar, Balasore 756085, India
Region: India > Odisha > Balasore District > Balasore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Balasore
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Pathanivas Chandaneswar Balasore, Odisha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing