We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge, beautiful temple”

Kanthimathi-Nellaiyapper Temple
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Tirunelveli
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Huge, beautiful temple”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Such a huge temple and brimming with holy structures everywhere inside. This is such a beautiful temple with powerful deities and intricate sculptures everywhere. It would take atleast a few hours to fully explore every corner of this temple. And getting blessed by the temple elephant is a nice experience too. Om Nama Shivaya!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    48
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice temple”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Tirunelveli Nellaiappar temple is one of the major attractions of the Town. A huge temple with good architecture and sadly not much of crowd enough to maintain the temple. Sad state of affairs seeing some sannidhis but overall, a place to visit and enjoy peacefully. Its surprising that some major temples go unnoticed by travellers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ss2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“memorable”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

With just 20 mins to spare. We asked a vendor inside temple how best to see this awesome temple. He said visit just sanndhis of Nellaiapper and Devi Kanthimathi without deviating anywhere. It is a huge temple with sculpture marvels everywhere. How not to deviate but we kept to our schedule and the plan. Pradosham time had just passed and crowd was less. Had peaceful darshan of the lord and Nandi. And off we went to Mother's sannedhi. What a distance and it was a marathon for us but we reached to have a blissful darshan of the Devi standing tall with unique nose ring. And we swiftly went back to exit. So much to see. Need minimum two to three hours if not more to visit all the sanctums and enjoy the architecture of such awesome temple. A leisurely visit is due.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nima8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
427 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Immense temple at Tirunelveli”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We went to Tirunelveli for attending a wedding and got a chance to visit this temple, it was the oldest & famous temple at Tirunelveli. The poojas are performed well at this temple, we'll get a divine feel of the environment.

Some of the famous like Arudra are most famously and celebrated so grandly at this temple.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SangeethaAnbalagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Oldest & great temple !”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This temple is one of the famous temples of Tamil Nadu. It has the unique Kuberan sanithi which I haven't seen in any of the other temples so far. It was easy to locate. Its a huge temple & takes good time to complete visiting the complete temple, but worth spending.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rajshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kanthimathi-Nellaiyapper Temple also viewed

Tirunelveli, Tirunelveli District
Tirunelveli, Tirunelveli District
 
Tirunelveli, Tirunelveli District
Tirunelveli, Tirunelveli District
 

Been to Kanthimathi-Nellaiyapper Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing