We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing in the lap of luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Writer's Hill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sirmour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Writer's Hill
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirmour
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“relaxing in the lap of luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

writers hill is a place I love visiting again and again and there are many reasons to it. One is the pristine environs that coupled with the super luxurious accomodation takes your breath away. The cottages are so neatly maintained that you want your own housemaid to come and take a few lessons.Second is the hospitable staff, they don't function like a typical resort. They try their level best to get you what you want - including chilling your beer in the fridge. And finally the fact that you can do a lot of stuff while you are there - crossing the river, going out for short treks, visiting the nearby Renuka temple, trying your hand at cooking and the list goes on. I would highly recommend it for people who appreciate privacy and are not looking for the hustle bustle of other tourist locations.

Room Tip: If you have a choice go for cottage 2 its a dream come true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rip1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Visited in 2011 and then revisited in 2012. Peace surrounds, relaxation abounds and rejuvenation back to bliss!!!

There are three cottages and each can easily accommodate a family (2 + 2). Food is as per your choice. Ramji the caretaker and Munish the owner manager ensure a very comfortable stay.

Though not advertised, there are plenty of things to do for 2 - 3 days. You can go to Renukaji (a temple and lake). There's a small zoo in a very natural setting and the kids love it. If you like, you can have a picnic on the riverbed, its a lot of fun!!!

Staying indoors - read or watch movies - plenty of books and DVDs!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerSayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hidden beyond the hills is this beautiful resort, Writer's Hill. The landscape and the beauty of the place reminded me of home in Shillong, Meghalaya. The extremely long and uphill drive was well compensated by the extremely homely cottage of Writer's Hill where we stayed in. And the most striking thing was the interesting names the cottages had! My Name is Red, No Orchids for Blandish, A Step Behind and what not! And each cottage has a different theme that aptly represented these names. The decor of each of the cottages lends a homely feel to the visitors and well, we were treated to a very nice and sumptuous meal for dinner.
What is nice about the place is the stillness in the air. All we heard of was the river flowing below the resort. And being away from the bustling crowd in Delhi, this was like heaven.
The manager of Writer's Hill amazingly handles the resort and what is interesting to see is that he lends a helping hand at the kitchen.
Overall, Writer's Hill is a sweet and comfortable resort for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indira_Akoijam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Writer's Hill is off the beaten track, quiet, and very relaxing. The view of the mountains is great. The staff is very helpful. Ramji, the cook, dishes out delicious food, and the rooms are tastefully decorated. You can sit under the trees and have breakfast in the morning watching the sun rise from behind the mountains, and have dinner at night under the stars. The staff will set up a bon fire for you, if you like.

The rooms have a library, which has great books, along with a library of DVDs. The TVs and DVD players could be better, but you're not really going there to watch TV, right?

The drive from Delhi was very nice, except after Kala Amb, from where the roads weren't in great condition. All in all, a very relaxing, quiet holiday, that we'd love to repeat!

Room Tip: The smallest room is also the one that's the most secluded. Choose that, if you're just a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel4travelsake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The moment we entered through the stout black colored gates into the estate, we knew that it's going to be a different experience altogether. The skillfully decorated and nurtured stairs from the parking area to the cottages above the hill leads you to a smiling estate manager and staff/cook, and you instantaneously get a sense of familiarity and comfort. The cottages are huge and are very well equipped and you have a range of books and dvds to indulge your intellectual side. Once you are done, you have great food to satisfy your taste buds, cooked by Ramji, the cook, and his family. The food is simple, yet very delicious, and you would never regret an additional helping. An afternoon nap later, you are ready and afresh for the evening bonfire, under the star lit sky, accompanied with a little booze and the music of your choice, if you may, followed by another great meal. A night's sleep later, you can drive down to the river at the foot of the hill, and you can forget the noise of the city in the music of the gushing waters.

The biggest plus about this place is that it is completely secluded (yes, it is a plus) and is away from any hustle bustle to distract you from the beauty of the calmness of the place. Once inside the estate, you will hardly have any need to go outside, as the place in itself is self sufficient enough to cater to your requirements.

It's certainly a place which will always make you feel good about yourself that you have chosen to come for visit here. Have gone for a vacation after a long long while, and definitely loved it.

- Swarashree and Anirban

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anirbanraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The staff is very helpful and there is a lot of personal attention. My family and relatives loved the food. And there was no guilt because you can burn off the extra calories by just walking around the place.

Room Tip: No Orchids For Miss Blandish
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed in Writer's Hill for 4 nights on our way from Mandi to Rishikesh. THe place is an estate with 2 cottages with a breath taking view, run by a charming family who take care of all your needs. Since it's far away from any town, the deal includes 3 meals a day. The cook is excellent, his wife is very pleasant and the 2 kids (6+8) are lovely (don't forget to bring a toy with you...). Another English speaking guy helps with any other necessity, from booking train tickets to taking you to the close Renuka lake. The cottage is brightly clean and includes million books and DVDs. This is the best place in India to get some good rest.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank organic_zack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirmour
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#1 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
0.5 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#7 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
8.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Chandigarh Panchkula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Writer's Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Writer's Hill

Property: Writer's Hill
Address: Near Renuka Lake | Writer's Hill, Sirmour 173022, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Sirmaur District > Sirmour
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirmour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing