We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abode of the divine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Srikhand (HPTDC)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarahan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Srikhand (HPTDC)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Abode of the divine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We took the ‘road less travelled’ the Basantpur – Kingal road and then onwards through Rampur to Sarahan. For most of the way, River Sutlej kept us company. Then as we were ascending towards Sarahan from Jeori , the weather became heavy and the chillness turned into real cold weather when we alighted at Hotel Srikhand , Sarahan.
Wow ! What a view even from the lawns. The view of the majestic icy Mahadev peak range looming in front of us.
Sarahan is at the height of 9000 feet . And surprisingly the Hotel run by HPTDC is good for being run as a State run enterprise. We had taken two dbl cozy deluxe rooms with attached private balconies. The rooms are large and have a great view of the icy mountain range. But as luck would have it, there was no power when we reached the hotel late afternoon. The temperature gauge read 3 deg. C. We moved into the restaurant and asked for some coal-warmers to keep us warm. With no electric supply there was no question of any room heaters of use. We found the rooms much colder and dark then the restaurant.
Late evening the rains came and soon this turned into a hail and then a full blown snow fall. The room temperature guage showed nearly 0 deg. C. We were shivering inspite of three pieces of cardigan on us and wearing our gloves . We kept asking the care-taker Manager Mr Shiv kumar about power supply, and he in turn was calling up the local electric supply station for an update on power restoration. Finally around 7.30 pm we got the lights and room heaters to function. What a relief !
The restaurant has a captivating view of the Himalayan range. But all the peaks were cloud covered the first afternoon.
Being the only tourist, the entire hotel staff including the manager were attentive to our needs. In fact the Chef came out to ask us for our choice of dinner. Here the Srikhand special – a sweet hot dish made of milk is highly recommended.
The next morning at day-break the view of the Peaks was simply awesome , majestic and mesmerizing. We had a clear view of the entire Mahadev range – and all our travails to reach Sarahan and of the earlier evening was worth every discomfort.

The Bhimakali temple is just a few feet from the hotel. Parts of the temple date back to the 8th century. The temple is one of the Shaktipeeths . Its Kali deity is also the revered Goddess of the erstwhile rulers Virbhadra Singh and his ancestors. The architecture of the temple is unique – a mix of Hindu and Buddhist . The temple precincts are well maintained but the climb to view the deity is rather steep . My wife almost suffered a frost-bite walking up bare foot.
Sarahan is a must both as a stop-over for those proceeding to Kinnaur or even as a destination.
Unfortunately, the weather was such that we could not venture out to see the town or the bird sanctuary breeding pheasants and the state bird Monal.
Off-season we got a good discount for the rooms. A special mention should be made of Mr Shiv Kumar who was incharge of the hotel. He went out of the way to make us comfortable . For those planning a visit to Hotel Srikhand , his mobile no. is 08894335975. The hotel Telephone no. is 01782- 27423 ; Hotel Srikhand is by far the best option in Sarahan.

Room Tip: The super delux and cozy delux rooms are the best with balconies attached. Rooms are large but the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurenKaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    80
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
36
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Do not expect a Taj in the mountains.

Location - In front of the Bhim kali temple. The balconies face the mountain range. So you have best of both that can be offered

Food - Food was good. At 9000 feet it was unexpected

Rooms are huge, fully carpeted with good heaters. Bathrooms were big and clean with clean linen.

The balconies could have a bit more security as a fall would mean a straight 200 feet fall down the mountain.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group choose semi-deluxe rooms. They are much bigger. Be careful about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmbarC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shimla, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is a part of HPTDC which are having hotels in almost every part of Himachal Pradesh. The hotel is hardly 3-4 min waling distance from the major attraction, Bhimakali temple. Food is great and served hygienically. Its served hot and fresh. The rooms with balcony have a great view of Shrikhand Mahadev peak. I'll prefer staying with them anytime visiting Sarahan.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room with view of Shrikhand Mahadev peak
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saurabhbassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed here a couple of days ago with my family.
We had booked two rooms in this hotel. #204 & #205 I believe.
I would say that for Sarahan, this is the best hotel you can possibly stay in.
But it will do justice with a little bit of improvement here and there.
The rooms are simple, plain and nice, nothing fancy at all. Don't keep your expectations too high.
The view is breath taking.
Definitely halt one night in Sarahan when you visit. We were fortunate to see snow while we were there.
The services in this hotel is quite average. The staff need s a little bit of professionalism and training and things will be better.

All in all a Good Hotel. Best in Sarahan.

Room Tip: The only difference in the rooms is the floor they are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We toured Sarahan in April, this year. We hired a car from Shimla for our entire tour to Kinnaur. The car was “Swift’ and it was brand new. After taking breakfast with Aloo-paratha, at about 10 o’clock, we started from Shimla for Sarahan. Rajesh was our driver. The distance was 175 Kms(approx). We wished to reach before evening, so that we can see Sarahan in the afternoon.
On the way, we crossed Fagu, Theog, Kumarsen, Kingal, Rampur. River Sutlej(Shatadru) became companion from Kingal up to Jeori, via Rampur. Road was good except a few portions. When we reached Sarahan, weather was heavy though there was bright daylight.
We had booking in Hotel ‘The Shrikhand’ of HPTDC (Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation), named after the local main peak of The Himalayas. The hotel is facing Shrikhand peak. The Himalayas are gorgeous here. Some of the snow-clad peaks were glimmering in the afternoon sunshine. Really marvelous!
But rain came at about 17.00 hours. Restaurant was big and overlooking Himalayan range. We took coffee and enjoyed scenic beauty through the window. At night, we took dinner at the restaurant. As it was not peak season, there were fewer tourists. But we could not forget the behavior of one staff(I am really sorry, I forgot his name). This gentleman treated us like his own guests and served us with such care, that we could not forget him in near future.
In Sarahan, there was a bird Sanctuary nearby for breeding of pheasants including state bird Munal.
Beds and linens were upto the mark. Bathroom was clean and modern.
In the early morning, I got up from the bed and walked away from the hotel to stroll here and there. We took breakfast. At about 9 O’clock, we left for Sangla after seeing Bhimkali Temple. Bhimkali Temple is one of the 51 sacred Saktipeeths. Beautiful architecture and carvings made the temple more attractive.
At about 9 o’clock, we took our breakfast and started for Sangla. Bye Bye Sarahan.
We had no idea about Sarahan, but we found it extremely splendid, particularly in the backdrop of the majestic Himalayas. We hope you will come and enjoy (if already, you came here, you will be unison with me).

Room Tip: Though a bit costly, the upper floor rooms have a better view of the Himalayas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anjanghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is brilliantly located at 5 mins walking distance from the main Bhimkali Temple. You can see the hotel from the road from a distance of 30mins (5kms), a must take picture. The hotel restaurant offers superb north indian food, do not try other cuisines like chinese, it will be horrible. They have a nice sit out area near a well-stocked bar. Food cost is reasonable, as per HPTDC. The architecture of hotel is stunning, similar to the temple, where you get a feeling of reverse pyramid, where top floors seem hanging in air. Most rooms offer stunning view of mountains from the balcony, of course higher the floor, the better it is. Note: like many other HP hotels, the highest floor is the ground floor, other floors are constructed below the ground floor :)

Room Tip: There are some other cheaper options to stay near the temple. This hotel is excellent no doubt, BUT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhushan_Sheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haridwar, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

this is my favourite HPTDC hotel....although i haven't visited all.
the rooms were nice , cozy and comfortable....
Although room service is bit slow.
but the hotel is very pretty.....
They have a restuarant which is surrounded by glass windows and has a breathtaking view....
All HP lover please do visit this place..... this is a small , serene and lovely town...
and the srikhand is the right place to make your trip better......
We went there in the month of april and were told september, oct is the right time as apple trees bloom during that time.
plan your trip accordingly.....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rb_haridwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarahan
23.4 mi away
Tirthan Holidays Camp & Cottages
23.8 mi away
Dwarika Residency Shelapani
22.9 mi away
Tirthan View Homestay
Tirthan View Homestay
#24 of 49 in Kullu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Srikhand (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Srikhand (HPTDC)

Property: The Srikhand (HPTDC)
Address: Distt Shimla, Sarahan 172102, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Sarahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himachal Tourism's Hotel Shrikhand is named after the majestic mountain that faces the hotel and 5,536m high Shrikhand peak. The building's architecture has drawn inspiration from the fascinating forms of the famous Bhimakali Temple. The rooms of the Shrikhand hotel over looks the majestic view of the Shrikhand peak and apple orchards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing